We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely base, nicely run”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Charlotte Street Hotel
Ranked #42 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2010

We were in London for 1 week combining 2 days of work with 5 days of pleasure. The Charlotte street hotel was a very good location for that. The staff at the reception were caring and looked after us well. They gave us some good advice on touring London well. The rooms were a little small but bigger than many hotels in London. Would I return, I think yes.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank francine-abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (713)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

599 - 605 of 713 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2010

Lovely Hotel, excellent breakfast, great beds, great big - huge even - bathroom. If you want to splash some cash.. then this is the hotel. Not fussy but certainly elegant. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for families with young kids... this is they type of hotel where you want to get away from young kids...
Rather expensive though - around £ 300 per night... but oh so worth it !

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kivapierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

I love boutique hotels and this one does not disappoint. The rooms are charming, with lovely decor and a decent size. The bathrooms are big. The lobby, downstairs restaurant and bar/library are all wonderful. The location is fantastic just steps away from the subway and great restaurants and pubs. We could easily walk to the theater and Regents Park. I love to walk and we easily walked to Buckingham Palace, the giant Ferris Wheel, and even Chelsea.

Our room did not get very cold even though we had the air conditioning on high. I think that is just as good as it gets. But the room was never uncomfortable. The staff was very helpful - we scored great seats to a show that we were told was sold out. I will stay here again. The gym was quite nice too.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReggieF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2009

Definitely the nicest boutique hotel in London in one of the nicest neighborhoods. A 3 minute walk to the clubs of Soho and with Regents Park just to the North you can play Jane Austin al the time!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AvenueJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

I've stayed here twice on my own, on both occasions it has been totally superb. The first time I stayed I received a warm welcome to the hotel, my room had been upgraded and I was allowed into it slightly early allowing me time to get to a meeting.

I had dinner in the restaurant with a friend, the waiter knew it was the first time I had stayed and offered us a complimentary glass of champagne. Having stayed in alot of varied hotels in London, that kind of attention to detail is rare, well actually I've never had it anywhere else... The food was good, wine list varied. Don't think I can say enough good things about this place, I wanted to move in and now spend most months working out when I can get back down to my favourite hotel.

The area is great too, a quiet pocket but handily great for drinks in soho, shopping and pretty much everything you need in London. Loads of other restaurants nearby too if you don't want to go far.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edinburgh_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2009

I have to say I was completely blown away by this place - admittedly this may partly be due to the fact that I was whisked off here as a surprise for my 30th birthday - but nonetheless the level of service and personal attention was brilliant. We were given a guided tour of the lounge and library area downstairs (love the Honesty Bar!), and then showed to our room where we were brought glasses of complementary champagne. Nice touch. The chap showing us around was friendly, courteous and knowledgeable - pretty much faultless service.
At the risk of rambling on: beautiful room, well kitted out (good hairdryer, plenty of toiletries, robes, massive towels, tv+dvd player, umbrella in case you forgot yours!), delicious cooked breakfast brought to our room, very good air-con, fantastic shower (plus neat steam-proof mirror)...... and the room was so QUIET, which was amazing as Charlotte Street is hardly a sleepy part of town. For those of you not familiar with London, the location of this hotel could hardly be better: it's walking distance from Oxford Street shops, and there are loads of bars and restaurants right outside the hotel; plus there is a tube station just around the corner.
I can't comment on price/value as obviously this stay was a surprise for me - but if you're after something a bit special, then this is your spot.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GT_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2009

We have stayed in this hotel on 3 occasions. On the 2nd visit there were building works in the lobby, which we were upset about as the stay was to celebrate a special occasion. We explained our situation and were immediately offered an upgraded room in the Soho hotel, another Firmdale gem. Ok, ideally we should have been told about the building when we booked, but as the problem was dealt with so well and quickly we were still impressed. And in addition to the upgrade, we were then offered a complimentary night back at the Charlotte street to be taken any time in the future - brilliant customer service. All the staff we met on each occasion were excellent, nothing too much trouble. On our last visit we were celebrating our 10th anniversary and were given champagne, a beautiful scented candle and even some bath and massage oil.
Breakfast is pricey, but you don't have to take this option and there are a dozen decent coffee bars around where you can have something more reasonable.
The decor is great, rooms small (unless you go for one of the luxury ones) but very nice and very well equipped and a brilliant location for Oxford St, Soho, Theatreland etc. It is an expensive hotel, but you are right in the heart of town and you get what you pay for. We love it and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nonameEgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#17 of 1,077 in London
1,505 reviews
Fitzrovia
Sanderson London Hotel
Sanderson London Hotel
#64 of 1,077 in London
1,897 reviews
Soho
Ham Yard Hotel
Ham Yard Hotel
#49 of 1,077 in London
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
The London EDITION
The London EDITION
#72 of 1,077 in London
1,272 reviews
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#16 of 1,077 in London
1,039 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,077 in London
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlotte Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte Street Hotel

Address: 15-17 Charlotte Street, London W1T 1RJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in London
#19 Romantic Hotel in London
#35 Family Hotel in London
#41 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £243 - £955 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Charlotte Street Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charlotte Street Hotel is situated in the media neighbourhood just north of Soho. It is a minute's walk from leafy Soho Square and the theatre district, within easy reach of the financial centre and is surrounded by some of London's best bars, restaurants and cafes. Designer Kit Kemp has used a 'Bloomsbury Group' theme throughout the hotel which features original art from the period and a mural in the brasserie reflecting scenes of 'contemporary London life'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Charlotte Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Street London
Hotel Charlotte Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing