We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel, not much to do.....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Plaza London Riverbank

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Park Plaza London Riverbank
Ranked #390 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Hotel, not much to do.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed here for one night on a business trip. Hotel was very nice and the reception staff were very polite and helpful. I stayed in room 821 which was quite close to the lift and there was some noise as the lift was used, but not enough to keep me awake.

Breakfast was good with plenty of choice and although busy I did not have to wait for a table.

Hotel is walkable from Westminster where I was working. Very little by way of places to eat or get a drink near the hotel and I ended up walking back to Westminster Bridge to find somewhere suitable.

Room was very comfortable and well equipped. Overall very nice

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank craig131961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaciejHille, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Craig,

Thank you for recommending us on TripAdvisor, this is much appreciated.

We should hope to see you again some time soon.

Yours sincerely,

Maciej Hille
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,797
    1,660
    714
    331
    188
See reviews for
702
1,816
226
1,207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (833)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Stayed here on business for one night as all the other preferred hotels were very expensive. The location isn't too bad between Vauxhall and Lambeth bridges, although there isn't a massive amount going on around the area.

Staff seem polite enough. I was put in a room right next to the lifts which is really annoying. They must know that the noise of the lift in rooms like this is really unacceptable. Avoid these rooms. The room itself was OK but it looked out onto an atrium, so no natural light.

The food in the bar was OK but expensive. Watch it they add on a 12% service charge. Breakfast on the inclusive deal is in a room in the basement so you are quite squashed in.

Overall the hotel is OK but expensive for what you get.

Room Tip: I would try at least to get some natural light and avoid the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulJamesSanchez, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
I was sorry to hear that the room you had was not to your liking, nor the breakfast room.
Our rooms have many a position, yours being the Atrium view which faces inward giving the quietest possible location though you were put nearer to the guest lift. Should our guests not like the position of their particular room we are always on hand to accomodate a different view depending on availability.
I do so hope you will return to Park Plaza Riverbank and I would very much like to hear from you so I may personally oversee your room allocation.
Sincerely and in your service,
Paul James Sanchez.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

My boyfriend took me to London for the weekend for my birthday and we stayed here. He'd mentioned to the hotel when booking that it was my birthday and asked if we could have a room with a nice view. To our surprise we walked in to not only an amazing room with a cool, modern theme - but the most stunning view of the Thames and Houses of Parliament. Not only that, they'd left us a bottle of wine and a birthday card. All staff were extremely polite, smiley and helpful. The room was immaculate, and the bed was very comfortable. Bathroom also lovely. Would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mfbayley91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulJamesSanchez, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for leaving such wonderful comments and I am overjoyed that you had enjoyed your stay.
It is truly heart warming when I hear that we make our guests special occasions ones to rememeber as those memories stay with you and that we at Park Plaza are part of them.
I hope you return soon!
Sinvcerely and in your service,
Paul James Sanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

This hotel was ok - i have stayed in better. The room was quite noisy as near the lifts which seemed to run all night !! Also i had requested a river view which i didn't get and wasn't told that it was extra for this.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jackie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulJamesSanchez, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I was saddened to read that the room you had was not to your liking.
At Park Plaza Riverbank we have different catagories of rooms within the hotel with different views ranging from Thames, Parliment and City views.
Depending on the catagory of room booked can also determine which views are recieved.
I do hope you return to us soon and if so I would be pleased to hear from you so I may oversee your booking and give you the view you would like pertaining to your room catagory booked.
Sibcerely,
Paul James Sanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Although the hotel facilities and rooms were good we felt the service was poor.
We had an early dinner in the restuarant before the show we had booked and specifically asked if we had time for a starter and desert pointing out we had a show booked. We were told there was time but then waited nearly 20 minutes for our starter (we were the first in the restuarant and during our meal there was only one other table occupied). After completing our starter we were told there would be a delay on our main meals as the chef had made a mistake with one of the meals. I asked the waiter to arrange for a taxi for 7:10pm. We finished our meal at 7:08 - but no taxi. We had to find our own and were 20 minutes late for the show.
Fortunately we had booked a box therefore were able to see the rest .
At breakfast we were not told that there were items for an additional cost which could be ordered.
We only noticed whilst we were finishing our coffee and both of us would have chosen to order one
of the choices available for an extra cost.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room change if you are in "the back" of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank galactus2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulJamesSanchez, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for bringing these issues to my attention and I would like to apologise also for the comments that I have read, I can assure you that this is not how we operate at Park Plaza and I have emailed you directly to resolve your experience here with us.
Sincerely,
Paul James Sanchez.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Room service - Daniel - very polite and food very good.
Bar is expensive. Restaurant needs to offer more traditional food. Would happily stay again. Room nice and quiet. Easy reach of all London has to offer.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaccaTheKnife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulJamesSanchez, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your lovely mention of Daniel, all of us at Park Plaza are always happy when we give our guests great service and also when a guest mentions us by name.
We are in a great location near many transport points and right next to The Thames.
Thank you again and I look forward to your return to Park Plaza Riverbank.
Sincerely and in your service,
Paul James Sanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

This is our second stay and it did not disappoint. Apart from the overall look of the hotel the one thing that stands out is the staff. From first entering the hotel via the doormen to reception to the breakfast staff we experienced constantly friendly and professional attention. We stayed in room 925 which was both spacious and had a very comfortable bed. A very good breakfast too !! Will definitely be back. A big thanks to all the staff.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ukguy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulJamesSanchez, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments you had left. It is truly gratifying to read such wonderful praise, we really do our best to give all our guests the Park Plaza Riverbank experience.
It is comments like yours that brighten our day and helps us to deliver that personal touch to our guests and not the humdrum stale approach.
I look forward to welcoming you back to us soon.
Sincerely and in your service,
Paul James Sanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#62 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,531 reviews
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#385 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,846 reviews
Westminster
Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza London Riverbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza London Riverbank

Property: Park Plaza London Riverbank
Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7DP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#272 Business Hotel in London
#276 Luxury Hotel in London
#281 Romantic Hotel in London
#314 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza London Riverbank 4*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Millbank and the Houses of Parliament in the heart of the city, Park Plaza London Riverbank offers stunning four-star deluxe accommodation for corporate and leisure travellers. The hotel is within easy reach of both London Waterloo and Vauxhall railway stations as well as Westminster Underground. Following a spectacular renovation, Park Plaza London Riverbank now offers 489 sumptuous guest rooms, including Superior Rooms, Executive Rooms and Suites, some with stunning river views. The modern fitness suite is open 24 hours a day and features a range of cardio and weight equipment. Located on the first floor, Chino Latino(R) Restaurant & Bar, the Lounge and a fresh new Sushi Bar offer tantalising cuisine with beautiful 180-degree panoramic views of the River Thames and the Houses of Parliament. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Park Plaza London Riverbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Riverbank London Hotel London
Park Plaza London
London Park Plaza
Riverbank Park Plaza London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing