We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Plaza London Riverbank
Ranked #386 of 1,073 Hotels in London
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Staid here for almost a week on our shopping trip to London. Had a quiet atrium view room, which is not huge but let us have a very good sleep. The breakfast in the Chino Latino was lovely with plenty choices is the buffet and the full English breakfast which my husband had was very nice as well.
The evening canapés refreshments and vegetables with humus in the executive lounge was a nice thing as well.
My only one negative this week was with housekeeping.. They were nice and polite but the cleanliness is not at all what you would expect. The carpet wasn't hoovered, the bath had soap marks from previous guest and the shower..well that was the worst.. It was stinky and the glass wall totally covered with limescale, the shower head wasnt even wiped and it was pinkish-orangeish coloured.. Well I didn't make an issue and just washed the whole with soap before we used it, but didn't use the separate shower just the bath. One day I thought will ask for cleaning not just fresh towels, but when at the evening we came back I was a bit disappointed because everything was just wiped dry and not cleaned, not even dusted in the room... We loved the time we spent here, but housekeeping really let it down...
Reception staff lovely, bar and restaurant staff very friendly. Would and will definitely come back when in London again.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank felicity343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebi P, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for posting your recent stay review.

Thank you for your friendly mentions of our staff and restaurant, I am disappointed to read that our Housekeeping team didn’t service your room according the hotel standards. I have addressed this with our Executive Housekeeper to ensure this never happens again.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,
Ebi Patani
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,357)
There are newer reviews for Park Plaza London Riverbank
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,323 - 3,329 of 5,357 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed one night in January on business in superior room. The hotel is a little out of the way, 10 mins walk from Vauxhall underground. This feels like a four star hotel and has contemporary look and feel. Reception was quick, service was very good. The views from the rooms on the front are undoubtedly very good being not far from Westminster but the other sides of the building face car parks, building sites and railway lines so don't bank on a view. There is a very busy overground railway into Vauxhall at the back of the hotel, don't expect it to be quiet but I slept ok. Rooms are well equipped, comfortable, clean, tidy and very spacious compared to others in London.

I've already booked again for next week.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank DMELHUISH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulJamesSanchez, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you so much for your wonderful and succint review.
We always try our best to accomodate our guests, and if they feel that they do not like their room or view we are on hand to assist and to try to rectify.
I look forward to your return.
Sincerely and in your service,
Paul James Sanchez.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights as a city treat for my Husband's birthday and it was brilliant!
All the Staff are highly trained; really pleasant and helpful without being obtrusive and nothing was too much trouble for them.
Room was marvelous with large picture window overlooking the Thames and Houses of Parliament. The whole place sparkled, no dust or dirty corners. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom spacious and the toiletries of great quality.
The location is just by Lambeth Bridge and we enjoyed leisurely walks along the south bank to Waterloo, crossing over and walking back along past Houses of Parliament etc. However, there are regular buses just over the road with links all over the city and Underground is about 10 mins walk away.
I will definitely return there and have no compunction in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulJamesSanchez, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Reviewer,
What fantastic praise, thank you!
I am so happy that we all made you stay the perfect one, it is wonderful to hear these comments as all the staff here work really hard to have our guests enjoy their stay.
I really look forward to your return.
Sincerely and in your service,
Paul James Sanchez.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We arrived really early and our rooms were ready so we checked in. Room was very nice, good view, nice bathroom. Everything we needed. Had a few drinks in the bar area which is really relaxed. Our train home was late so they looked after our bags for us. Staff all really helpful. Would stay here again without hesitation. Loved it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elbee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulJamesSanchez, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Wow what a fantastic time you must of had!
Thank you for the lovely praise.
I hope to see you return back to us soon.
All the best,
Paul James Sanchez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Not arriving until July 2014 but have spent the day arranging the perfect trip to celebrate my daughters 18th. My experience of the customer care from Ben in guest relations exceeds all expectations and has us looking forward to a perfect break/celebration in July.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaciejHille, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you JoNichs,

We shall look forward to your arrival in July!

Yours sincerely,

Maciej Hille
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

To be fair, I would rate the Hotel as excellent if it were not for the parking issue. The Hotel is stylish and exceptionally clean. It is surprisingly close to the Houses of Parliament and therefore very convenient for getting over to the centre of everything. I loved the ambience in the Chino Latino Bar and enjoyed the sashimi, although not cheap. For the time we stayed, breakfast was taken in the normal conferencing area, which has a fantastic picture window out over the Thames. My companions loved that, and the half price offer for breakfast if you booked in advance. The breakfast selection for the price was excellent.
Our rooms were very stylish and my companions' disabled room was very well appointed for their needs. It is a big hotel though and there were parties of foreign teenagers there at the same time as us and Im sure they were deliberately pressing all the buttons in the lift once they got out!!!
The parking!! Although "David", representative of the valet parking was very pleasant, he failed to tell us that it was the very first day for this service and that, as a dry run, his boss was using only David to operate the service. He only told us this the following morning after we had wanted our car for 10ish and he finally got it to us after 11am. He only arrived at his console at 10.30am and the Hotel reception had failed to pass on the call I made to them at 10am. We were charged 35 pounds for the service and I was very disappointed that no discount was offered because of the mess up. He had even asked us the evening before what time we were likely to need the car - 10ish - so he started work at 10.30am?!!!
The options for parking in the area are very limited. Pimlico has a car park across the river but it is a 30 minute walk and very expensive. I used the car park next to the Pestana Hotel, south side of Chelsea Bridge, which is cheaper but still a 30 minute walk. And for this reason, I would opt to stay at the Pestana in future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaciejHille, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Gail,

Thank you for taking the time to review Park Plaza Riverbank.

I was glad to read that overall you rated the hotel as excellent. Please rest assured that all your comments have been taken on board - the valet parking service is now fully operative and has proved to be a very popular addition to our offering!

Again, thank you for your extended feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Maciej Hille
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Everybody who has ever been to London knows how tough it can be to find an affordable, comfortable, central accomodation for a stay there.
We planned this trip quite spontaneously in the fall of 2013 and were pleased to find this hotel.
It is situated along the River Thames and it is just a short walk to some of London's main attractions, e.g. the London Eye, London Dungeon, the Houses of Parliament.
If you walk in the opposite direction from the hotel you reach the Metro station "Vauxhall" in 5-10 minutes. A bus stop is right in front of the hotel too.

All the staff that we met while we stayed there were very nice and always helpful. The room was quite modern, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was not too big but modern and comfortable as well. Next to the hotel is construction going on (I believe to both sides) but that didn't bother us as we were not in the hotel room during daytime anyways.

We can't say anything about food or drinks because we preferred having breakfast in either the pret-a-manger near Vauxhall station or a a little cafe around the corner.

All in all we can recommend staying at the Park Plaza Riverbank in London.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeco2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulJamesSanchez, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you ever so much for your great review and recommendation.
I am happy that you recieved the true Park Plaza Riverbank experience.
It is always nice to hear these comments as we all work hard to make sure all of our guests have a great time and more!
I hope to see you in the near future.
Sincerely and in your service,
Paul James Sanchez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Plaza on the River
#244 of 1,073 in London
1,526 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Plaza London Waterloo
#163 of 1,073 in London
1,055 reviews
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Novotel London Waterloo
#314 of 1,073 in London
2,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza London Riverbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza London Riverbank

Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7DP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#272 Business Hotel in London
#273 Luxury Hotel in London
#281 Romantic Hotel in London
#314 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £120 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza London Riverbank 4*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Millbank and the Houses of Parliament in the heart of the city, Park Plaza London Riverbank offers stunning four-star deluxe accommodation for corporate and leisure travellers. The hotel is within easy reach of both London Waterloo and Vauxhall railway stations as well as Westminster Underground. Following a spectacular renovation, Park Plaza London Riverbank now offers 489 sumptuous guest rooms, including Superior Rooms, Executive Rooms and Suites, some with stunning river views. The modern fitness suite is open 24 hours a day and features a range of cardio and weight equipment. Located on the first floor, Chino Latino(R) Restaurant & Bar, the Lounge and a fresh new Sushi Bar offer tantalising cuisine with beautiful 180-degree panoramic views of the River Thames and the Houses of Parliament. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Plaza London Riverbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Riverbank London Hotel London
Park Plaza London
London Park Plaza
Riverbank Park Plaza London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing