We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty much spot on”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Plaza London Riverbank
Ranked #386 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 24 March 2014

arrived early afternoon on the saturday and checked in with no fuss. chap checking me in was more than happy to change my room assignment to something quiet and indeed, the room I got (808) was very peaceful. the ordered room service came quickly and was piping hot, the lass delivering it extremely friendly.

Valet parking worked well enough although was a little pricey.

service all through was spot on: check in, concierge, valet parking all extremely friendly and polite. excellent stuff.

very minor issue are that the location means the buses aren't particularly simple to get to the middle of town and the nearest tube is about 10 minutes walk. oh - and my room didn't appear to have any curtains just a net-curtain! can't quite work out whether i'd been a total donut and missed 'em or that there really weren't any... it didn't make any difference because i slept like the preverbial. a bit odd!

in summary: nice hotel, perfectly clean, everyone friendly, slightly awkward location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dibble-tc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulJamesSanchez, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you ever so much for leaving your feedback.
We are proud of the services we provide and am happy that you experienced them.
Our staff really do try their best to make all of our guests feel welcomed.
I hope to see you return soon to Park Plaza Riverbank.
Sincerely and in your service,
Paul James Sanchez.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,352)
There are newer reviews for Park Plaza London Riverbank
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,220 - 3,226 of 5,352 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

The room was large by EU standards and well equipped. The bathroom had a large tub and a separate shower. The lighting in the bathroom for makeup was a nine out of ten, with the only issue being a shadow where the makeup mirror was. The desk in the room had adequate plugs. The bed was comfortable. There is a minibar with sensors so if you move any of the items you are charged, but the refrigerator includes a small area for personal items which is a nice touch. The room had a nice view of the river and parliament buildings. During our weeklong stay the fire alarms went off three times, luckily the fire station is close. The breakfast which was included in our room rate has several hot items: bacon, sausage, fried toast, eggs, tomatoes. The cold items include: fruits, pastries, cereals, juices, and yogurt. There are several tube stations a 15-25 minute walks away. The Vauxhall station appeared to be the closest and is on the Victoria line. You pass MI6 while walking to it which is kind of cool. There is also a bus stop right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justme2Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaciejHille, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your input, this is much appreciated.

I was pleased to read how much you enjoyed your time at Riverbank. Indeed, we are very well connected - the Vauxhall station on Victoria line is within 5-10min walking distance!

Once again, thank you for your feedback, I hope you will chose to stay with us again.

Yours sincerely,

Maciej Hille
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I booked the Park Plaza Riverbank because I needed to be somewhere near Kennington/Waterloo for one night and was struggling to find a decent rate anywhere. There are a few decent hotels in this area, but they can be extremely expensive - the Park Plaza looked decent, was in the right place and was quite reasonable. I wasn't actually expecting much, but check-in was quick, efficient and friendly and when I got into my room I was pleasantly surprised - it was a little worn, but stylish and comfortable. Great bed, excellent bathroom and a cupcake/cheese straw complimentary in-room snack. Winner. I went out for dinner with some colleagues and fancied a drink in the bar when I got back - being where it is, I expected the worst for my hotel bill, but an Old Fashioned (and a well-made one at that) was only £9. Bargain.
So the long and the short is that I'd definitely stay here again - there was just something about it that felt kind of plush and comfortable, but not in a stuffy way. And, provided you want to be on the South Bank, the location is excellent. It takes a while to get bored of waking up a few steps from the River Thames and a view of Big Ben. Nice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plusfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaciejHille, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Guest,

I am glad that your stay turned out to be such a positive surprise - exactly what we expect all our visitors to experience!

Hopefully we are now your favourite hotel on the South Bank, we shall look forward to your future visits :)

Yours sincerely,

Maciej Hille
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This hotel surprised us pleasantly. Since we just spent one night in London, we were looking rather for a price than comfort, and found the Riverbank Park Plaza, which did not mean that we would have to compromise our habit of booking four stars. Being considerably cheaper than other hotels just a little closer to the theatre district, we did not mind the extra transport. Well, it turned out to actually be ideally situated in regards to our arrival from the airport, as the nearest tube-station (Vauxhall) is only obout a five minutes walk away from the hotel, and two stops from Victoria Station, where all airport transfers arrive.
We walked to Oxford Street, as the weather was nice, and it turned out to be a nice route.
The design of the hotel is modern, with large public areas, a nice and well-visited bar, a restaurant and there were conference facilities, too.
Our room was clean, spacious, well-equipped with good beds and all the amenities you would expect from a four-star hotel. The bath room was spacious and offered both tub and shower (usually a reason for discussion, as we do have different preferences, of which only one would be catered). Some of the rooms offer views of the Houses of Parliament, and we were lucky to get one of them. The rooms are air-conditioned, and we have had some trouble with that at other hotels, but in this case, the system would not give any (asthma problems, allergies). Being light sleepers, we are always concerned if the rooms are quiet enough, but the sound insulation did not let any of the city noises bother us and the lifts are located in a niche, so no noise problems there, either. There were British and continental power outlets, which meant no quarrels about, who needed the adapter first and most - very nice! And free WiFi means a lot, when you need to check your e-mails, want to post some pictures or check the weather forecast.
The staff are wonderful - they are attentive, without making one feel observed, nothing was too much to be asked for, and all requests and questions were answered in a very kind and courteous manner. Everybody was so helpful and nice to talk to - we rarely have experienced anything like it and did not expect that, as the hotels seems to be focusing more on business guests.
We will definitely book this hotel again, when returning to London (which we do frequently), and can definitely recommend it for business and leisure travel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hotellme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaciejHille, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed review - I'm sure many travellers will find it very useful when looking for accommodation in London!

I am mostly grateful for your comments towards our staff, I will make sure that those are passed on to the entire team here at Riverbank.

Please let me know when you are next around and I will say hello in person.

Yours sincerely,

Maciej Hille
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We spent two nights in this hotel and chose it because its location near Big Ben and London Eye.
Staff was ok, no complains. Room looked good at first sight but after spending two nights we noticed some moisture damaged here and there. WIFI included in price but didn't work very nicely. We had three different devices but we could get them work with it only few times.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AtePate_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaciejHille, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Riverbank online.

I am glad that you had a good stay with us. Please note that there are faster Internet options available, please see any member of staff to obtain more information on your future visits.

We shall look forward to your return.

Yours sincerely,

Maciej Hille
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as a treat for my birthday organised by the wife. Can't fault it, from the second we walked in we felt welcome and looked after. Breakfast was AMAZING, everything you could possibly want. Room was fab, but would recommend a river view, it's a stunning view to wake up to.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebi P, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Barry,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am glad to have read that you a fabulous time at our hotel and you had an amazing birthday.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Ebi Patani
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Booked for my birthday, to catch a show at the West End and shopping trip, the hotel itself was lovely, the room had an amazing view over the Thames (837) the bed was comfortable, the bathroom had everything that we needed.

The only let down was the fire alarm at 1:30am Saturday night. After scrambling to get dressed and out of the room - without really knowing where to go the alarm stopped - I'm sure that instructions are on the back of each door but you don't think straight at that time of the night, still confused I was awake most of the night, I've never come across an unplanned fire alarm at a hotel before. They left letters of apology outside most rooms - we didn't receive this, the sleepless night really did ruin our last day after planning an early trip around London before returning home, which didn't happen due to catching up on missed sleep!

At check out we were promised an upgrade upon our next stay which we will be looking forward to, as the hotel was wonderful, it was just the (hopefully one off) fire alarm that tarnished our experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaciejHille, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Sandelion,

Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor.

The safety and security of our guests is of paramount importance to us, please rest assured that our fire detection and evacuation system is up to date and coherent with the UK health & safety regulations.

I hope we will get the chance to welcome you back very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Maciej Hille
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Plaza on the River
#246 of 1,072 in London
1,526 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Plaza London Waterloo
#164 of 1,072 in London
1,051 reviews
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Novotel London Waterloo
#314 of 1,072 in London
2,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza London Riverbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza London Riverbank

Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7DP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#272 Business Hotel in London
#273 Luxury Hotel in London
#281 Romantic Hotel in London
#314 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £119 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza London Riverbank 4*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Millbank and the Houses of Parliament in the heart of the city, Park Plaza London Riverbank offers stunning four-star deluxe accommodation for corporate and leisure travellers. The hotel is within easy reach of both London Waterloo and Vauxhall railway stations as well as Westminster Underground. Following a spectacular renovation, Park Plaza London Riverbank now offers 489 sumptuous guest rooms, including Superior Rooms, Executive Rooms and Suites, some with stunning river views. The modern fitness suite is open 24 hours a day and features a range of cardio and weight equipment. Located on the first floor, Chino Latino(R) Restaurant & Bar, the Lounge and a fresh new Sushi Bar offer tantalising cuisine with beautiful 180-degree panoramic views of the River Thames and the Houses of Parliament. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Park Plaza London Riverbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Riverbank London Hotel London
Park Plaza London
London Park Plaza
Riverbank Park Plaza London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing