We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Plaza London Riverbank
Ranked #393 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel is in a fabulous location for exploring London with views of the houses of parliament and Big Ben from the front of the hotel. The decor is a little shabby and has seen better days with stains on the carpet and holes in the soft furnishings. I stayed in a river view room which was spacious and comfortable but it unfortunately also had a view of the building site next door which meant construction noise during the day. The food and the service was excellent and the bar was cosy and atmospheric. The high price is probably a reflection of the excellent location.

Room Tip: I think it is definitely worth splurging on a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KarinP63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaciejHille, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Karin,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, this is much appreciated.

Indeed, we are centrally located on the London's Southbank, with very convenient links to all major attractions, as well as the business areas.

I hope you will choose to stay with us next time you are in the vicinity.

Yours sincerely,

Maciej Hille
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,242 - 3,248 of 5,584 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

In the last couple months I have stayed three times in Park Plaza Riverbank - all weekend stays, 2-3 days long.

Staff is always polite, helpful and very friendly (especially Mohamed and Florian) - I am a Gold member in Club Carlson and every time I was upgraded to a wonderful Suite ... so I basically feel like at home. I can't ask for more!

Suites are very spacious, well designed with a unique lighting arrangements. Free WiFi is available.

Worth to mention great location, right in the centre, 5 min walk to Vauxhall tube station.

Looking forward to my next stay in PP Riverbank - this Friday!

Happy days!

Artur

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Artur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaciejHille, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Artur,

Fantastic review - thank you so much, on behalf of the entire team here at Riverbank!

It's amazing to get such wonderful comments from a regular guest, and it is a great pleasure for us to be your London home.

Thank you for your continous business, and I wish you another great weekend with us.

Yours sincerely,

Maciej Hille
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Second time staying at this hotel. Sadly not as great an experience this time round.

One would think that the hotel is used to dealing with large group check-in, particularly since we were travelling here with a reknowned coach tour company. However we found limited front desk staff to assist with the process and even they seemed stressed by the experience of having to get 50 odd guests into rooms. In particular the alleged guest relations manager was rude, condascending and unhelpful. This is a real shame as it put a huge demper on an otherwise enjoyable stay in London.

Breakfast at this hotel was delightful and good variety avaiable. The rooms were clean albeit unfortunate that the pillow selection was limited.

The hotel restaurant wasn't too my taste and is also unfortunate that they had such a limited menu as there aren't a great amount of restaurants in the vicinity. The London eye is about a 15-20 minute walk away with good amount of fare there.

The bar serving staff were slow and seemed quite disinterested. Again a pity since the hotel is more of an American style experience with good sized rooms and facilities.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank mvdw84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaciejHille, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

I am glad that you had a good stay at Riverbank, please rest assured that we have taken all your feedback on board.

We shall look forward to your future visits.

Yours sincerely,

Maciej Hille
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Paul at the front desk needs lessons in etiquette. His officious nature and sarcastic tone put a damper on our travels. Avoid him if you can.

In other cases, the staff was friendly and helpful. We had noisy plumbing in the room, which was handled quickly.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Randolph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaciejHille, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Randolph,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

I am glad that you had a good stay at Riverbank, please rest assured that we have taken all your feedback on board.

We shall look forward to your future visits.

Yours sincerely,

Maciej Hille
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Oh dear, where do I start.

We checked in for one night paying a £50 room upgrade to a suite in order to get a river view.

We were given a room on the third floor on the side of the building we could see the river if we looked past the building site outside the window- noisy all day. The sound of trains made it noisy all night. We were so dissapointed. We were not aware if the building site before booking which looks like it will be there for another few years. The room looked tired and shabby.

£250 for a room with a building site view, noise all day and all night, 2 fire alarms went off, and despite not wanting a wake up call the phone rang three times- if you think that's good value this is the hotel for you.
The lobby if the hotel is very smart and appears to be of the quality you would expect.

Manager was not available to speak to us on departure. I emailed my complaint and was offered a free upgrade next visit- we won't be returning!

The park plaza just down the road is MUCH better. I have stayed in many park plazas and this is by far the worst.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Oliviadaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaciejHille, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Olivia,

Thank you for taking the time to review us online.

I was disappointed to read your review, I am sorry if your experience with us on this occasion was not perfect. Please rest assured that we have taken all the points on board, and we will do our best to learn from your feedback.

I still hope that you will choose to stay with us upon your next visit to London - if not at Riverbank, then perhaps another of our Southbank properties.

Once again, thank you for your input.

Yours sincerely,

Maciej Hille
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We came to park plaza with no expectations. Our room was nice, however it was a little dark for our liking. Also the cleanliness of it was good but could have been better. No doubt It was a beautiful hotel. However, the one thing that would bring me back here is the customer service. The staff were the most helpful, friendliness staff in Britain. The one staff member Andrew who ran the breakfast is by far the most accommodating, helpful and friendliest staff member we came across out of all the places we went to in Britain. Every morning he greeted us with a smile and was always telling us about cool places to get to while we were here. If there is one reason we would come back to this hotel it would be for his service. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah7127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulJamesSanchez, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Fantastic praise!! Thank you.

I will surely pass on your comments to Andrew, it is comments like these that really reward all of our staff who work remendously hard to deliver to our guests a truly great stay.

Thank you again and I look forward to your return.

Sincerely and in your service,

Paul James Sanchez.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in June and overall it was a great stay. We were originally situated overlooking a loud train track- and asked to be moved and they were quick to accommodate. We ate at the restaurant once (Chino Latino) which wasn't the greatest (pricey and slow service) but overall the rooms were spacious, clean and great for a couple.

Its about a 10 min walk to Vauxhall station - but along the way there are a few restaurants (a really great Portuguese restaurant is about a 5 min walk) and a Pret a Manager right next to the tube but for food, your options are limited in the area. Best to grab meals closer to the station or more central locations across the Thames.

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank KQP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulJamesSanchez, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I was sorry to hear of your Chino Latino experience and can assure you that this was most definitely a one off and will surely pass along your comments to them.

I was most gratified to hear that we had accommodated you to a room more to your liking as we have many a view to offer our guests.

Please do drop me an email or call me at the hotel upon your next visit here with us and I will arrange a 25% discount on your Chino Latino Restaurant bill, so you may experience the true Park Plaza Riverbank experience.

Until then have a great Summer,

Paul James Sanchez.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Plaza on the River
#260 of 1,077 in London
1,590 reviews
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Plaza London Waterloo
#169 of 1,077 in London
1,355 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Novotel London Waterloo
#320 of 1,077 in London
3,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza London Riverbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza London Riverbank

Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7DP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#272 Business Hotel in London
#274 Luxury Hotel in London
#280 Romantic Hotel in London
#313 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £99 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza London Riverbank 4*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Millbank and the Houses of Parliament in the heart of the city, Park Plaza London Riverbank offers stunning four-star deluxe accommodation for corporate and leisure travellers. The hotel is within easy reach of both London Waterloo and Vauxhall railway stations as well as Westminster Underground. Following a spectacular renovation, Park Plaza London Riverbank now offers 489 sumptuous guest rooms, including Superior Rooms, Executive Rooms and Suites, some with stunning river views. The modern fitness suite is open 24 hours a day and features a range of cardio and weight equipment. Located on the first floor, Chino Latino(R) Restaurant & Bar, the Lounge and a fresh new Sushi Bar offer tantalising cuisine with beautiful 180-degree panoramic views of the River Thames and the Houses of Parliament. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Plaza London Riverbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Riverbank London Hotel London
Park Plaza London
London Park Plaza
Riverbank Park Plaza London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing