We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Toy Boy!”

Pollock's Toy Museum & Shop
Book In Advance
More Info
US$78.06*
and up
London Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Entry to Over 60 Attractions
Somerville, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Toy Boy!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Do not miss this little weird London attraction!! Certainly off the beaten path (a pleasant walk from the Hilton Euston if you are staying there), housed in two very old London homes (1780s & 1880s). Toys and games from the 1800s. I have two sons (now in their 30s) who have collections and play hundreds of antique and new board games. Their love came from my sister, who was the "game evaluator" for any new games submitted to the company, and my mother who was the "answer lady" (rule judge) at Parker Brothers games in Salem, Massachusetts for many years! I didn't expect to see any Parker Brothers games here but to my surprise there were several obscure PB games I've never seen.
You climb steep narrow stairways, their walls covered in games and posters, then enter tiny, low ceiling rooms with glass cases filled with games, toys, and advertisements many over a hundred years old, right up to GI Joe! Another stairway brings you into more rooms filled with hand cut, 3D theater stages. Stunning things from Benjamin Pollock's career!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    34
    22
    15
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful shared experience for kids and adults”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

So sad to read some of the poor reviews written here. My family and I found Pollocks a wondrous and inspiring experience. So many things to see, each room full of atmosphere and surprise. We went during the half term and found the place quiet and peaceful, it was also much better value than many of the other London activitys on offer. My children are 8 and 6 and they were inspired by the variety of different toys and the sometimes basic materials that had been used to create them. History was around every corner with little notes on the stories behind the significant pieces. To summarize, if you and your children would like to visit a world before computer games, where toys could last a lifetime and were thought and imagination gave way to a world beyond the throw away material world surrounding us today then pop along to this little hidden gem of a museum and prepare to be mystified!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Nina_Stubbs-Mason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Like going back in time!”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This unusual museums is a breath of fresh air from all the hustle and bustle of central London. It feels like your traveling back in time as you creep around the original Georgian building filled to the brim with interesting and beautiful toys from around the world. I was interested to learn that the museum is still family run by the grandson(and his dog) of the original owner adding to the wimsical charm of this magical place. Its £6 for adults and well worth it ( one may find this expensive only because most museums in London are free) some people spend £6 on a coffee!
After visiting the museum you can get some thing to eat on Charlotte street (Very good cheep Pizza at ECCO or tasty thai food at Thai metro)

All in all a must for any one seeking out an alternative to the more main stream attractions in London.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“If you are over 45 and want to bring back a few memories..”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Quite an old fashioned museum and very quiet when I visited on a Wednesday afternoon. Lots of cabinets - much more of a looking museum rather than a touchy feelie one. Make sure you follow the hand-out guide and look out for paddle boards with extra detail.

I enjoyed it but wouldn't hurry back - and a bit expensive when you think so many competing museums are free in the area.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank KarenJSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really not worth 6 pound”
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Interesting but got round in less than an hour by far so probably not worth the £6 to get in. There were some pretty freaky dolls around the place too, not sure I'd bring kids here!

Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed Pollock's Toy Museum & Shop also viewed

 

Been to Pollock's Toy Museum & Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing