We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“David Arnold”

Royal Festival Hall
Book In Advance
More Info
US$35.80*
and up
London by Night Independent Sightseeing Tour with Private Driver
More Info
US$33.62*
and up
Classic London Bike Tour of Central London
More Info
US$72.43*
and up
Madame Tussauds and Thames River Sightseeing Cruise
Ranked #275 of 1,724 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We went to see David Arnold: Live in Concert and we both very much enjoyed it! The 77 piece orchestra were fantastic and the sounds they produced were fantastic. Especially loved the horn section and the snap pizzicato cellos and double basses! Fast paced, witty and even got to see Martin Freeman, Amanda Abbington and Mark Gatiss!

Thank TomS03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

350 - 354 of 549 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

We went on 06/07/14 to David Arnold's concert of his compositions for movies such as James Bond, New Start Trek, Independence Day, Sherlock TV series and many more.
The are no signs for drivers. Even the leaflet which was enclosed with our tickets did not give the address nor any post code.
When we got to the IMAX round about we expected a sign to the car park but even the satnav did not pick up the narrow exit off the the bridge. So we had to go to The Strand and turn around. Coming off the exit there was a minute sign with a narrow to the left for Hayward Gallery car park, but then there was nothing, we had to find the car park entrance through a delivery entrance, then again no signs for the Royal Festival Hall. There are several other venues there, but we managed to find the RFH however there are is no reception area. I found a Foyle table with Shelock's CD on display so I asked the lady, she said just go upstairs. I asked which floor? She said just one floor. So we did. But no it was a floor above as I had to stop a lady who had the RFH badge on. Howrah we thought, but no by now the concert had started and we were not allowed in from our entrance because it was right next to the stage even if we waited for a break !
So this lady sent us to the yet another floor up when we had to wait for a break to be let in but not in our own seat until the interval !
All the lifts are broken, there is literally no signs to help you with what so ever, so be prepared and go at least 1 hour earlier to find the bar to relax and find your seat on time.

Thank French L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Considering its age it still ranks among the top halls for classical music. While its acoustics are not up there with the latest marvels of technology ( Like Disney Hall in Los Angeles), its seating, comfort and sight lines are one of the best.

I first went here over 30 years ago when it really was pushing the envelope in hall design. It has aged well and still ensures an excellent experience while listening to some of the world's greatest music composers and performers. And the addition of the Jubilee bridge to get here from the other side of the Thames makes the evening truly spectacular. The views on the walk over and back are an incredible added pleasure ( see pictures).

Thank larryKitty8933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Though I have a certain affection for this venue having known it for many years it must be said that the acoustics here, although improved a few years back, still do not match those of the best halls, eg. Concertgebouw/Amsterdam, Bartok Hall/Budapest, Symphony Hall/Boston etc. In fact it's an irony that London that considers itself (rightly) as one of the music capitals of the world lacks a really great hall for orchestral performances. In spite of improvements to the local area there is still a certain tackiness around, I would always opt for the very good Cadogan Hall in Chelsea, although not large enough for really large works, it;s location and very good acoustics make it a much better choice. Last visited the RFH about 2 years ago.

1  Thank rc51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Whether you' reside in London Town, or here for a visit, London's Southbank Centre and the Royal Festival Hall, with all it's surrounding galleries is a must. There's always an array of events taking place, many of them free and just perfect for entertaining family and friends. From now until the end of August, there is the Festival of Love. Celebrating all the many aspects of this all consuming emotion you will find many free and fascinating events. It is brilliant. Sure the cafe may not be the best and drinks are overpriced, but if that's the only reason you're there, than you really do need to get out and about more. This is a fabulous resource for everyone, anytime of year. Enjoy.

1  Thank Boywithgreyeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Festival Hall also viewed

 

Been to Royal Festival Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing