We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always interesting and inspiring.. always worth popping in!”

Photographers' Gallery
Ranked #398 of 1,656 things to do in London
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always interesting and inspiring.. always worth popping in!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Awesome gallery right in the centre of town in a quiet street, consistently excellent photography shows with real variety and imagination… always worth popping in when in Central London. The gallery isn't huge which keeps it feeling quite intimate and personal, a nice way to look at the shows. Theres also an amazing bookshop and a great cafe (great brownies!), this is definitely one of the best places in London and I'm in there whenever I get a chance.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank wsj_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    65
    22
    9
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“A great find which I shall make a regular haunt”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I came across this gallery by chance and was encouraged to go because of my interest in the Russian Photographic exhibition. This exhibition is really worth seeing. It includes early hand painted photographs which are beautifully executed, creating wonderful creative pieces. Others are modern colour photos, some simple propaganda and others family, landscapes and buildings. Of particular interest for their alternative view of the Russian environment are the colourful umbrellas in the rain (1960s) and the shop window with bright red frivolous hats (1970s). I was fortunate in finding this exhibition and shall look out for future events.

There is a café in the gallery which serves attractive looking meals, cakes and drinks.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank cindylou45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Just off Oxford Street but a World Away”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This gallery is tucked away down a small street just off bustling Oxford Street so you would be unlikely to find it by chance which also means it is unlikely to be packed as is the case with so many attractions in London.

It is fairly small but offers free admission and frequently changing exhibitions so will vary from visit to visit. When we visitied the exhibition featured Deakin, not all of his work is really to my taste but that is subjective and it was certainly an enjoyable way to pass away an hour or so.

Downstairs there is a small cafe which is well worth a visit with friendly staff and efficient service but I can only comment on the coffee which was first class as we did not try any of the food although everything looked delicious. I would certainly make a detour from Oxford Street just to enjoy a coffee (at a sensible price) rather than visiting one of the chains on Oxford Street.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellet photo exhibitions, often free entrance, central London”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Just off Oxford Street, great exhibitions, often free and otherwise just a tiny entrance fee. Nice café and good shop as well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Iveldhuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hidden Jem!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I had not originally planned to visit the Photographers Gallery but saw an advert on the underground and decided to add it in to my itinerary. I was very glad that I did!

It is tucked away in a quiet street in Soho behind Oxford Circus and had two brilliant but diverse exhibitions on when I visited.

The top two floors were dedicated to new emerging photographic talent and the range of styles on show was vast and interesting.

Another floor was dedicated to John Deakin and was full of amazing vintage photographs from the 60's.

I really enjoyed seeing such a mix of work in one gallery and the shop was a nice change from the average attraction shop in london as it wasn't focused on selling the usual tat but on selling great books, prints and even equipment.

I didn't visit the cafe but given how busy it was with what appeared to be locals I would guess that it was have been good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ebbs H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Photographers' Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Photographers' Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing