We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For those who love concerts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of O2 Academy, Brixton

O2 Academy, Brixton
Ranked #58 of 1,271 Nightlife in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Live music venue.
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“For those who love concerts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

Listening to music is an important part of my life. But not comparable to listen at home, even with the best quality, the participation in the concert live. If you have this concert hall is right .... You feel like you are in heaven. That's how you feel in Brixton. Whether you see the speakers on stage. You get the impression that the sound did not come from them! The sound coming out of the walls, ceiling, floor, and surrounds you from all sides! You are in the middle of the music, right in the heart. Do not just listen. You feel the music throughout the body, fluid in your bloodstream. Brixton is great!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MARGOLCIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    68
    25
    14
    19
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Coming Of Age”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

The venue is no different to when I 1st entered in 1996, apart from the smoking ban which was enforced in 2007 & the sponsors over the years, the venues very good overall. Security are a bit on the dense side as there are always people who smoke inside but there are no patrols or anything to enforce the law apart from people like me. I've only sat upstairs once & that was in 1998. Great sound system & atmosphere.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank GeniesFuture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best venue I've been to yet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Brixton Academy, now the O2 Academy, Brixton, is the best venue I've been to yet!

The venue is an old theatre with all of it's original features, multiple bars, standing downstairs and seating upstairs (for gigs). It looks small from the outside but is HUGE inside! I saw Sigur Ros and it was the perfect size for the gig. It has a tiered floor so you can see what's going on even if you're at the back. The ceiling is incredibly high making you feel like you are outside.

It's close to the tube station (turn right, then left; opposite Nandos). If you're going to a gig here and aren't a local then I would recommend staying in a hotel in Vauxhall (two tube stops away). After the gig I didn't feel unsafe at all and it was really easy to get a tube back to the hotel.

If you want to see your favourite band and have a choice between Brixton and another venue, choose Brixton. I honestly thought it was great and the sound quality was fantastic.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Haz19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

View from the main standing area is not great, especially if you don't fancy getting in the melee. Queuing at the bar is pot luck but the sound is great.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank buffgirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“one of the best nights i have ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

the venue from the outside looks small but once inside its huge! there are lots of bars inside and plenty of toilets so didnt have to que for ages and miss anything. the venue is on a slope which is great as everyone can see the stage no matter how far back you are. the area didnt seem unsafe and we stayed up the road in brixton. i will be coming back again in less then two weeks for nye and i cant wait!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anza_989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O2 Academy, Brixton also viewed

 

Been to O2 Academy, Brixton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing