We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great venue, overpriced bar”

O2 Academy, Brixton
Ranked #68 of 1,277 Nightlife in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Live music venue.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
299 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great venue, overpriced bar”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

This is a great iconic venue. But it seems that the sound mixers only care about the main act, so if you're interested in listening to the support acts don't expect good sound quality. The biggest disappoint is the beer. £5 for a pint of watered down lager. Absolute rip off.

Helpful?
Thank PeteWils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    72
    27
    16
    21
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Top venue with Xpensive spirits....!!”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Hello to everyone and to everyone@Trip. Attended a concert at the academy yesterday. It is now called O2 Academy Brixton. Not Carling. The event was very very good. Super sound quality. The venue is a 10 minute walk from Brixton tube station. There will be a few rude security guys.....Oh never mind..!! You are there to enjoy. I was at the circle. No chance for a shortie like me , to be in the stalls , in a heavy metal concert. I would surely be squashed in the mosh pit. Now the drinks....are very very expensive. Both beer and spirits. And water. That price was probably the most expensive I have come across inside a venue. I have been Rock City Nottingham, Download, Camden academy, hammersmith etc. But never seen costs like this. Double shot of whisky is £8. Crazy. The cloak room charge was £2 as opposed to £1, the normal charge for other venues. And you cant stand when you are on circle upstairs, even though everyone else was standing. Remember the security guys. Some of them are psychotic. So I just kept moving and stood somewhere else, to shoot some photos. Pics attched.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Ravikumar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
112 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“They make you feel you are a thug”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The title summarizes the type of experience you have at this venue. At the Brixton Academy, where I went a few times to see some of my favorite artists, I had by far the worst experience at any music venue in London:
- It starts with a long queue on the pavement around the building, slowly moving, because...
- ... they are over-zealous security check at the entrance (which surpasses the stressful airport experience), and no, the staff is not friendly.
- The bad experience continues inside the building if you dare to stand/dance (on the balcony) and they threaten to kick you out of the building.
You really felt treated as a thug, even if you are a quiet, educated and well behaved person.
The bar is awful too, unfriendly, long queue.
Would I go back, even if my favorite artist is playing there? Certainly not.
Shame as the venue in itself is an architecture gem...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonVibrations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best venue in London, hands down!”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The best thing about the Brixton Academy, aside from the stellar line up they always get, is the sloping floor! No longer need you have your view blocked by the tallest bloke in the room standing directly in front of you...Even if they do, you can see over them! Amazing!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shon_D84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic atmosphere - lives up to the name”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Went to see Basement Jaxx at the old academy and it was simply amazing. Huge scale , amazing sound and atmosphere. Slightly dodgy neighbourhood but that was part of the character. Froze half to death trying to get on the last bus back to Clapham after the show but that's London in December for you.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank michellecass1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O2 Academy, Brixton also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to O2 Academy, Brixton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing