We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vanessa Redgrave Was Good In Much Ado About Nothing”
Review of The Old Vic

The Old Vic
Book In Advance
More Info
US$31.81*
and up
Love London Bike Tour
Ranked #154 of 1,651 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Victorian theater with a storied cast of famous performers including Laurence Olivier and Richard Burton.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Vanessa Redgrave Was Good In Much Ado About Nothing”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Back In October I saw Much Ado About Nothing. It was a very good play. Especially from Vanessa Redgrave and James Earl Jones. Vanessa is such a terrific actress. I had seen her and James Early Jones previously back a few years ago in Driving Miss Daisy which was also brilliant.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank frodoireland_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    125
    27
    16
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Other Desert cities – in the Round”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I had booked to see Other Desert Cities for my wife’s birthday, the matinée show which was half-full. This was the first time at the Old Vic and seeing a play in the Round was a wonderful experience as you feel part of the play and the actors have no-where to hide if they mess-up and have to be in character 100% of the time. The venue was wonderful and the Old Vic have done a great job. The play itself was a little slow going the 1st half, we thought it would be more political based upon the writers background, however it did pick-up in the 2nd half. We didn’t find the play outstanding, but very good in a wonderful little theatre and would definitely visit again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LondonTraveller999UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
455 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Other desert cities”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

First time at The Old Vic and it was excellent. The theatre is a really nice size so you are right on top of things and it's in the round which makes it really interesting. It's been refurbished very nicely. We went to the matinee which was about three quarters full which meant no queuing for drinks etc which was really good. We saw 'other desert cities' which is an excellent play with no fancy props just really good acting. 5* experience all round.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Epicureously
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London England
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“'Other Desert Cities' yet another phenomenal play at this great theatre”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

There are a small handful of London theatres that consistently deliver outstanding work - and the Old Vic is definitely one of them. The current 'Other Desert Cities' has a surprising twist at the end - such a great screenplay. Funny and pointed, and so well acted by its excellent cast.
This is theatre at its very best, visit as soon as you can.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“OTHER DESERT CITIES - currently showing at the Old Vic London”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I was very lucky to be given a ticket to this play by a friend, and I am soooo glad I went along. the newly refurbished Old Vic theatre is showing the play, "Other Desert Cities" until the 25th of May. The newly laid out theatre is "in the round" giving great access to the actors and stage from all sides. From the moment the actors all entered the stage area, you liked them all instantly, a family in Palm Springs celebrating Christmas. I wont summarise then plot, but instead use the link (http://www.oldvictheatre.com) to read about the storyline. What I will say is. if you can secure a ticket for this show, get one, by whatever means possible. This is easily the best thing I haver seen on the stage in London in the last 15 years.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JamesDarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Vic also viewed

 

Been to The Old Vic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing