We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In the round, loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Vic

The Old Vic
Book In Advance
More Info
US$31.23*
and up
Love London Bike Tour
Ranked #133 of 1,589 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Victorian theater with a storied cast of famous performers including Laurence Olivier and Richard Burton.
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“In the round, loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We saw "Other Desert Cities" without knowing a thing about it. A slightly slow starter but gripping after the interval.
Fascinating theatre and we loved the close proximity of the seats to the round.
Can't wait to go back for the bigger plays i.e. Clarence Darrow and The Crucible, if we can get tickets…..

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank KentishManofKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    121
    26
    15
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Desert Cities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Brilliant play, great acting and a witty script which captures the extremes of American politics brilliantly. Family secrets, tensions and half truths are explored with humour and bathos as the politics of difference and family values are exposed against a background of appearances versus reality.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Loved this little theatre!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This little theatre is nondescript on the outside and located in Southwark, near Waterloo station. Inside, it is charming! The play I saw while there was in the round and felt quite intimate with great viewing of the the actors and scenes. The chairs were a little snug for my tastes but tolerable, especially on the aisle. Kevin Spacey performs quite often here as do other well known actors and actresses which attests to the quality of the performances. Its definitely worth taking the time to see a play here! So glad I went here!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LOB16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“lovely theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Charming theatre. Interesting layout. I really enjoyed the play. On our circle, the the barmaid was on her own, which slowed the interval service down a bit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank andrewravesax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
332 reviews
159 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Came from slow Angeles to see a show about Palm Springs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

While in London had the opportunity to see Other Desert Cities.
Great show. The theater is in the round allows you to see the show at different prospectives.
My only complaint is that the seats are to close to each other. At 6'4" I hate my knees smashed into my chest. I have experienced worse but still tight .

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank HowieEmbry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Vic also viewed

 

Been to The Old Vic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing