We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most perfect perfumes”
Review of Floris

Floris
Ranked #128 of 739 Shopping in London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Perfurme and cosmetics store.
Binky_610
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The most perfect perfumes”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I think that this is the oldest perfume shop in London and it is one of the Queen's list of establishments. Certainly worth the short trip down one of the most historic streets of London. lots of history here.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Binky_610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“My favourite parfume shop in the world!”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Finally I visited the Floris shop on Jermyn Street. I had only mail ordered my perfumes from them up until this visit. The service is excellent and the shop beatifully decorated.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MasonG56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CH
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice and friendly”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

A small and traditional shop with very friendly staff eager to chat. If you're tired of the big perfume departments in the big stores, visit Floris. It's conveniently situated right behind Fortnum & Masons.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“STILL IN MOURNING FOR THE LAVENDER - a sad story”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Floris was founded in 1730. That's a long time ago. The company has built its reputation on scent and perfume of the very highest quality. The premises in Jermyn Street are the tourist's delight: traditional, with lots of polished mahogany and brass, and a uniformed gentleman who opens the door for overburdened customers. A feeling of timeless security is almost tangible to those entering the shop.

Something for everyone is here: soap, toilet water, hand cream, potpourri, bath gel - you name it, it's available, along with sundry antiques for the dressing table, not forgetting a wealth of aftershaves, foams, and sundries for the gentleman. The company is by Royal Appointment - not only to Her Majesty the Queen, but also to her son and heir, the Prince of Wales; James Bond, 007, also favours their No.89 Gentleman's Cologne. It lingers long into the night, and the next morning will certainly leave any pillowcase reminiscent of the passionate secret agent's presence. Purchases are wrapped and bagged by a small army of well-mannered and well-trained staff, and the door is politely opened again for one's departure.

Such a world should recognise its strengths, and be impervious to change.

But ...

A few years ago, Floris appeared to do something foolish, probably at the recommendation of an outside adviser, brought in to boot the company into the 21st century. They began to throw out the baby with the bathwater, suddenly ceasing to make some of their loveliest and most enduring fragrances. The immediately noticeable casualty in this aromatic night of the long knives was their Lavender toilet water - ironically, the first item in their original catalogue of 1730. It had been produced ever since, and anyone - male or female - who has ever worn it or smelt it must agree that here was something special. No other lavender scent could touch it, and suddenly, it was gone.

One might be forgiven for thinking it would be regarded as the jewel in the company's crown. But no ... It, along with 'Moss Rose' and many other products, was one of the casualties of lunatic advice - a desire to 'move with the times' and to attract a younger clientele. (Yes, this outrageous sentiment was related to me by the store's manager, who at the time was fielding a number of adverse comments about the ruthless and vulgar change in their packaging - another attempt to appeal to what they saw as a less grey-haired market. Unfortunately they chose patterns virtually indistinguishable from those introduced by Marks & Spencer at around the same time!)

The company then produced some rather vulgar scents for both sexes, which quickly appeared on the 'clearance' and 'sale' shelves - an admission, if ever there was one, that something was not right.

So how come such an old-established firm as Floris fails to recognise the value of its faithful, be they grey-haired or not ? Who do they ask ? They certainly didn't ask me, and I have been faithful to them for decades. Nor did they ask my son or his wife, both in their very early 30s, both of them fairly well-off, and both the perfect target for Floris's new-found zeal in the direction of a 'youth market'. Both dislike the changes, by the way, and mourn the passing of several of their favourites.

WHAT WE LOVED WAS THE TRADITION AND EXCLUSIVITY - not the company's desire to be all things to all persons. None of us is afraid of the new, but tradition is what most people want from a firm of such a venerable age, and there is nothing wrong with that! FLORIS SHOULD BRING BACK AND TRUMPET THEIR LAVENDER OF 1730!

I am still a customer, though I now shop around. I can't be the only slightly disappointed punter. Examine e-bay for examples of some of the now defunct older products, and these change hands at high prices (see their miraculous 'Malmaison' toilet water - the proper version, not the half-baked nonentity of nowadays) and go to people of all ages and all classes in all locations, who simply have the sense to recognise a good thing when they smell it.

Yes, Floris stands alone, and probably always will, but a little bit of heart-searching, and a little less desire to be trendy, where trendiness is simply unnecessary and undesirable, would do no end of good.

Greatness is something to be cherished. It seems a pity that the greatness of Floris is in grave danger of existing mainly in the memory.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
27 Thank greenman58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great value in the shop”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We popped into the shop on a holiday to London and restocked my husband's aftershave. Was very pleased to see the in store prices compared to online, so will be back on my next visit to test some of the other products.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank moany_mum65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Floris also viewed

 

Been to Floris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing