We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, poor breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
Ranked #327 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, poor breakfast”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed in this hotel on Saturday night before Easter Sunday. Booking was simple, finding Hotel okay and location is good for city and next to Aldgate East underground station. Paid extra for better room and it was very good. Bed comfortable and room not too hot. Bathroom is large module one end of room. Shower was good. The hotel has a cool city feel and we enjoyed it very much. I had read a lot about a good breakfast so was looking forward to it. The continental side was okay, but the English side was probably the poorest I've seen in a large hotel chain. Kept in circular unheated but covered trays the sausages were anaemic looking uncooked and cold. The pile of bacon was cold and hard and the egg was like a cold puree. Beans cold. No mushrooms and no hash browns. Maybe chef had Easter Sunday off and normally its better. I didn't bother to complain as I witnessed a gentleman questioning a chef but getting no where and wasn't offered any other options. I still might stay here again but I won't have breakfast here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Ibis London City. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about breakfast, which we have since addressed.
I am pleased to confirm that we have now improved the quality of the breakfast and we are offering a wider choice of our all you can eat buffet such us hash browns, mushrooms, tomatos, dried fruits, variety of cold meats, and also we have introduced different type of sausage.
We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back Ibis London City and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience with a good breakfast!

Kind regards,
Irena Hoch
Human Resources & Administration Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,029
    2,090
    622
    109
    68
See reviews for
866
1,483
240
702
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester UK
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in mid April as I was running the London Marathon. The hotel is in a great location, close to Tower Bridge and also the start of the DLR. It was really handy to get to the race start and also a good location for my husband and infant son who were spectating, as it was close to quite a lot of the route.

As usual in an Ibis the room was tiny and we felt very squashed in once the travel cot was in place.
We pre-paid £7 a night each for breakfast which I thought was good value given the choice on offer. I also really liked the modern lobby, bar and breakfast area. Overall the price was very reasonable and we couldn't fault the location so I felt it deserved 4 out of 5.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank aliglobetrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully!

Kind regards,
Irena Hoch
Human Resources & Administration Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The hotel met expectations for Ibis hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. The accommodation was suitable to our needs although room was very warm on first night. That was probably our own fault for not checking!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel.
I am glad that generally the facilities and services we provide were enjoyable.
Please rest assured that I will address the issue you encountered with regards to the temperature in the room as this does not reflect our normal standards of service.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back Ibis London City and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Kind regards,
Irena Hoch
Human Resources & Administration Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sardegna
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Ibis London in last april 2014. The hotel is amazing, modern and comfortable. The staff is friendly and very helpful, they kept our luggage without any charge. The room was clean and big enough to make our stay very pleasant. The wi-fi works well but if you don't have a wi-fi device you'll be able to use the ones in the hall. Just outside there is a metro station "Aldgate East" which is served by two lines: District(green) and Hammersmith(pink). Not far away there is another station "Aldgate" which is served by Circle(yellow) and Metropolitan(purple). There are also several buses that might be useful. The hotel is 800m away for Liverpool Street rail Station where arrive Stansted and Gatwick Express and Terravision e National Express buses. I definitely stay there again

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank reietto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for having taken the time to leave such a detailed review about your stay in our hotel. I am pleased that we meet your expectations and really looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Irena Hoch
Human Resources & Administration Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Very good budget hotel in a fairly cental location with a good bar. The restaurant serves reasonably authentic French food in congenial surroundings.. Within a hundred yards of Aldgate East Underground Station.





  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your review. I am happy you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully! Kind regards,
Irena Hoch
Human Resources & Administration Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I came to London in April with my mum for a couple of days. We stayed at Ibis London City. Our stay was fine, breakfast was great. Only problems were that the room couldn't be heated by the heater provided, and on the morning that we were leaving some members of staff kept coming in to our room to check if we had left. Quite rude. Also the pillows were 'noisy', if you know what I mean. I don't think the price was bad, it was better than a Travelodge for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments, we can assure you that the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly.

Kind regards,
Irena Hoch
Human Resources & Administration Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip. Last stay here was a few months ago and i was pleasantly surprised, the reception and bar are completely refurbished and look very 2014. Staff is friendly, restaurant is basic but good (area offers plenty of alternatives) and WiFi still free.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Matthijs K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,
We welcome all feedback that we receive from our guests, including positive comments which help us to recognise and reinforce excellent service within the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Irena Hoch
Human Resources & Administration Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#250 of 1,068 in London
3,265 reviews
Whitechapel
Hotel ibis budget London Whitechapel - Brick Lane
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#106 of 1,068 in London
3,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Spitalfields
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
Hammersmith / Fulham
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
#243 of 1,068 in London
1,931 reviews
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#130 of 1,068 in London
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis London City-Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London City-Shoreditch

Property: Ibis London City-Shoreditch
Address: 5 Commercial Street, London E1 6BF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#46 Green Hotel in London
#219 Romantic Hotel in London
#265 Family Hotel in London
#315 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis London City-Shoreditch 3*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis London City is ideal for tourist or business stays. Located in the centre of London's financial district, 20 m from Aldgate East station, it is a few steps from Liverpool St, the Tower of London and the celebrated Tower Bridge. It has 348 rooms,including 19 accessible rooms. The hotel has a restaurant and also a bar offering snacks 24 hours, 7 days. The hotel offers Free Wifi throughout. Public undercover parking close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Lastminute, ACCOR, Priceline, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis London City-Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis London City Hotel London
Accor London City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing