We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy hotel for the business traveller”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
Ranked #327 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Trendy hotel for the business traveller”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I've stayed at Ibis hotels in Milan and Dubai and both were fantastic hotels, so I went on that past experience when it came to booking for a business trip to London. Ibis London City lived up to my expectations that I have always experienced from the Ibis brand. The hotel itself is in the more "business" focused area of London, which is great if you're in town for business. Their facilities cater for businessmen (and general tourists) where there is free wifi throughout the hotel and in the rooms, and they have a large lounge area and restaurant for if you have business meetings or need to entertain guests. For a touristy stay, the hotel is a bit "out of the way" from all the main city sights, but Aldgate East station is literally a one minute walk (even less) from the hotel and will quickly and easily get you around to the main stations. The bedroom was a good size and well maintained, and bathroom was clean. The only thing the room lacked was a mini bar/fridge, which all the other Ibis hotels I have stayed in, have had. Staff were wonderful and helpful upon check in and throughout our stay. Would definitely recommend the Ibis London City hotel, and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,
My team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have been a part of your great experience.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future.
Kind Regards,
Irena Hoch
Human Resources & Administration Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,014
    2,073
    617
    108
    68
See reviews for
856
1,464
240
700
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed at the IBIS London City for two nights. Check-in was very friendly and efficient and although my twin room was on the small side it was still more that adequate to meet my needs. The bathroom is "pod" style and had a powerful shower. I noticed on my second morning a couple of hairs were on the white trim near the shower door but that wasn't a show stopper as the shower, washbasin & toilet themselves appeared very clean following the housekeepers visit. I ate in the restaurant the first night and had an excellent veggie chilli which was good value for a hotel. The second night was a real bonus. The hotel threw a party for all residents to celebrate their recent ground floor refurbishment so it was free drinks all round - all night! Canapes & a light buffet were on offer during the party but as there was a limited choice for a vegetarian, one of the waitresses kindly organised the chef to make me a margarita pizza which was a real nice touch and typical of the excellent staff at this hotel. Breakfast was all-you-can-eat buffet style, full English if you wanted and continental if you didn't. Again, the breakfast was great value for a hotel. I would definitely stay here again if I was down here on business.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveyPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Ibis London City. It is always a pleasure to receive such a positive feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and overall Ibis experience! I would like to also reassure you that I have noted your comment about housekeeping matter, which we have since addressed.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Kind Regards,
Irena
Human Resources & Administration Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The location may not be "city" but it's quite well located nearby Liverpool Street station/Aldgate. Take a short walk on Sundays to the fancy Shoreditch market and Brick Lane. Our room's size was OK (well, we're in London...) and it was very clean. Hotel's staff is professional and friendly. A good value hotel for a city trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markmuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you taking the time to share your experience following your recent stay at Ibis London City. I am pleased that we met your expectations and we are looking forward to seeing you in the nearest future!

Kind Regards,
Irena Hoch
Human Resources & Administration Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Ibis has a great location in London's East End. Walking distance to Liverpool St and Bishopsgate for business and pleasure. It is also very close to Bricklane with all it's curry shops and bars. Well served by the undergraound and DLR it is ideal if you want to explore London from a less touristy location.
Recently refurbished public areas are an improvement since my previous visit but rather than comortable it is functional, clean and a bit clinical.
Had breakfast which is a buffet and a mix of continental and English and whilst it was good it is very pricey so beware.
Rooms clean and basic with a toilet/wet room cubicle best described as a tupperware toilet but it serves a purpose. Rooms suited more to those who will be out a lot rather than those who like the comfort of a night in.
Biggest gripe about this hotel is the rates they charge so check around.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the front due to traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Ibis London City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Kind Regards,
Irena Hoch
Human Resources & Administration Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Arrived on Thursday afternoon. Check in was quick and fast. Didn't have to wait around for our room.
Room is nice and clean. We were on the first floor with a courtyard view. I was worried it would be noisy but it wasn't.
Next door to aldgate east and aldgate is only a short walk away. Buses close and staff very helpful when we enquired what bus we needed.
Close to spitafields market come out hotel turn left. 5 mins walk.
Checkout 12 noon. Staff kindly kept luggage until afternoon.
Would stay again and would recommend to others.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank caz_bpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your comment about your last stay at Ibis London City.
I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and the service of the staff was warm and friendly.
We definitely look forward to welcoming you back at your convenience.

Kind Regards,
Irena Hoch
Human Resources & Administration Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
135 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a good value since it is clean, modern and in a good location. I did not like not having an actual full bed. They put two twins together. The bathroom is clean and has a standup shower without a tub and drained on the bathroom floor. I would stay there again since it is next to the tube and has free wifi for browsing. VPN access requires a payment.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank LoveVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the feedback following your stay at Ibis London City. I am sincerely sorry to read that you did not like the type of our twin beds. Reception staff will always do their best to allocate a room which suits your requirements and I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations.
Thank you once again for your feedback, which is invaluable in our efforts to assess and continually improve upon the quality of our service.
I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Ibis in the future.

Kind Regards,
Irena Hoch
Human Resources & Administration Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The lobby of the hotel is super clean and very modern. The breakfast is good with a lot of selection but if you want really nice cakes or lunch head to the gherkin, its only about a 10 min walk and there are lots of food stalls and a really nice bakery. The location of the hotel is really good and is right next door to aldgate east and allows for quick access into the centre of london. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfy! Over all a really good stay for a great price, would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wesleywez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your kind review following your recent stay at Ibis London City. I am glad to receive such a positive feedback about our product and services.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Kind Regards,
Irena Hoch
Human Resources & Administration Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#251 of 1,067 in London
3,229 reviews
Whitechapel
Hotel ibis budget London Whitechapel - Brick Lane
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#109 of 1,067 in London
3,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Spitalfields
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
Hammersmith / Fulham
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
#231 of 1,067 in London
1,922 reviews
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#128 of 1,067 in London
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis London City-Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London City-Shoreditch

Property: Ibis London City-Shoreditch
Address: 5 Commercial Street, London E1 6BF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#47 Green Hotel in London
#219 Romantic Hotel in London
#265 Family Hotel in London
#315 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis London City-Shoreditch 3*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis London City is ideal for tourist or business stays. Located in the centre of London's financial district, 20 m from Aldgate East station, it is a few steps from Liverpool St, the Tower of London and the celebrated Tower Bridge. It has 348 rooms,including 19 accessible rooms. The hotel has a restaurant and also a bar offering snacks 24 hours, 7 days. The hotel offers Free Wifi throughout. Public undercover parking close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Lastminute, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis London City-Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis London City Hotel London
Accor London City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing