We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
Ranked #331 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sheffield
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A good option”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Firstly the good things about the hotel:
- Next door to Aldgate East tube station
- The rooms were clean, comfortable and modern
- The selection at breakfast was fantastic
- There are many choices for places to eat around 10 mins up the road
- There is a tesco express next door

Now the bad:
- Check in seemed to take an age - even though there were 4 staff on
- The rooms are very small. In particular the bathrooms, which are a similar size to what you would find on a train/plane (that is not an exaggeration) with a shower cubicle added on. A struggle if you are a person of large build I would say.

I would use it again if in this area.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tone09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments, we can assure you that the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly.

Kind regards,
Irena Hoch
Human Resources & Administration Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,009
    2,072
    615
    108
    68
See reviews for
855
1,460
239
699
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed here Wed this week Hotel clean, staff pleasant and well trained Breakfast not so good Hot food items not good, Reasonable room rates On London city airport flight path so some amount of noise, Don't think I'd stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Ibis London City, but I was very disappointed to hear that your breakfast experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us.
We appreciate your comment, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back Ibis London City and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Kind Regards
Irena Hoch
Human Resources & Administration Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Hordaland, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Nice modern hotel, small but modern rooms. Good room cleaning service. Large breakfast buffet with many different choices of breakfast dishes, hot and cold. Nice restaurant / snack bar - good food. Easy access to London Tube and just a couple of blocks away from Tower Bridge and boat service on the Thames.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Irena Hoch
Human Resources & Administration Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I was very surprised by the Hotel and will most likely be my go to chain when travelling Europe.

Some people complained that the room were a little tight and by north american standards I can see the point but we had no issues. Plenty of space in our books and we did not go to London to hang out in the hotel.

But the bar was excellent for a night cap when coming back from a full day of sight seeing.

Breakfast
We paid to have breakfast included and had no regrets. Buffet breakfast was great and were able to eat enough in order to avoid going for lunch. And we may not taken a couple extra fruit and muffins to snack on. The muffins are sealed so I am pretty sure they know the deal.

Staff
No complaints everyone was excellent and help us get around the city.

The hotel was very modern and clean.

Cons
A small bar fridge in the room would be nice.

Room Tip: We had a room with a double bed and had no complains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSnow117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Guest,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Ibis London City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind Regards,
Irena Hoch
Human Resources & Administration Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed in this hotel for three nights when I was in London on business. The location is perfect; just a few metres from the tube station. The lobby has recently been refurbished and although there was a short wait at reception to check in, the staff were all helpful and attentive. My room was small but clean and comfortable. Breakfast was busy but with a good selection and the bar was reasonably priced. Dinner in the reastaurant was a little disappointing with a limited and fairly obscure menu to choose from. I'd definitely stay in this hotel again next time I'm in central London but might choose to eat out in the evening!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holeedayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you taking the time to share your experience following your recent stay at Ibis London City. I am pleased that we met your expectations and the location was perfect for the purpose of your visit.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Irena Hoch
Human Resources & Administration Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Very nice Hotel.location was not far from all the attractions we wanted to visit.
Tower of London. London Bridge Pier for the River Cruises
Staff were Very helpful. And very friendl
Lovely clean and comfortable room.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable.

Kind Regards,
Irena Hoch
Human Resources & Administration Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#255 of 1,067 in London
3,224 reviews
Whitechapel
Hotel ibis budget London Whitechapel - Brick Lane
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#109 of 1,067 in London
3,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Spitalfields
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
Hammersmith / Fulham
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
#235 of 1,067 in London
1,919 reviews
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#126 of 1,067 in London
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis London City-Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London City-Shoreditch

Property: Ibis London City-Shoreditch
Address: 5 Commercial Street, London E1 6BF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#47 Green Hotel in London
#219 Romantic Hotel in London
#265 Family Hotel in London
#315 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis London City-Shoreditch 3*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis London City is ideal for tourist or business stays. Located in the centre of London's financial district, 20 m from Aldgate East station, it is a few steps from Liverpool St, the Tower of London and the celebrated Tower Bridge. It has 348 rooms,including 19 accessible rooms. The hotel has a restaurant and also a bar offering snacks 24 hours, 7 days. The hotel offers Free Wifi throughout. Public undercover parking close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis London City-Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis London City Hotel London
Accor London City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing