We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable budget hotel in good situation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
Ranked #332 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
358 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Comfortable budget hotel in good situation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Great location, being 2 minutes walk from Aldgate East, and around 5 minutes from Aldgate or Whitechapel tube stations. Close to Brick Lane and Liverpool Street too.
Room was a reasonable size and fairly quiet with a comfortable bed and basic, but functional bathroom facilities.
Staff were friendly and helpful and bar was average, but not overly expensive for a hotel in London (about £4.50 pint).
We didn't actually eat at the hotel so can't comment on the food. We were staying free on Tesco Clubcard points so can't really judge the prices either, although it looks like it would be around £230 for 2 nights (Saturday and Sunday) without breakfast (which I guess is about par for the course in London).

Room Tip: We had a room at the back overlooking the internal courtyad which although nothat pretty, meantthat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 342SteveO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully!

Kind regards,
Irena Hoch
Human Resources & Administration Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    979
    2,042
    603
    106
    67
See reviews for
844
1,430
234
682
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

After staying here last year for a short break we were more than happy to book again. Three nights were under £300. The staff were extremely helpfull and polite, even when we asked to change from the quiet inside room we were given to one overlooking Commercial Street. We didn't want to look out at a blank wall, but we did need to put up with traffic noise when the window was open. This was endurable overnight though as there was double glazing in place. The bedding and towels were spotless and changed each day. There is now free wi-fi in all rooms which we weren't aware of when booking so could have taken our iPad, but at least phones could be connected. Drinks in the bar were reasonably priced. Food looked nice. For exploring there is a tube station just around the corner for when the attractions you want to see are too far away. Definately planning next year's trip already!

Room Tip: For peace and quiet choose an inner room if you want to look out onto blank walls. If you want a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Irena Hoch
Human Resources & Administration Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This was my second stay at this hotel. BOth of these trip have been for work and are nice and close to my office. But I would not hesitate to stay here if in London for weekend trip either. A tube trip away from main touristy areas but the Brick Lane area is interesting enough for a local attraction.

Rooms are standard, clean, comfortable bed, AC that works and can crack the window as well if feel like.

Only minus comes from the hotels own restaurant. I was no impressed by the service and food was mediocre at best, if it would have been heated thoroughly. What was well cooked wa the burger I had and that had been on the grill at least double time it really needed and the that not improve the taste.

So ignoring the hotel restaurant, as plenty of good restaurants just few steps away, I'd recommend this reasonable priced hotel with access to Tube just behind the corner.

Room Tip: Higher floors better and preferably facing to courtyard so you have only the AC machinery noise and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating this matter accordingly.

Kind Regards,
Irena Hoch
Human Resources & Administration Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We did not encounter any of the problems described in previous reviews. The hotel was comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful. The room was clean. We would stay there again. The restaurant had changed from French bistro to international menu which was disappointing. The buffet breakfast was good. I had to query a debit card transaction after we got home so I rang the hotel and the problem was dealt with swiftly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolyndaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence B, Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience at Ibis London City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I am glad to read you found the hotel comfortable, the rooms clean and the breakfast good! I will also pass on your compliments to the team as I am sure this feedback will serve as encouragement to all staff.

Thank you for your comments and I hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Regards,

Rodrigo
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caistor UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Despite the previous review we booked in at 12 noon on a Saturday and were immediately allocated our room which was spotless and comfortable. The room was cleaned dailyand and the supplies of tea, coffee were replenished. Yes, it was on the small side and we were only given 2 towels but it was only around £200 for the 2 nights so couldn't complain. It was only 10 minutes walk to the Tower, 2 minutes from Petticoat Lane & Spitalfields markets and the tube station 20 yards away. The breakfast for only £8.95 was excellent. A very good, budget option!

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor and had no noise from other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CASTORIANS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence B, Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Castorians,

Thank you very much for taking the time and publishing your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

I am happy you found our hotel spotless and comfortable and that the breakfast was excellent.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back at Ibis London City.

Regards,

Rodrigo
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

While the Hotel itself is excellent, I had left glasses in the room and trying to get them back is proving difficult with the Hotel ignoring my last 3 emails completely and I can't find any Head Office email address that I can escalate the issue to.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence B, Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Graham,

Thank you for your comments sent on Tripadvisor regarding your stay with us. I investigated your review and I would like to apologise for the delay in coming back to you and the inconvenience it may have caused.

Customer service is of utmost importance for us and I am deeply disappointed that your query was not dealt with in a timely manner this time. Your concern was reviewed with the management team to prevent it from happening in the future. I would like to confirm that your glasses have been posted via recorded mail to the address provided on previous communications with you, and it is expected to be delivered by tomorrow.

If you have any further query you can contact me directly on the email h5011-am@accor.com.

I was pleased to read that you found our hotel excellent and I hope to welcome you back at Ibis London City in the near future.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Yours sincerely,

Rodrigo
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Had the misfortune of spending four nights in this hotel and while you do not expect five star luxury or facilities you would expect a basic level of cleanliness for £160 per night.
On arrival I checked the bedding only to find the Ben linen had not been changed since the previous occupant, only remade badly. I complained to reception but nothing happened so I was forced to sleep on top of the bed.
Second day I complained to reception and was told housekeeping would change the bed linen and clean the room, however when returning that evening the bedding was still not changed and remained dirty.
The staff at the hotel were very pleasant but absolutely useless in resolving my issues and I spent the entire stay sleeping on top of the bedding.......
No other hotels were available so I could not check out and rebook elsewhere

Avoid this place!!!!!

Room Tip: If you want a good room then select a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence B, Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback following your recent stay at Ibis London City. I was sorry to learn that your stay on this occasion fell short of your expectations and I apologise for any discomfort or inconvenience caused.

At Ibis London City, all rooms are fully cleaned and the bed linen changed before guests’ check in. In case of long stays the linen is also changed every other day and I was surprised and disappointed to read to read in your review that this was not your experience. I would really appreciate if you could contact me on the email h5011-am@accor.com and provide more details of your stay so I can investigate this further and take any appropriate measures.

We appreciate your feedback and I hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back at Ibis London City.

Kind regards,

Rodrigo
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#244 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,119 reviews
Whitechapel
Hotel ibis budget London Whitechapel - Brick Lane
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#107 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Spitalfields
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#124 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
#232 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis London City-Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London City-Shoreditch

Property: Ibis London City-Shoreditch
Address: 5 Commercial Street, London E1 6BF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#46 Green Hotel in London
#219 Romantic Hotel in London
#265 Family Hotel in London
#315 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis London City-Shoreditch 3*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis London City is ideal for tourist or business stays. Located in the centre of London's financial district, 20 m from Aldgate East station, it is a few steps from Liverpool St, the Tower of London and the celebrated Tower Bridge. It has 348 rooms,including 19 accessible rooms. The hotel has a restaurant and also a bar offering snacks 24 hours, 7 days. The hotel offers Free Wifi throughout. Public undercover parking close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis London City-Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis London City Hotel London
Accor London City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing