We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“God this is good!”
Review of Nivens Fine Foods

Nivens Fine Foods
Ranked #2,194 of 22,659 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
Restaurant details
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“God this is good!”
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Walking past, hungry. ...thinking Pretty. Spotted food in the windows. It is the best. Tastes and looks home made. Friendly, polite, independent. ...A fantastic place with superb food

Helpful?
Thank awoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    9
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Get there early, choose your box, enjoy!”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Fantastic neighbourhood deli and lunch-spot. Home-cooked, quality food, a proprietor who is clearly passionate about what he does and the quality of everything he serves, and an eclectic mix of food makes this a favourite. Oh, and it is one of the few places where I can find Chinotto in London.

It does suffer from its own popularity at times. Long queues and some of the dishes are gone quick, so get there early!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Quovadisite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Had a really nice breakfast close to Kings Cross in a cosy small cafe. Owner was friendly and made very tasty traditional English breakfast with very good quality ingredients. Bacon and sausage were excellent.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KiwiGav27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
1 review
“Go here if you like good food!”
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Four of us had breakfast here instead of the hotel, wise move. Interesting flavours of Cumberland and chorizo sausage and perfectly cooked egg. Great coffee. I wish this place existed near where I live!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the best breakfasts I've had in London!!”
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Nivens is a stone's throw from Kings Cross St Pancras, and I visited whilst waiting for the Eurostar to Paris. Well worth the walk from the station to avoid the draugthty chain restaurants. Nivens is really a deli- tiny with a communal table at the back of the shop. There's no standing on ceremony here- it was unclear if we had to serve ourselves or be served, and we were hardly greeted by the owner and his surly assistant. However Mr Niven is a guy who lets the food do the talking, and talk it certainly does. We ordered scrambled eggs but got fried, and had to wait for the bacon to be cooked but it could not have mattered less. The plate was piled high with gorgeous produce- morcila (black pudding), chorizo, homemade spicy baked beans, delicious!! The coffee was of an extremely high quality and the choice of preserves was ample-Nutella, Marmite and peanut butter are three of my favourites. Topped off the huge breakfast with another round of crusty bread and butter and a second cup of tea. I will definitely be returning-a real find!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sian_Davies88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nivens Fine Foods also viewed

London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to Nivens Fine Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing