We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel and better location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Ranked #4 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Hotel and better location.”
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Wonderful Hotel and even better location. Right next to Buckingham Palace, about a 8 minute walk to Westminster Abbey, Big Ben and London Eye and very close to both St. James and Victoria subway stations, so getting around very easy.

Our room was on 1st Floor (would have preferred higher level room) and only problem was their was construction of a new building across street and also some light construction outside of our room where they were repairing the elevator.

We were in a suite that was nice but don't know if I would call it 5 star. I have stayed in many 5 star hotels and in Paris right now and we are in a true 5 star Suite that 51 Buckingham doesn't compare to. I'd give it 4.5 though.

They do have a 6:30 - 8:30 happy hour where drinks are included--nice touch. Hotel staff and concierge were very nice and had no issues with service, except for a brief miscommunication at check-in with another person with same last name. Could happen to anyone.

Wifi is an extra $15 a day and not included. Just FYI.

Overall 4.5 stars and would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r1ch12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Dear R1ch12

Thank you ever so much for your review and for your recommendation to fellow reviewers to stay at 51 Buckingham Gate.

I am delighted to know that you found the hotel and its location to your satisfaction and that you find little thinks such as the cocktail evenings a pleasant surprise.

How unfortunate that we had another guest with the same name arriving on the same day and that this created confusion on your arrival, I can only apologise to you and hope that you think of that as an anecdote and not something that upset you and also that my colleagues assisted you to feel very comfortable after the initial missunderstanding.

I would like to mention to you that at 51 Buckingham Gate has several types of suites and I am sorry if this particular one didn't fully meet your expectations, please do let me know when you are coming next to London as I will be delighted to offer you several options to ensure you experience the best we have to offer.

Thank you once again for your review and I look forward to welcome you back with us.

Araceli Rius-Perez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,339
    144
    29
    11
    1
See reviews for
595
475
44
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2011

This us by far the best hotel
Location10
Service 10
People work there give you the feeling that you are the only guest there...
See you soon there

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeevrubi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Dear Zeevrubi1

Thank you very much for your review.

I am delighted to know that while staying at 51 Buckingham Gate my colleagues made you feel like if you were at home and offered you all the care of attention you deserved.

Being as we are a small and intimate hotel you can be sure that each of us will try our utmost to engage with you and to ensure you have the best of service.

I do hope that you will return soon again either with your friends or family and that 51 Buckingham Gate becomes your number one choice when travelling to London.

With warmest regards

Araceli Rius-Perez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Excellent location, hospitality, staff, room comfort, breakfast......! Overall, I loved the stay!

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the front road OR the Garden behind!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank varuniaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Dear Varuniaf,

Thank you very much for your review and your kind words about your experience with us at 51 Buckingham Gate Taj Suites and Residences.

I am truly delighted to know that you had a fantastic stay and I do hope that you will build many unforgetable memories with us in the future.

With warmest regards and best wishes

Araceli Rius-Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites & Residences is a great place to stay in London. We loved every bit of it because the services were impeccable services.

Suites & Rooms are very large & spacious.

Taj 51 Buckingham Gate was an exceptional stay, in the heart of London ! We were absolutely thrilled with our stay at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate with the unmistakable Taj services ! Minutes away from the Buckingham Palace, Hyde park Corner, and also close to the shopping areas of Knightsbridge & Oxford Street

Room Tip: become a Taj Innercircle member - Silver or Gold tier, chances improve a lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagicCarp8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
Dear Ankitmittal,

Thank you ever so much for your fabulous review of 51 Buckingham Gate, I am delighted to know that you found in London a true Taj Hotel experience and special thanks for your tip on becoming at Taj Inner Circle, this is a superb way to receive points to redime around the world within our hotels and also adds a little extra to your stay as a thank you for your loyalty.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Best wishes

Araceli Rius-Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa,Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We stayed 4 nights during June 2011 at this Taj property. My wife and our 15 year-old daughter accompanied me on this trip, which combined business with pleasure. We arrived by Eurostar (train) from Paris and departed from Heathrow. We had booked a 1-bedroom suite, but since the 2-bedroom was available, the manager upgraded us at the original price.

The “51” is located a 1-minute walk from the front gates of Buckingham Palace, a 10-minute walk from Westminster Abby and 15 minutes from Big Ben. Despite this central location, the street is quiet and the hotel serene.

Our 2 bedroom suite included a living room, plus a kitchen. The kitchen overlooked a school for boys, who spent their free time playing soccer (football) and cricket in the paved courtyard below our windows. Even though they were quite close, the rooms were essentially soundproof. The beds were good, the bathrooms comfortable, and, as I noted, the rooms quiet. Our kitchen had a clothes washer/drier combination, so we did several loads of laundry.

The “51” is clearly a high-end boutique hotel with superb rooms, complex hallways, high speed Internet, and impeccable service. The “51” staff exceeded the service we’ve experienced at every big city, high-end hotel we’ve stayed in over the last 3 years. Gentle, prompt, efficient, engaging, helpful, accessible, well-groomed, well trained, well received. For example, Alex is one of the concierges. Alex met with my wife several times to arrange for every ticket, every tour, every show. He followed up with me to confirm that my wife was happy with the outcomes. He and his colleagues arranged for cars at all hours of the day and night – even the cars and their drivers were impeccable and prompt.

Room service fed us one breakfast and two dinners during our stay. Top quality. The breakfast in the small common room was one of our favorite meals. The hotel arranged for a table at the Michelin-rated Indian restaurant next door one night. Again, top quality food, top notch service.

This is an international hotel that caters to wealthy Occidental and Oriental clients, so the American traveler will see fellow travelers from India, Germany, Brazil, Eastern Europe…but few other Americans. Most guests will be well-dressed and well-mannered.

In summary, the “51” is well suited to the discerning traveler who appreciates (and can afford) incredible service, requires a great location, and relishes an international environment.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Omrwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
Dear Ormwiz,

Thank you very much for your amazing review and your very kind words about the hotel and our associates who truly aim to delight you with their own genuine personalities and warmth.

I loved your note about the variety of guests nationalities at 51 Buckingham Gate, this hotel is indeed like London itself a place where everyone feels welcome no matter where they come from, interestingly enought the majority of our guests originate from the USA but I guess different times of the year and world holidays do change trends from time to time.

I do hope that 51 Buckingham Gate will remain in your thoughts when you next visit London and we will be looking forwad to welcome you and your family back with us.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience with the world

Best wishes

Araceli Rius-Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Excellent location, near Westminster Abbey, incredible service, very large spacious room with huge bathroom and fully equiped kitchen including washer/dryer. Great food at Quilon restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jawb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
Dear Jawb,

I am so happy to read your review and to know that you found 51 Buckingham Gate to be a fantastic hotel, the fact that you enjoyed the size of the suites, the service from my colleagues and also the exceptional food from The Quilon restaurant is a great feeling for all of us and we are very much looking forward to welcome you back and to surprise you with an even better and more familiar experience.

With warm regards

Araceli Rius-Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2011

A friend and myself came for 4 nights, we were visiting Europe and we decided that this Taj property will host us (we know Taj very well from India).

The property is nicely located and we did one touristy day and found out many attractions are walking distance (London Eye, Westminster Cathedral, Buckingham Palace and more). The suite was a two-bedded room and we were more than happy with its vastness. The housekeeping is great even if they usually not picking up the phone so we had to pass through reception.

The team on the front is really warm and the butlers were available (maybe too much sometimes?). The front-desk is talkative and it was a pleasure to chat with them (Salvatore and Suzana). We used many times the evening concierge (not sure of the spelling, Lahzar?), young and helpful, regarding restaurants, bars and clubs. Obviously, he knew what he was talking about so do not hesitate to use and abuse them.

We have eaten in the Quillon restaurant and the food was great but there's a lack of decoration. Good value for money overall. The room service has been used once and it was ok (food and time wise).

A great experience, I definitely recommend this hidden gem in London...

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakeshjaffar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
Dear Jawb,

How wonderful to know that you found both the hotel and my colleagues amazing and had a fantastic stay with us.

I am very happy knowing that you enjoyed the size of your two bedroom suite and the location of the hotel. We are indeed priviledged to be within walking distance of such wonderful sites in London and this works perfectly well if you are a first time traveller to London, what better reference than staying next to Buckingham Palace? and also as a regular visitor to London as you are right in the centre of town yet can enjoy the peace of a quieter location.

I am so sorry if you did not get to speak to the housekeepers on the phone at times, I trust they would have been busying around getting the the hotel looking beautiful and of course the team of butlers and guest relations are at your service to respond to all your housekeeping arrangements for you.

Lastly I am glad that you enjoyed the cuisine at The Quilon and I hope the next time you come to stay with us you will enjoy it even better as The Quilon will be closing its doors at the begining of next year for a few weeks to have a full makeover and I am sure you will be delighted with the results, we will be sure to announce the dates once we have concrete information on this project.

I hope to see you back at 51 Buckingham Gate soon again.

Best wishes

Araceli Rius-Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,069 in London
2,784 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,069 in London
1,407 reviews
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#3 of 1,069 in London
1,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Goring
The Goring
#6 of 1,069 in London
1,315 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,069 in London
3,201 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#18 of 1,069 in London
3,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences

Property: Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Address: 51 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in London
#4 Luxury Hotel in London
#5 Business Hotel in London
#8 Family Hotel in London
#20 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences offers authentic luxury experiences in a bespoke and personalised environment a gemstone's throw from Buckingham Palace. It comprises three Victorian townhouses - Kings, Minsters and Falconers, each distinctly designed and beautifully restored to their iconic heritage. The 85 luxurious suites and residences with butler service offer the space and exclusivity of a private home each with their own separate kitchen and living area. Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reflects the universally acclaimed warmth and personalised service that the Taj is recognised for as one of the finest in the world. Treading the path from tradition to tomorrow, Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences redefines the meaning of luxury, creating a distinctive, customised and exclusive Taj experience. Make the most of complimentary wi-fi, the premier Golden Keys Concierge service, tailored treatments at the Wellness Centre and a host of on-site dining options including Quilon, the signature Michelin star Indian South West coastal cuisine restaurant and Kona, showcasing the colours, flavours and vibrancy of contemporary Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
51 Buckingham Gate, Taj Suites And Residences Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing