We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$376
US$245
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$410
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$298
US$249
Bloomsbury Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$159
US$153
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$184
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Rhodes Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$285
US$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Grand London Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
US$134
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn London - Brent Cross(London)(Great Value!)
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$339
US$317
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,686)
Filter reviews
1,686 results
Traveller rating
1,471
160
39
15
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,471
160
39
15
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom suitefull kitchenwasher dryerquilon restaurantjames parkconcierge teamhome away from homest jamesevery eveningroom servicenespresso machineturn down servicewonderful hotelwonderful stayvictoria stationbig bengreen park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,369 - 1,374 of 1,686 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Only one night and we got upgrade to a 2 bedroom suite. Very comfortable and well equipped suite/appartment. Very welcoming and friendly staff and the concierge helped us greatly to get the sightseeing and transportation needs to fit in 1 day. Close to the underground as well. And all this fo rabout 1/3 of the rate of other hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noëlle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

we stayed here recently for a couple of nights.
i have only the best to say. Attentive and friendly staff, very nice breakfast, the suites are large, especially by London standards. Our suite was on ground floor so i cannot really comment on some other reviews about elevators being slow. All in all a very positive experience.
i highly recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesSoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Lovely atmosphere and staff very attentive. Very handy for shopping in West-end or Knightsbridge and great location for walking off the delicious food from the restaurants. This is a very peaceful venue and a great treat for a happy couple. The bed was wonderful. I could live here!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerryEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

The Taj suites is I believe a relatively new hotel. It is housed in a small collection of buildings which used to be a boys school and before that a hospital. The rooms are thus inside a courtyard which makes them quiet.....and the street is relatively sedate in any event.

Because it wasn't purpose built to be a hotel the elevator was tiny and slow.....the poor hotel staff had to get out whenever a guest wanted to use it! But this was really the only negative. The service from check in to check out was unfailingly helpful....even enthusiastic.

The room itself was really a small apartment with a good sized kitchen area, a huge and luxurious bathroom and a large bedroom area. The housekeeping was immaculate.

I have been to London many times and this has been my favorite hotel. It has everything we needed but lacked pretension and was a very reasonable price for a 4/5 star hotel.

The location was excellent. An easy walk from the major parks, Westminster Abbey, Buckingham palace and Victoria Station and a cab stand conveniently just across the street.

Room Tip: A lower floor might be wise to avoid the elevator.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank splotchya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear splotchya,

Thank you very much for your review and specially about your comments on the unconventional style of the hotel as it is indeed a very unique 5 star hotel.

As you mentioned the hotel is full of history as the site back in the 16th Century housed the Emmanuel School and has had many uses over the centuries. On its most recent past, before becoming a hotel in the mid 1900, the suites were private homes or pied a terre for wealthy aristocrats, you can just get the feeling by its feature in the Oscar winning film Howards End which was filmed in the hotel and it fully depicts the setting of the period. At that time, the homes were used in some occassions as an extension of Buckingham Palace for visiting dignataries. So full of history that it would take pages to relate information on the exquisite architecture, the terracota freezes around the Courtyard... ..and so much more.

And so with history comes charm and the difficulties to fullfill some 21st century demands such as fast large elevators, but fear not, as we are on the verge of finding a structural solution to add a second elevator to the the Kings townhouses, the other 2 have been already conquered and dual elevators are in place, but please be sure that our guest always take priority and my colleagues are more than happy to assist by giving way.

I thank you once again for your time and I truly hope we will see you at 51 Buckingham Gate soon enough.

Best wishes

Araceli Rius-Perez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Stayed in the aprtments. We were upgraded on arrival. Fantastic 3 bedroom apartment. Every staff member we met, went out of their way to provide a courteous and efficient service. Cannot recommend highly enough. Amazing levels of service. This is what 5star is all about. We will definitely be staying here again and will recommend to all our friends.

Room Tip: Would highly recommend one of the special offers...£200 for a £900 pound suite, upgraded on arrival to an even better one.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jinx B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear JinxB

Thank you very much for your amazing review and I am delighted to enjoy the special offer and upgrade you received during your stay.

It is lovely to read that you found your 3 bedroom suite to your liking, and I can assure you that you would have been equally happy in one of our Junior Suites or One or Two Bedroom suites as all of them are super spacious and just perfect for a short or longer stay.

If you liked our style in winter you will love it even more during the summer season when the Courtyard comes alive with fabulous drinks and food and when we have even horse and carriage rides around the Palace and beyond and the most amazing Opera evenings planned.

Since you live in the UK and only a short drive away why don't you sign into our blog or follow us in our social media pages so that we can keep you informed of special offers and summer events, I am sure you will love them.

Thank you once again for your time writting your Tripadvisor review and I hope to see you soon again at 51 Buckingham Gate.

Best wishes

Araceli Rius-Perez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews