We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly excellent service but suite a little tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Ranked #9 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Having a young baby we decided to stay in a suite and the Taj were excellent in catering for baby's needs - nothing was too much trouble, with some lovely touches and thoughts and provided promptly.

The staff at the hotel are amongst the friendliest, most welcoming bunch I have met and this level of service was provided by everyone we came into contact with.

I feel a little churlish mentioning it in the title but yes the suite was dated and definitely tired. We stayed in a Falconers one bedroomed suite - at a good rate - and I wondered whether we had been given a less desirable room as a result? I felt a little disappointed on first arrival given the images I had seen online - however despite its amazing, very central location it was exceptionally quiet - we slept better than we had in months on a super comfy bed - and ordered excellent room service on both nights from the Michelin starred restaurant and another onsite.

Would I stay again? A little torn on this - the welcoming staff made all the difference when considering the review but I'd like to hear that there was renovation in the pipeline as maybe we were just unfortunate on our room allocation.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Douglebatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,211 - 1,217 of 1,636 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2012

The hotel is not the most lush, but the service here sets it apart. Staff is beyond friendly and goes out of their way to help. Have stayed in top hotels and have never felt this welcome or have had better care! Top notch! Suites are also spacious and well appointed. Great for families!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 152Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

This hotel is a gem located in central London. The wonderful thing about its location is that one would never say you are in central London. It is situated in a very quite environment but close to anything you might want to experience. Victoria is 5 minutes away and St James tube station 1 minute away.

The service is excellent and it is like coming to ones own house. The staff is very friendly and efficient and nothing is too much to ask. The suits are spacious very clean, well attended to and all with very well equipped kitchens. Breakfast is a wonderful experience with very attentive staff that will walk the extra mile to please.

All in all a wonderful experience and very good value for money and it is highly recommended. Very well trained staff that are very efficient and warm.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2012

Dear 621JanB47621,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review 51 Buckingham Gate.

I am delighted to know that you very much enjoyed your experience at our hotel.

We are indeed very privileged to have such wonderful location, not only we are a few minutes walk from the most important sites of London but also have the most secluded almost hidden away entrance by the beautiful Courtyard, and the Courtyard looks stunning at the moment with its Christmas lights, just waiting now for a covering of snow and it will be even better.
I would like to thank you also for your very kind words for our associates, they are indeed warm, helpful and they will try their utmost to assist you with anything you need.

I hope you will return to see us soon again and in the meantime we send you our best wishes for a wonderful Christmas.

Warm regards

Araceli Rius-Perez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We booked a suite as there were 4 of us visiting London so it worked out very cost effective and was great fun to be in together. Our suite was amazing! Really spacious with two rooms, two bathrooms, kitchen and very large lounge area. The staff at the hotel were beyond helpful and friendly. The location of the hotel is good...almost next to Buckingham palace! Room service was fab! We all loved our stay and would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurapoppy-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2012

Dear Laurapoppy-s

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for taking the time to share your experience with Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to know that you had a wonderful weekend with your friends and that you enjoyed being together in a large suite. I personally think one of the best things about 51 Buckingham Gate is that a group of friends or a large family can stay together in either 2 bedroom or 3 bedroom suites or even take a whole private floor and have up to 6 bedrooms.

I am also delighted to read that you found our team very friendly and helpful and that you very much enjoyed your in room dinning experience. It is lovely to be able to have your breakfast, lunch, dinner or just some snacks in your suite just like at home.

Please do come back to stay with us the next time you meet with your fiends in London, we will love to see you again and help you to create some unforgetable memories.

With best wishes for a lovely Christmas

Araceli Rius-Perez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

I booked 51 Buckingham Gate for a one night stay for my anniversary and what we experienced was the 'honeymoon treatment.' As soon as we arrived the Butlers carried our bags and escorted us to the reception where we were greeted with hot towels, mulled wine and mince pies. We were instantly upgraded to one of the finer suites in the hotel as a complimentary gesture. The hotel staff were all very pleasant and approachable. Our attendant James was fabulous, he explained the history of the building as well as nearby attractions. He showed us to our room and explained all the room features. He returned shortly after to present us with delicious congratulatory chocolates in light of our anniversary.

The room was amazing, everything you could possibly ask for. The kitchen had all the required facilities, the lounge was comfortable, and the bedroom was spacious and cosy. The beds were as if you were sleeping on a cloud. The bathroom products are all top quality also.

The hotel is arranged as a group of individual buildings which are all a part of the same private complex. The central courtyard is beautifully lit up during the evening hours. The hotel is walking distance from Buckingham Palace which is great for people looking to travel within Central London.

Check out was easy and our overall experience at 51 Buckingham Gate was definitely one of the best I've ever had.

Room Tip: I found the Kings Suite Rooms more modern and chic as they are a recent development to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandip01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2012

Dear Sandip01,

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review, I am truly delighted to know that you had a wonderful experience at 51 Buckingham Gate.

I am very happpy to know that you enjoyed every interaction with the members of the team and the facilities and environment of your Kings Townhouse suite.

It is really lovely for us to be able to share or to help in any way we can to make a special occassion an unforgetable one, and I sincerely hope you will remember your anniverary at our hotel with fondness for years to come.

I very much look forward to welcome you back to 51 Buckingham Gate and we wish you a very Happy Christmas.

Warm regards

Araceli Rius-Perez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

I went here for a Spa day that I bought my Best Friend as her birthday treat. We have a massage and then facial followed by afternoon tea.
The spa staff were amazing. The therapists wonderful and the afternoon tea plentiful.
We enjoyed every minute of it.
I cannot recommend this highly enough.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank MDGodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Firstly this hotel really is in central London- turn left and 200 yards later you are at the front gate of Buckingham Palace - turn right and 10 mins later you are standing under Big Ben - walk behind the hotel and in 7 mins you can go to see Wicked or Billy Elliott. St James Park tube station is about 3 mins and Victoria Street tube and train station is no more than five mins. We stayed in a two bedroom Falconers suite at 51 Buckingham gate and found the standard of accommodation amazing. Our children 17 and 15 had a good sized room with separate toilet and shower. My wife and I had a huge bed and en-suite complete with bath. The suite also had a small but very adequate kitchen and large sitting room. Best of all was the staff who were attentive, polite and very very professional from Mandee who we booked with and could not have done more to help us, to Susanne on reception who made us so very welcome and Sergio who made us feel quite special. Staff in dining room were also exceptional. If I had to say something negative about this accommodation I would really struggle.

Room Tip: Our suite overlooked the side of Buckingham Palace and was on the 7th floor. Quiet and interesting e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shanarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,081 in London
2,940 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,081 in London
1,540 reviews
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#27 of 1,081 in London
1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#16 of 1,081 in London
3,426 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences

Address: 51 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in London
#5 Business Hotel in London
#6 Family Hotel in London
#9 Luxury Hotel in London
#20 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £269 - £814 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences offers authentic luxury experiences in a bespoke and personalised environment a gemstone's throw from Buckingham Palace. It comprises three Victorian townhouses - Kings, Minsters and Falconers, each distinctly designed and beautifully restored to their iconic heritage. The 85 luxurious suites and residences with butler service offer the space and exclusivity of a private home each with their own separate kitchen and living area. Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reflects the universally acclaimed warmth and personalised service that the Taj is recognised for as one of the finest in the world. Treading the path from tradition to tomorrow, Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences redefines the meaning of luxury, creating a distinctive, customised and exclusive Taj experience. Make the most of complimentary wi-fi, the premier Golden Keys Concierge service, tailored treatments at the Wellness Centre and a host of on-site dining options including Quilon, the signature Michelin star Indian South West coastal cuisine restaurant and Kona, showcasing the colours, flavours and vibrancy of contemporary Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
51 Buckingham Gate, Taj Suites And Residences Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing