We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service, Decent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Ranked #5 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
CT
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Service, Decent Location”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed at the Taj Buckingham Gate for 7 nights over Christmas week (2 adults 2 teens). We had a suite with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, living/dining room and a kitchen. The rooms were large and comfortable. The staff was amazingly nice and accomodating. Rooms were serviced twice a day. Breakfast was great in our building. Guests has the option of going across the courtyard for breakfast if our area did not have tables available. Although the location was quiet and not in the "thick" of London life, we were down the street from Buckinham Palace and only a 3 minute walk from the St James's Tube stop.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a courtyard and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,287
    139
    29
    11
    1
See reviews for
567
466
43
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

The Taj at 51 Buckingham Gate was our location for six nights during Christmas. Our large room had a well-equipped kitchen, a large bathroom with towel warmer, two sinks, a large soaking tub and shower. There was a radio, iPod player, choices of new and old movies, and even popcorn if you want to eat while watching a film.
The service was impeccable. From the concierge, to the front desk, the housekeeping staff, to the wait staff - everyone was helpful, friendly and gracious.
Everyday at 6:30 they serve drinks (anything you want), or tea, with hors o'deuvres. After walking the city all day long, this was a welcome respite.
There are several excellent restaurants attached to this hotel. Or, if you wish to eat in the room, you can order pretty much anything and they will bring it to you.
The location of the hotel was superb. And, it was in a quiet area off of a main street. You did not hear traffic during the night as you would in NYC.
The best of all was the bed. It was the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in. The linens were very high quality. Each night there would be a bottle of water and a box of chocolates on our bedside tables. No charge. Also free was internet access, daily newspapers, a fruit bowl. A case full of umbrellas was in our hallway. We needed them everyday of our trip! Windows that open are always welcome.
On Christmas Day a stocking filled with fruit and goodies was delivered to our room. What a surprise.
We travel ALOT. This hotel will stand out with us as one of the best ever.

Room Tip: We did not have a view from our room. Normally, this would bother us. However, we were so busy see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emberbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Private car pickup at Heathrow, very early check-in, a wonderfully furnished and remodeled 7th floor penthouse suite, unfailingly courteous, prompt service. Pamper yourself with a stay at the 51. Manager Araceli Rius-Perez runs a tight, flawlessly performing ship.The multinational staff provide the level of service one only reads about. Half a block to Buckingham Palace, 10 minute walk to Parliament Square. Breakfast served 7:30-11:30; drinks and canapes each evening 6:30-8:30. A perfect way to savor Christmas Week in London. Do likewise.

Room Tip: Suite 1173 newly remodeled, overlooks Buckingham palace; rooms with courtyard views also great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cowboyprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Having a young baby we decided to stay in a suite and the Taj were excellent in catering for baby's needs - nothing was too much trouble, with some lovely touches and thoughts and provided promptly.

The staff at the hotel are amongst the friendliest, most welcoming bunch I have met and this level of service was provided by everyone we came into contact with.

I feel a little churlish mentioning it in the title but yes the suite was dated and definitely tired. We stayed in a Falconers one bedroomed suite - at a good rate - and I wondered whether we had been given a less desirable room as a result? I felt a little disappointed on first arrival given the images I had seen online - however despite its amazing, very central location it was exceptionally quiet - we slept better than we had in months on a super comfy bed - and ordered excellent room service on both nights from the Michelin starred restaurant and another onsite.

Would I stay again? A little torn on this - the welcoming staff made all the difference when considering the review but I'd like to hear that there was renovation in the pipeline as maybe we were just unfortunate on our room allocation.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Douglebatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

The hotel is not the most lush, but the service here sets it apart. Staff is beyond friendly and goes out of their way to help. Have stayed in top hotels and have never felt this welcome or have had better care! Top notch! Suites are also spacious and well appointed. Great for families!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 152Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

This hotel is a gem located in central London. The wonderful thing about its location is that one would never say you are in central London. It is situated in a very quite environment but close to anything you might want to experience. Victoria is 5 minutes away and St James tube station 1 minute away.

The service is excellent and it is like coming to ones own house. The staff is very friendly and efficient and nothing is too much to ask. The suits are spacious very clean, well attended to and all with very well equipped kitchens. Breakfast is a wonderful experience with very attentive staff that will walk the extra mile to please.

All in all a wonderful experience and very good value for money and it is highly recommended. Very well trained staff that are very efficient and warm.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 22 December 2012
Dear 621JanB47621,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review 51 Buckingham Gate.

I am delighted to know that you very much enjoyed your experience at our hotel.

We are indeed very privileged to have such wonderful location, not only we are a few minutes walk from the most important sites of London but also have the most secluded almost hidden away entrance by the beautiful Courtyard, and the Courtyard looks stunning at the moment with its Christmas lights, just waiting now for a covering of snow and it will be even better.
I would like to thank you also for your very kind words for our associates, they are indeed warm, helpful and they will try their utmost to assist you with anything you need.

I hope you will return to see us soon again and in the meantime we send you our best wishes for a wonderful Christmas.

Warm regards

Araceli Rius-Perez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We booked a suite as there were 4 of us visiting London so it worked out very cost effective and was great fun to be in together. Our suite was amazing! Really spacious with two rooms, two bathrooms, kitchen and very large lounge area. The staff at the hotel were beyond helpful and friendly. The location of the hotel is good...almost next to Buckingham palace! Room service was fab! We all loved our stay and would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurapoppy-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 22 December 2012
Dear Laurapoppy-s

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for taking the time to share your experience with Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to know that you had a wonderful weekend with your friends and that you enjoyed being together in a large suite. I personally think one of the best things about 51 Buckingham Gate is that a group of friends or a large family can stay together in either 2 bedroom or 3 bedroom suites or even take a whole private floor and have up to 6 bedrooms.

I am also delighted to read that you found our team very friendly and helpful and that you very much enjoyed your in room dinning experience. It is lovely to be able to have your breakfast, lunch, dinner or just some snacks in your suite just like at home.

Please do come back to stay with us the next time you meet with your fiends in London, we will love to see you again and help you to create some unforgetable memories.

With best wishes for a lovely Christmas

Araceli Rius-Perez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,704 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#3 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,876 reviews
Westminster
The Goring
The Goring
#9 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,089 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences

Property: Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Address: 51 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in London
#5 Business Hotel in London
#5 Luxury Hotel in London
#8 Family Hotel in London
#20 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences offers authentic luxury experiences in a bespoke and personalised environment a gemstone's throw from Buckingham Palace. It comprises three Victorian townhouses - Kings, Minsters and Falconers, each distinctly designed and beautifully restored to their iconic heritage. The 85 luxurious suites and residences with butler service offer the space and exclusivity of a private home each with their own separate kitchen and living area. Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reflects the universally acclaimed warmth and personalised service that the Taj is recognised for as one of the finest in the world. Treading the path from tradition to tomorrow, Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences redefines the meaning of luxury, creating a distinctive, customised and exclusive Taj experience. Make the most of complimentary wi-fi, the premier Golden Keys Concierge service, tailored treatments at the Wellness Centre and a host of on-site dining options including Quilon, the signature Michelin star Indian South West coastal cuisine restaurant and Kona, showcasing the colours, flavours and vibrancy of contemporary Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
51 Buckingham Gate, Taj Suites And Residences Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing