We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Ranked #5 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
390 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Outstanding service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Just back from a delightful stay at 51 Buckingham Gate. Our 1-bedroom suite in the Kings building was incredibly spacious - and not just by European standards. Impeccably clean and with wonderfully comfortable beds - there was even excellent water pressure (something I've come NOT to expect in a hotel!) But the highlight of the stay is most certainly the service. Friendly, efficient, approachable, eager and, above all, professional, the staff at 51 Buckingham Gate is simply amazing.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Edgingin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,273
    139
    29
    11
    1
See reviews for
564
459
43
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northants
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

I have recently stayed at the hotel on a 2 night business trip to London. I selected the hotel on the excellent reviews and outstanding comments around customer service and the light and discreet approach of the staff.

First impressions - well a challenge for the black cab find and the entrance of the hotel was not obvious - no great discomfort, but an annoyance with the additional wait to be collected. Check in was painless and efficient, the 'to door' assistance helpful, though the potted history and the stay until you enter your room a little obtrusive. It was a long day.

A complementary room upgrade to a two bedroom suite was very welcome. The rooms, decoration and detail were very good, with the overall space and detail furnishing excellent. The desk was a little small however; the dining table had ample room for work. Quality bath/shower products and excellent Nespresso coffee were a nice touch.

I ordered room service, and selected food from the 'Michelin' starred Quilon restaurant – underwhelming and served in ‘desert’ bowls with cling film over the top, a microwave? Though the food was flavoursome with the table being set for dining by the very pleasant room service staff, is was underwhelming, I have tasted better as less exalted restaurants.

I took complementary drinks (soft/water) in the library with a few canapés to break up the evening and enjoyed a few moments of relaxation is a very pleasant environment. No breakfast or evening meal on second day – early to work, eating out.

Room cleanliness and housekeeping were very professional job with room cleanliness and turndown service.

Concierge was help and expedient with requests and taxi’s. Check out relatively simple and painless. Overall, this is a very nice hotel, one which I would possible consider as the larger suites do provide opportunity for more relaxed meetings and discussions in the ‘homely’ environment of the living/lounge spaces.


However, in my opinion, this is a hotel for tourists and those that are looking for the ‘extra’ touch with a ‘vacation/holiday’ stay. For business, it was good, but not outstanding – maybe a more relaxed approach (certainly for this businessman) would take the strain out of a busy day. Would I return, possibly, but only a possible.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C_Stubing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

I stayed here for three nights at the end of January and had such extraordinary service. The staff goes above and beyond what you would normally expect. My 900 square foot suite, provided more than enough room and the location is perfect. Best bath, you could just soak for hours.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexsandra71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

This is an exceptional hotel which provides outstanding service and quality in every department. It thoroughly deserves its high reputation on this website. It would take too long to mention everything that was delightful and superb but from the moment you arrive and they offer you a warm wet towel to freshen up while you check-in it is an experience to treasure. An upgrade was offered to a much larger suite on the seventh floor. There are free drinks and canapes served from 6.30 each evening in the Library, complimentary newspapers and very high quality products in the bathroom. Just to quibble a little - it was surprising that there were no tissues in the room, nor an alarm clock, nor something to play music like an iPod dock or Bose system. Otherwise, every moment spent there made you feel very welcome and special. If you get a chance, don't hesitate - go!
PS, there is no swimming pool, I got carried away with 'Excellent' for everything and couldn't undo it afterwards! There is a gym though, so count it as for that

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paul l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

last few days in january was in london and this was an absolutely great place to stay in. the suites are extremely large and for a big family this is perfect. the taj side of the hotel ( the other side is called crowne plaza - though they share most of the restaurants , gym etc ) is a bit inside - so the only difficulty if any is getting your taxi / car inside. it has a very cosy courtyard and summer months should be perfect. the service is impeccable. Quilon restaurant - have an attachment to it as my father hails from a city by the same name.

overall a really nice place to stay.

Room Tip: guess any room - but the smaller suites are a little congested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naveenPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

We booked a suite for 4 people here at the Taj 51 Buckingham gate for a weekend in London with friends. We were upgraded to a larger suite which truly was home from home. The little touches and extras here make the whole experience very royal which is very apt for its location just a few minutes from Buckingham Palace. We had an excellent lunch in Bistro 51 with an excellent recommended wine to compliment the meal. I have a nut allergy and so informed the waiter as I always have to do but on this occasion the service was again very special as he then informed everyone in the complex and so when we arrived at the Michelin starred Quilon restaurant in the evening they were fully aware and had prepared some dishes accordingly. I have never experienced this attention to detail and understanding of a severe allergy before.
We also enjoyed our complimentary aperitifs and canapes in the library prior to dinner.
The concierge and reception staff could not do enough for us throughout the whole stay I only wish we had been there longer but one thing is for certain we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bullermeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013 via mobile

I have recently returned from London after spending three fabulous days at the Taj. We were upgraded to the Prime Minister's Suite, and it was fantastic and HUGE. The staff were exceptional and were extremely considerable and helpful with my 6 and 8 year old children. Erol in the breakfast room even packed some pastries for my children to take for morning tea. Alex, John and Nelson were so helpful at the Conceirge desk, and booked tour tickets, arranged a babysitter at short notice, provided advice on what to visit and what to give a miss, taking into consideration the ages of my children, I can't thank them enough. All the staff were friendly and polite, and made us feel so welcome. I can highly recommend this property, and will definitely return when I am next in London, which I hope is sooner rather than later.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Horgan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,675 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,860 reviews
Westminster
The Goring
The Goring
#10 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,056 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences

Property: Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Address: 51 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in London
#5 Luxury Hotel in London
#5 Business Hotel in London
#8 Family Hotel in London
#20 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences offers authentic luxury experiences in a bespoke and personalised environment a gemstone's throw from Buckingham Palace. It comprises three Victorian townhouses - Kings, Minsters and Falconers, each distinctly designed and beautifully restored to their iconic heritage. The 85 luxurious suites and residences with butler service offer the space and exclusivity of a private home each with their own separate kitchen and living area. Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reflects the universally acclaimed warmth and personalised service that the Taj is recognised for as one of the finest in the world. Treading the path from tradition to tomorrow, Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences redefines the meaning of luxury, creating a distinctive, customised and exclusive Taj experience. Make the most of complimentary wi-fi, the premier Golden Keys Concierge service, tailored treatments at the Wellness Centre and a host of on-site dining options including Quilon, the signature Michelin star Indian South West coastal cuisine restaurant and Kona, showcasing the colours, flavours and vibrancy of contemporary Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, DerbySoftTaj, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
51 Buckingham Gate, Taj Suites And Residences Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing