We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service, great location and plenty of room to move”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Ranked #4 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Our stay at the Taj Suites was 6 nights at the end of our Europe honeymoon. The three most important things from our perspective were quality of sleep, food and service. Taj scores 10/10 on all three. From the moment we arrived, nothing was too much trouble, the breakfast in the library and the happy hour in the evening that we didn't get to enjoy as often we would have liked were relaxing, great quality and always attentive polite service.

A couple of really minor things can be improved. The lighting in bathroom was poor for makeup/shaving, and the addition of more storage shelves would have made our unpacking/stay easier, and I only offer this as the rooms are quite big and can provide for that without making them feel small.

The Nespresso machine and the washer/dryer were extensively used. The housekeeping was incredibly precise and attention to detail was great. After we got home, we agreed that bringing the bed from the Taj home would have been a good move (That's a first for a hotel).

Location as many others have mentioned was great. Walking distance to many attractions, and Tube, Bus routes within 3 minute walk and major Train station 10 minute walk.

Internet and the computer printer were used a lot.. printing maps etc and was a nice addition we've not seen elsewhere.

The trap we fell into as some others have is that the picture shown by Taj 51 you can't see from the road, so our taxi driver drove past and it took a minute for us to see the Taj flag... easier navigation is to just look for Crowne Plaza and walk down the lane on the RHS to the Taj 51 reception.

The only thing that would prevent us returning here is budget. It's not the cheapest option, but it surely must be one of the very best.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeandSharyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,555)
There are newer reviews for Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,014 - 1,020 of 1,555 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

My family and I stayed there a few weeks ago and it was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. The room service was outstanding. If I ever go back to London I will stay at this hotel. My family really enjoyed our stay at the 51 Buckingham Gate. We felt right at home. One of my favorite things about this hotel is the bathrooms. I spent most of my time on the toilet. It was a quiet place to do my business. The heated seat was a big plus. Not only that but I didn't have to wipe at all because of the high pressured water that squirts up my bum-hole. I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay at a five star hotel and enjoy a nice vacation with the family.

Room Tip: The top floor toilets never have a problem getting backed up.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Thehotelanitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My family and I stayed here for 3 days and two nights. Our room was large and was wonderfully clean. I really liked the design and interior of the bathroom as well. My kids always messed up the room, but just a few minutes after calling housekeeping, they always come quickly to fix everything up, while we go out of the room. Food and staff are wonderful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

I had two nights stay at 51 buckingham gate . I can't wait to go back. Food and service was impeccable . There is absolutely nothing that I can fault .I felt completely at home . It was my best hotel stay ever . Wish I could move in and live there permanently. Looking forward to my visit . I would encourage every one to visit .

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cxxxxxxxxcxh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one week on business. This is more of a suite boutique hotel. The best part of this stay was the availability of the staff and the helpfulness. Location was superb both for business and for sightseeing and shopping. Most anything of interest is 10 pounds by cab or easily by the safe under ground transportation right near St. James Park station. Was extremely close to Buckingham palace and Piccadilly and within walking distance to Oxford and bond streets. Also easily could walk to West Minster Abbey and other notable sites. The bed and sheets were of high quality and the wireless Internet was free and superb. The rooms/suites were not huge. However they were well appointed and all had relatively large and complete kitchens. The place has charm and excellent staff. We would return here again. Was able to book one week for approximately US$3000 on Expedia.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
6  Thank BusinessPr0fessi0nal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Taj Suites in London is a lovely, quirky hotel with great service and an amazing restaurant. The rooms, suites, are always large and well appointed. Last stay, in September 2013, upon checking out we had an issue to watch out for. Twice the system told that my debit card had failed, and eventually I checked out using my credit card. Unfortunately, the debit card had indeed been debited twice. That happens - but it took the hotel some 8 weeks to refund the outstanding amount to my account and that is not acceptable

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nairobijohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

An absolutely amazing expirence...nicest staff (very friendly and helpful but give you your space), very large 2 bedroom falconer flat with a full kitchen and 2 baths made this feel like a home away from home. Very central 2 minutes from buckingham palace. Was worth every penny and would stay here again!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Faithatbw21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,072 in London
2,819 reviews
Westminster
The Goring
The Goring
#8 of 1,072 in London
1,337 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,072 in London
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,072 in London
3,257 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#17 of 1,072 in London
2,550 reviews
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#3 of 1,072 in London
1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences

Address: 51 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in London
#4 Luxury Hotel in London
#5 Business Hotel in London
#8 Family Hotel in London
#20 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £287 - £770 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences offers authentic luxury experiences in a bespoke and personalised environment a gemstone's throw from Buckingham Palace. It comprises three Victorian townhouses - Kings, Minsters and Falconers, each distinctly designed and beautifully restored to their iconic heritage. The 85 luxurious suites and residences with butler service offer the space and exclusivity of a private home each with their own separate kitchen and living area. Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reflects the universally acclaimed warmth and personalised service that the Taj is recognised for as one of the finest in the world. Treading the path from tradition to tomorrow, Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences redefines the meaning of luxury, creating a distinctive, customised and exclusive Taj experience. Make the most of complimentary wi-fi, the premier Golden Keys Concierge service, tailored treatments at the Wellness Centre and a host of on-site dining options including Quilon, the signature Michelin star Indian South West coastal cuisine restaurant and Kona, showcasing the colours, flavours and vibrancy of contemporary Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, TravelUp, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
51 Buckingham Gate, Taj Suites And Residences Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing