We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Ranked #8 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed in the hotel 22 October 2013.

If you are looking to stay in a quality hotel in London for an indulgent, memorable and stylish few days, then you cannot beat 51 Buckingham Gate. I've stayed in many high class hotels over the years, including the Mandarin and Peninsular in Hong Kong, and Claridges in London; although I was delighted with my experiences in those establisments, 51 Biuckingham Gate is now, very much, my favourite.

The service was most attentive without being intrusive; every need was taken care of. the hotel oozes quality and style.

I'll be returning soon!!!

Yvonne

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank velmead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, General Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review 51 Buckingham Gate and sharing your experience with other Tripadvisor readers.

It was such a joy to read we are now very much your favourite hotel and your stay was memorable. We pride ourselves on our world acclaimed 'TAJ' Service.

We hope to have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to 51 Buckingham Gate.

Kind Regards



Araceli Rius-Perez - Hotel Manager
Digvijay Singh - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,048 - 1,054 of 1,599 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

I've done a lot of traveling to London for business and have stayed in some excellent hotels like the Four Seasons and the Charlotte Street hotel, but having just recently stayed at 51 Buckinghamgate Hotel, it's my new favorite hotel. The rooms are called apartments for good reason - they're very spacious and are laid out like an actual apartment with a separate living room, bedroom, bathroom dressing area and a proper size, fully equipped kitchen. The design is both elegant and comfortable, and there are lots of nice touches (fresh flowers, fruit tray, complimentary cocktails in the lounge, free wifi, Molton Brown toiletries). Based on all of that alone, it would have made the top of my list, but what really sets it over the top is the service. Everyone on staff is so professional, efficient and friendly. The lobby staff all knew my name, and if I asked where something was (like the gym), they didn't just tell me or point the direction, but actually walked me over. They really seem to go the extra mile to make your stay comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FtGreen03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

When I have busy itimes ahead or huge stresses at work I take in a 5 star hotel in this fab city. Despite the name and price, not all are 5 star but I was absolutely delighted with this hotel. The service was fantastic, they even found my favourite loose leaf tea for my room. The room was impeccably clean and huge. The bathroom was great, the breakfast very good and the little canapés and drinks a lovely touch. The only fault was the lack of a hair dryer. But I will be back. I loved it!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Our stay at the Taj Suites was 6 nights at the end of our Europe honeymoon. The three most important things from our perspective were quality of sleep, food and service. Taj scores 10/10 on all three. From the moment we arrived, nothing was too much trouble, the breakfast in the library and the happy hour in the evening that we didn't get to enjoy as often we would have liked were relaxing, great quality and always attentive polite service.

A couple of really minor things can be improved. The lighting in bathroom was poor for makeup/shaving, and the addition of more storage shelves would have made our unpacking/stay easier, and I only offer this as the rooms are quite big and can provide for that without making them feel small.

The Nespresso machine and the washer/dryer were extensively used. The housekeeping was incredibly precise and attention to detail was great. After we got home, we agreed that bringing the bed from the Taj home would have been a good move (That's a first for a hotel).

Location as many others have mentioned was great. Walking distance to many attractions, and Tube, Bus routes within 3 minute walk and major Train station 10 minute walk.

Internet and the computer printer were used a lot.. printing maps etc and was a nice addition we've not seen elsewhere.

The trap we fell into as some others have is that the picture shown by Taj 51 you can't see from the road, so our taxi driver drove past and it took a minute for us to see the Taj flag... easier navigation is to just look for Crowne Plaza and walk down the lane on the RHS to the Taj 51 reception.

The only thing that would prevent us returning here is budget. It's not the cheapest option, but it surely must be one of the very best.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeandSharyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My family and I stayed there a few weeks ago and it was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. The room service was outstanding. If I ever go back to London I will stay at this hotel. My family really enjoyed our stay at the 51 Buckingham Gate. We felt right at home. One of my favorite things about this hotel is the bathrooms. I spent most of my time on the toilet. It was a quiet place to do my business. The heated seat was a big plus. Not only that but I didn't have to wipe at all because of the high pressured water that squirts up my bum-hole. I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay at a five star hotel and enjoy a nice vacation with the family.

Room Tip: The top floor toilets never have a problem getting backed up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Thehotelanitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My family and I stayed here for 3 days and two nights. Our room was large and was wonderfully clean. I really liked the design and interior of the bathroom as well. My kids always messed up the room, but just a few minutes after calling housekeeping, they always come quickly to fix everything up, while we go out of the room. Food and staff are wonderful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

I had two nights stay at 51 buckingham gate . I can't wait to go back. Food and service was impeccable . There is absolutely nothing that I can fault .I felt completely at home . It was my best hotel stay ever . Wish I could move in and live there permanently. Looking forward to my visit . I would encourage every one to visit .

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cxxxxxxxxcxh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,077 in London
2,880 reviews
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#19 of 1,077 in London
1,830 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#33 of 1,077 in London
3,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,077 in London
1,495 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,077 in London
3,365 reviews
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences

Address: 51 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in London
#5 Business Hotel in London
#6 Family Hotel in London
#8 Luxury Hotel in London
#20 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £255 - £831 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences offers authentic luxury experiences in a bespoke and personalised environment a gemstone's throw from Buckingham Palace. It comprises three Victorian townhouses - Kings, Minsters and Falconers, each distinctly designed and beautifully restored to their iconic heritage. The 85 luxurious suites and residences with butler service offer the space and exclusivity of a private home each with their own separate kitchen and living area. Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reflects the universally acclaimed warmth and personalised service that the Taj is recognised for as one of the finest in the world. Treading the path from tradition to tomorrow, Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences redefines the meaning of luxury, creating a distinctive, customised and exclusive Taj experience. Make the most of complimentary wi-fi, the premier Golden Keys Concierge service, tailored treatments at the Wellness Centre and a host of on-site dining options including Quilon, the signature Michelin star Indian South West coastal cuisine restaurant and Kona, showcasing the colours, flavours and vibrancy of contemporary Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Agoda, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
51 Buckingham Gate, Taj Suites And Residences Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing