We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Ranked #5 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing service”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

As everyone has said, the service was beyond expectation. It was almost disconcerting, I don't think I've ever had staff appear to really really want to do right by you across the board for six days straight! We arrived early in the morning off an overnight, international flight and they went through much trouble to get us into a room early. The room was an enormous 1 BR suite and they brought in an extra bed for our 9 year old. It was one of the nicest rooms we've had and simply astounding for London. A full kitchen, fabulous Nespresso machine, and a washing machine!! My husband often travels for business in London and we've usually stayed at Le Meridian in Piccadilly. The service there is stand offish, we've had run of the mill issues there and were always greeted with a feeling of general annoyance that they were asked to help you with anything and the rooms don't begin to compare to these. We will certainly continue to stay here!
The older gentleman who runs the breakfast room was outstandingly attentive, kind to children, highly perceptive about the needs of those in the room, keeping younger staff always on task...really impressive. The breakfast is a full menu from which you can order, so it is lovely to have filling, protein rich options in an "inclusive" breakfast for a change. There was also some construction work happening in the lobby area and the workers were the friendliest, most careful and considerate I've ever seen too. They also left notes in everyone's room to please let them know if you ever felt at all inconvenienced by the noise...and with the overall level of service, I believe they sincerely would have helped out!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Aseattletraveler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
It was my pleasure to read your review of your recent stay at 'Taj' Buckingham Gate.

I was delighted to read your comments on all aspects of the hotel and how much your children enjoyed our Belgian Waffles. I will share your comments with my team here and I very much look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit.

Kind Regards


Araceli Rius-Perez - Hotel Manager
Digvijay Singh - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,292
    140
    29
    11
    1
See reviews for
569
468
44
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We greatly enjoyed our stay. We had a 2 bedroom/2 bath falconer suite with all the luxuries of home! The short walk proximity to Buckingham Palace, Westminster Abbey, Churchill War Rooms, etc was fabulous. The beds were luxurious, coffee in room was yummy, TV, VCR and sound system superb, sofa was comfy, washer/dryer a plus, and staff more than helpful!! The garden courtyard is beautiful and all restaurants excellent. After long days of London, Bath and Stonehenge tours, to come "home" and chill out was special! We often cancelled our other dinner reservations and ate at the restaurants at the hotel and even ordered room service which serve a large variety from the hotel restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunny a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback on your recent stay at 'Taj' 51 Buckingham Gate. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and felt it to be 'home from home'. I was also happy to read how much you enjoyed the experience especially the service from our team and our Secret Garden in the Courtyard.

I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back and maybe you can try our 24K afternoon tea in the Courtyard or Library.

Kind Regards

Araceli Rius-Perez - Hotel Manager
Digvijay Singh - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We've just returned from a two-night stay at 51 Buckingham Gate and I was gutted to leave.
Our stay was actually a complimentary competition prize and we were expecting perhaps not the finest service because we weren't paying for it.
We could not have been more wrong though. The staff consistently went out of their way to make sure we were having the best time we could.
Plenty has been said about how lovely the accomodation is - one bedroomed suite with a Nespresso machine, air conditioning, Molten Brown toiletries and excellent entertainment system. There were other little touches too. A newspaper in the morning, happy hour in the library with free drinks and canapes, a DVD library you could borrow from which came with popcorn and soft drinks.
This is an expensive five star hotel but unlike many they didn't try to squeeze every drop of money out of you they could. The staff were so nice yet not overbearing. One night we asked for a DVD which we planned to collect on our way back from a drink in one of the hotel's bars. They came to find us when they discovered they didn't have it - they wanted to make sure we could choose something else.
A wonderful place to stay, I would move in tomorrow!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrybel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
First may I congratulate you on winning the competition. It was a pleasure to read your review and I was delighted to read my team ensured you we having the best time.

We are currently improving our two newly branded London hotels James' Court, A Taj Hotel and Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences. The hotels will now be promoted within the Taj Group's portfolio of luxury hotels, resorts and palaces, and the Taj Group has sole ownership and management, as well as operational and marketing control of both properties.
As I write to you we are renovating a full townhouse 'Kings' Taj 51 Buckingham Gate which should be ready by May 2014. The Library area for breakfast is being extended towards 'Falconers' and soon we will have a quaint large but cozy dining area for your comfort.

I hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind Regards


Araceli Rius-Perez - Hotel Manager
Digvijay Singh - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Once again a fantastic break at 51. Service as always absolute perfection!!! The room was spacious and very comfortable with state of the art entertainment system. Thank you to the whole team at 51 Buckingham Gate, what a team you are!!!! Look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a kind review of your most recent visit to 'Taj' 51 Buckingham Gate. We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your experience of our spacious suites in Minister and the service provided by my team.

I will pass on your comments to my team and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With Kind Regards,

Araceli Rius-Perez - Hotel Manager
Digvijay Singh - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on New Years Eve for one night, our first visit to the hotel.

On arriving we were upgraded to a one bedroom apartment in the Kings building - it was outstanding! We were taken to our room and shown around, it had everything we could wish for with a fully equipped kitchen, sitting room with mini bar, a long list of DVDs you could borrow and music system, a really comfy bed and huge modern bathroom.

We only needed a place to sleep for the night as we were off out celebrating but when we come back for a longer stay we will definitely use the suites again as they were like a home from home.

All the staff were friendly, knowledgeable and extremely attentive, and considering we were there for such a short space of time they greeted us by name and made us feel very special.

The breakfast was superb with plenty of choice and very quick service.

We would recommend this hotel to everyone, we visit London very often and this is one of the best we have stayed in, and is a lot better value for money than an awful lot of overpriced London hotels around.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Doobxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Happy New Year, I hope your celebrations went well.

Thank you for taking the time to review your 1st stay at 'Taj' 51 Buckingham Gate, we are thrilled to read your comments.

We have a variety of different suites from Junior to 3 bedroom suites we also have two signature suites, Cinema suite and Jaguar Suite.

My team are genuinely interested in our guests to ensure their time with us is as comfortable and memorable so I am delighted you felt at home. We constantly strive to exceed or guests expectation and it is extremely satisfying to read their efforts do not go unnoticed.

I am glad you found our breakfast superb with plenty of choice and excellent service, I will pass on your comments to our breakfast team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to 'Taj' 51 Buckingham Gate on your next visit to London.

With Warm Regards,


Araceli Rius-Perez - Hotel Manager
Digvijay Singh - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We travel to London frequently and this is the first time staying at Taj Hotel at 51 Buckingham Gate. The experience is exceptional. The buildings have interesting historical backgrounds and details, making them feel more like residences than a hotel. The staff is exceptional, and this applies to everyone we encountered during the stay: professional, polite, responsive and knowledgeable, from the front desk, bell captains, library staff, concierge, to housekeeping.
We were upgraded to an one bed room suite which is spacious and well laid-out, given the constraints they have in retrofitting historical buildings into a hotel. The rates are really reasonable considering what other similar class hotels charge in London. The neighborhood is not as hustle and bustle compared to Knightsbridge or Hyde Park, but it adds more to the residential feel to the property. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WennSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you very much for your review we are absolutely delighted to read your feedback following your first stay at 'Taj' 51 Buckingham Gate.

We were pleased you enjoyed the historical details from our endless frieze of figures carved from the brick that dance right round the building, reputedly the longest frieze in existence anywhere in the world and our Victorian fountain which takes pride of place in our courtyard was donated by Queen Victoria.

We will pass your comments on to our great team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With Warm Regards


Araceli Rius-Perez - Hotel Manager
Digvijay Singh - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
172 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

How about getting an upgrade to a 2 bedroom suite that would be a very liveable permanent condominium home? That's what happened to us. Wow! Add to that all the everyone else says. We used the conceirges from about a month before we arrived for theater tickets and dinner reservations. One of the best teams of concierges I've ever known (and I was a travel agent) greeted us when we arrived with all our requests in order, and then they wrapped us in cotton for our entire visit, guiding us to anything we wanted. We had a couple of minor room issues which were fixed instantly and with apologies from everyone including the general manager. By the third day almost all members of the staff knew our names. The hysterical bellman Jack accidentally swapped our names one day and in his sudden realization looked like he'd had a heart attack. The hotel is located in a prime location made all the more easy to get anywhere in London by its proximity to a tube station. We would stay here again on any future trip to London.

Room Tip: Request a room far away from the side where the school is located. There is also a service entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rchard PB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback on your recent stay at 'Taj' 51 Buckingham Gate. It is always very pleasing to read such wonderful comments.

It was very encouraging to read our team of Concierge helped to ensure your stay in London was seamless. We pride ourselves with one of the best Clef D'or teams in London.

Please accept my sincere apologies again for a few room snags that came in the way of making a defect free stay for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With Warms Regards,


Araceli Rius-Perez Hotel Manager
Digvijay Singh - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,713 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#3 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Westminster
The Goring
The Goring
#10 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,098 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences

Property: Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Address: 51 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in London
#5 Luxury Hotel in London
#5 Business Hotel in London
#8 Family Hotel in London
#20 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences offers authentic luxury experiences in a bespoke and personalised environment a gemstone's throw from Buckingham Palace. It comprises three Victorian townhouses - Kings, Minsters and Falconers, each distinctly designed and beautifully restored to their iconic heritage. The 85 luxurious suites and residences with butler service offer the space and exclusivity of a private home each with their own separate kitchen and living area. Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reflects the universally acclaimed warmth and personalised service that the Taj is recognised for as one of the finest in the world. Treading the path from tradition to tomorrow, Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences redefines the meaning of luxury, creating a distinctive, customised and exclusive Taj experience. Make the most of complimentary wi-fi, the premier Golden Keys Concierge service, tailored treatments at the Wellness Centre and a host of on-site dining options including Quilon, the signature Michelin star Indian South West coastal cuisine restaurant and Kona, showcasing the colours, flavours and vibrancy of contemporary Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, DerbySoftTaj, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
51 Buckingham Gate, Taj Suites And Residences Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing