We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow.....I've stayed in many hotels all over the world, the service here was the best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Ranked #5 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wow.....I've stayed in many hotels all over the world, the service here was the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Short break in London with family, stayed in a fabulous 2 bedroom suite which was just amazing. The best thing about the hotel was the absolutely perfect service. I have travelled far and wide and never had service like it. Lots of lovely little gestures, which just makes it even more special. Will definitely stay again for next trip.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
It is always pleasing to read positive comments on the service provided by my great team as this is where we believe Taj 51 Buckingham Gates excels and make us stand out from the rest.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Regards

Araceli Rius-Perez - Hotel Manager
Digvijay Singh - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,248
    136
    28
    11
    1
See reviews for
549
451
43
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

The service at this hotel is excellent! Phenomenal staff and concierge. They care to your every need. There a few staff I would recomend at this hotel two are servers at the lounge Szilard and klaudia tey are the most amazing people you will ever meet! They are so interested in getting to know you and are so helpful in giving advice on what to do in London. Also they are my friends now because of this trips experience. Another staff is Andre, he is a butler and is amazing at connecting with guests he gives the warm welcoming feel to the hotel along with another staff member named Benson they make a dynamic duo of guest assistance. I absolutely low this place it makes me feel at home I am for sure going back soon!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonathanTemple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate. I was thrilled my team took care of your every need during your stay with us and delighted to read you will be coming back soon.

I look forward to welcoming back soon

Kind Regards

Araceli Rius-Perez - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Just down the road from Buckingham Palace, this hotel treated us like royalty from the moment we walked in. We were greeted by an extremely pleasant receptionist who told us, "we've been expecting you!" To our surprise, we were able to check into the room in the morning after a red eye flight from Houston, Texas. We had an enormous one-bedroom suite that was very quiet and comfortable. A nice fruit basket and bottles of water were waiting for us in the kitchen. The concierges were very helpful to us, and the staff made sure that we had everything we needed. We enjoyed complimentary snacks and drinks in the Library several evenings. My wife and I were very pleased with our stay at this hotel and will not hesitate to return the next time we're in London.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your amazing review of your recent stay with us at The Taj 51 Buckingham Gate.

I am delighted that my great team looked after all your needs and you enjoyed the amenities in your suite.

I look forward to personally meeting you when you are next visiting London.

Kind Regards

Araceli Rius-Perez - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st paul, mn
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Our family of 5 stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in June, 2013. Our taxi driver had a difficult time finding the property, and eventually dropped us off on the street and said "Walk over there". The lobby is a bit of a walk from the street itself, and we were pleased when we entered our 2 BR unit. The small kitchen is fabulous, and the washer/dryer unit priceless. Beds were comfortable. Probably could have used directions for the washer/dryer as we weren't familiar with how to use it, but that is forgivable. It is a bit of a walk to the theater district and to restaurants, but well placed in general. The hot chocolate carafe on our final day was a nice surprise. Employees work hard to please.

To be brutally honest, would I stay here again? Not for our family. Kind of felt like the only Americans in the place, and it was too far from the life of the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hockeymomStPaul_Mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, although I was disappointed to read that Taj 51 Buckingham Gate seemed not to be the hotel for you and your family I was pleased to read that you did enjoy your 2 bedroom suite with all our facilities

Thank you again for sharing this with us.

Kind Regards


Araceli Rius- Perez - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

I travelled with 2 sons last August and have very special memories of our time at 51 Buckingham Gate. Prior to arriving, the brilliant concierge team began working with me; arranging theatre tickets, restaurant reservations and suggested activities that we would all enjoy. I can't thank them enough for continuing to be so helpful and kind throughout our stay. All the staff at this beautiful and perfectly situated hotel were wonderful. We were upgraded to a gorgeous 2 bedroom suite. My boys didn't want to leave! Beginning each day in The Library for a delicious breakfast was a perfect way to begin the day. The staff would remember what we all liked the next day. We hope to return very soon and make 51 Buckingham Gate our "home" once again. Thank you for an outstanding visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexN2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for your amazing review of your stay with us. I was absolutely delighted to read your comments and will share these with my team.

We pride ourselves on our Taj Hospitality and it is very pleasing when our guests have such great memories of their stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming home again soon.

Kind Regards

Araceli Rius-Perez - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Great place to stay in a great location.
Staff were fantastic and helped us with theatre and restaurant bookings as well as making some excellent recommendations, including Quilon which is just next door..
We were also automatically upgraded which was fab. The rooms are great with a fully equipped kitchen.
Also mini Masala Dosa's on the room service menu!!!
The SPA was superb or so my wife tells me ;-)
Tip: Check laterooms for some bargains on this one...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chetan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
What a lovely review! Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words, which I look forward to sharing with all the team.

I hope to be able to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Araceli Rius-Perez - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Had a two week stay at 51 Buckingham Gate, my second at the property. Everything, and everyone was very, very warm, friendly, welcoming throughout the stay. I stayed in a one bedroom apartment which was really, really large and well fitted out in an old-school way... the only one hitch was that the bathroom was a bit too old-school at times with the plumbing (toilet did not flush properly, and tub did not drain). The television could use an upgrade as well. Apart from that, just cannot fault this place...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quiet_Traveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at the Taj 51 Buckingham Gate, and was disappointed to read that there were some issues with the Bathroom in your suite, I am glad to say these issues have now been rectified.

We are also looking at upgrading the TV’s for our suites.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards


Araceli Rius-Perez - Hotel Manager
Digvijay Singh - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,645 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
The Goring
The Goring
#8 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,017 reviews
Belgravia
COMO The Halkin
COMO The Halkin
#6 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences

Property: Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Address: 51 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in London
#5 Business Hotel in London
#5 Luxury Hotel in London
#8 Family Hotel in London
#20 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences offers authentic luxury experiences in a bespoke and personalised environment a gemstone's throw from Buckingham Palace. It comprises three Victorian townhouses - Kings, Minsters and Falconers, each distinctly designed and beautifully restored to their iconic heritage. The 85 luxurious suites and residences with butler service offer the space and exclusivity of a private home each with their own separate kitchen and living area. Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reflects the universally acclaimed warmth and personalised service that the Taj is recognised for as one of the finest in the world. Treading the path from tradition to tomorrow, Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences redefines the meaning of luxury, creating a distinctive, customised and exclusive Taj experience. Make the most of complimentary wi-fi, the premier Golden Keys Concierge service, tailored treatments at the Wellness Centre and a host of on-site dining options including Quilon, the signature Michelin star Indian South West coastal cuisine restaurant and Kona, showcasing the colours, flavours and vibrancy of contemporary Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
51 Buckingham Gate, Taj Suites And Residences Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing