We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was one of my best holidays ever.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Ranked #4 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It was one of my best holidays ever.”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

I really had a great time with my family. We stayed there 5 nights, we were 2 siblings, both boys one 14 years old and the other one 20 years old, and their parents. Service was great, they were paying attention at all your needs. Every member of the staff had to be recognised. Talking about the location, it was near everywhere! You could go to Buckingham Palace or to the Big Ben in just 5 minutes walking. We really liked it, and we recommend it at all costs.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alvaro H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
I was delighted to read your comments on your recent stay at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate. I was pleased to read my team provided you with our great Taj Service and anticipated your needs.

I hope we get the pleasure of welcoming you all back in the near future.

Regards

Araceli Rius-Perez - Hotel Manager
Digvijay Singh - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,324
    143
    29
    11
    1
See reviews for
587
473
44
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Recently stayed here for three nights together with my husband and kids. I was so impressed by the hotel that I forgot to take proper photoes to share on Tripadvisor. But let me assure you, the pictures on 51 BG's website don't do justice to how nice, spacious and stylish these apartments are. This was my best family stay ever!

We had a two bedroom apartment and the lay out was like this:
Upon entering a long hallway you'll first meet the parents' bedroom. There is a comfy double bed and plenty of storage. From the bedroom you'll enter your own private bathroom where there is a bath tub (with shower), a toilet and a bidet. Plus large fluffy towels, products from Molton Brown and two bathrobes.
Going out the hallway again the next room will be the children's room with two seperate beds. In both the bedrooms there are a tv and plenty of storage.
Going out into the hallway yet again, you'll find the living room at the end of the hallway. Here there is a desk, a lounge area with two sofas, a writing desk and also an esemble of four chairs and a table where you can enjoy the vast amount of dishes they offer through room service.
There is also a kitchen and they do your dishes twice a day. There was nothing that I felt was lacking in the kitchen. They had a Nespresso machine and a tea kettle plus any kind of amenities you could dream of. There is also another bathroom where you'll find a separate shower and wc.

That was the layout, but even more important in this hotel is the superb service we encountered from everyone during our stay. When checking in, the kids received their own "Kids at Taj" package" and were greeted with cookies and milk at turn down.

The breakfast was very nice indeed and they met every request we might have had. If they spotted that my youngest son preffered one special thing in the bread basket, they found some more and put them on his plate.They remembered what kind of food and drinks you preferred, and provided everything I urged for. They are now working to enlarge the rooms where breakfast is served, and that will be a good thing since on two out of three occasions there were not any tables avaiable when we went for breakfast.

There is also a happy hour in The Library every night, but we only tried it on one occasion. We brought the kids and their toys wirh us to the Library and were only met with kind comments and smiles when we ordered sparkling wine and cold milk. Very family friendly indeed.

We will be back on later stays in London as this proved to be very family friendly and we are thankful for the grat service we were met with during our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for a very touching and much appreciated review of your experience at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate. I was delighted to read you enjoyed the facilities in your suite and the children enjoyed our Kids@Taj.

I will pass on your comments to my team.

We hope to see you all again soon.

Regards

Araceli Rius-Perez - Hotel Manager
Digvijay Singh - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

For a quiet high quality retreat near the palace, thus Piccadilly and the theatres, this was a good call. Not cheap but suite and extras good value. Service second to none. Small problem with lift maintenance and bedroom decor needs to be more soulful otherwise first class. Will definitely repeat.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Tripdadvisor. First please allow me to apologise for the issues we had with the lift during your stay, I am please to tell you these issues have now been rectified, I am sorry for any inconvenience this may of caused.

I was delighted tor ead that you enjoyed your suite and the service my team provided you.

I look forwrd to meeing you on your next visit.

Kind Regards


Araceli Rius-Perez - Hotel Manager
Digvijay Singh - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I booked this trip as a Christmas present for My Sister, Mother and Nan. Everyone was completely catered for. The service from the second we arrived at the hotel was the best ive ever experienced. The room was beautiful, and nothing was too much trouble, my only regret was not staying longer! Ive stayed at multiple hotels in London, and this was by far the best. I would recommend it to anyone. Thanks to all the staff for making it extra special - we will certainly be back!

Room Tip: thw two bed two bath suite was perfect for families!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenWright0201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate. It is so pleasing to receive such wonderful comments, I will pass these on to my team.

We look forward to welcoming you back and maybe you can stay a bit longer.

Kind Regards


Araceli Rius-Perez - Hotel Manager
Digvijay Singh - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Short break in London with family, stayed in a fabulous 2 bedroom suite which was just amazing. The best thing about the hotel was the absolutely perfect service. I have travelled far and wide and never had service like it. Lots of lovely little gestures, which just makes it even more special. Will definitely stay again for next trip.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
It is always pleasing to read positive comments on the service provided by my great team as this is where we believe Taj 51 Buckingham Gates excels and make us stand out from the rest.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Regards

Araceli Rius-Perez - Hotel Manager
Digvijay Singh - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The service at this hotel is excellent! Phenomenal staff and concierge. They care to your every need. There a few staff I would recomend at this hotel two are servers at the lounge Szilard and klaudia tey are the most amazing people you will ever meet! They are so interested in getting to know you and are so helpful in giving advice on what to do in London. Also they are my friends now because of this trips experience. Another staff is Andre, he is a butler and is amazing at connecting with guests he gives the warm welcoming feel to the hotel along with another staff member named Benson they make a dynamic duo of guest assistance. I absolutely low this place it makes me feel at home I am for sure going back soon!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonathanTemple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate. I was thrilled my team took care of your every need during your stay with us and delighted to read you will be coming back soon.

I look forward to welcoming back soon

Kind Regards

Araceli Rius-Perez - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Just down the road from Buckingham Palace, this hotel treated us like royalty from the moment we walked in. We were greeted by an extremely pleasant receptionist who told us, "we've been expecting you!" To our surprise, we were able to check into the room in the morning after a red eye flight from Houston, Texas. We had an enormous one-bedroom suite that was very quiet and comfortable. A nice fruit basket and bottles of water were waiting for us in the kitchen. The concierges were very helpful to us, and the staff made sure that we had everything we needed. We enjoyed complimentary snacks and drinks in the Library several evenings. My wife and I were very pleased with our stay at this hotel and will not hesitate to return the next time we're in London.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your amazing review of your recent stay with us at The Taj 51 Buckingham Gate.

I am delighted that my great team looked after all your needs and you enjoyed the amenities in your suite.

I look forward to personally meeting you when you are next visiting London.

Kind Regards

Araceli Rius-Perez - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,068 in London
2,758 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,068 in London
1,390 reviews
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,068 in London
1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Goring
The Goring
#6 of 1,068 in London
1,300 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,068 in London
3,177 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,068 in London
3,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences

Property: Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Address: 51 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in London
#4 Luxury Hotel in London
#5 Business Hotel in London
#8 Family Hotel in London
#20 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences offers authentic luxury experiences in a bespoke and personalised environment a gemstone's throw from Buckingham Palace. It comprises three Victorian townhouses - Kings, Minsters and Falconers, each distinctly designed and beautifully restored to their iconic heritage. The 85 luxurious suites and residences with butler service offer the space and exclusivity of a private home each with their own separate kitchen and living area. Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reflects the universally acclaimed warmth and personalised service that the Taj is recognised for as one of the finest in the world. Treading the path from tradition to tomorrow, Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences redefines the meaning of luxury, creating a distinctive, customised and exclusive Taj experience. Make the most of complimentary wi-fi, the premier Golden Keys Concierge service, tailored treatments at the Wellness Centre and a host of on-site dining options including Quilon, the signature Michelin star Indian South West coastal cuisine restaurant and Kona, showcasing the colours, flavours and vibrancy of contemporary Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Prestigia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
51 Buckingham Gate, Taj Suites And Residences Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing