We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Ranked #5 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

The St. James' Court hotel is one of the few establishments in the western world where you find absolutely brilliant and courteous service.. Its my new favourite hotel in London!!

The food at the Quilon has always been true to the taste of Southern India and the live band at the lobby is very good.

Unless you seek the mindless modernity of steel and glass everywhere this is where you must stay. Thank you Taj for bringing the best face of Indian hospitality to London. Wah! Taj!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manu Kumaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed your suite and dining in our Michelin Star Restaurant Quilon.

I look forward to sharing your complimentart review with my team and hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards

Araceli Rius-Perez - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,273
    139
    29
    11
    1
See reviews for
564
459
43
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castlebar, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Fantastic rooms, service, location, and so on. We enjoyed our stay. The courtyard is very peaceful and we went to Quilons restaurant which is part of the same group and is Indian with a Michelin Star. We had the taster menu which was fabulous. The rooms were very well appointed with a kitchen, lounge, bedroom and enormous bathroom. Highly recommended. We'll be back...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicole w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
I was delighted to read your review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate. It was also very pleasing to read that we are now your new favourite hotel in London.

I will pass your comments on to my team and who hope to see in back again soon.

Best Regards

Araceli Rius Perez- Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in mid April 2014. We had relied upon the reviews on Trip Adviser and location to select the hotel - and were very pleased we did. It was ideal for us with our two teenage sons. The staff were friendly and helpful. The apartment suite was superb - lovely beds and bathrooms and generous sized living room and well equipped kitchen. The breakfasts were wonderful (the lack of an available table on two mornings, meaning a wait for breakfast, the only issue but this will be resolved when the new dining area is completed). The details completed a high quality accomodation and experience: small things like the quality of the bathroom products, the providing of washing powder for the washing machine and nespresso for the coffee machine, and like providing popcorn for the boys when we ordered a DVD to watch in our room one night. We would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Browns30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. I am so pleased you enjoyed the facilities of your suite as well as our central location. I am sorry you had to wait for breakfast on two mornings but as you mentioned we are indeed currently extending Taj 51 Buckingham Gate and adding a new 70 seater reataurant which is due for completion in mid June.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards


Araceli Rius-Perez - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed there for 6 nights from April 23nd to 29th. I picked this hotel based on the reviews and also the location. They lived up to the standards of a world class hotel (Taj group). They did not give any room for any sort of complaints. I don't want to name one particular individual because the entire staff of the hotel treated us like royalty. Location is so close to the popular attractions (you can walk) and one other plus is they have a fully equipped kitchen with all the utensils. The grocery store (mark & spencer’s) is very close to the hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SM2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your most recent stay at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate. I was delighted to read my staff treated you like royalty and that you would highly recommend our hotel.

I hope I have the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards


Araceli Rius-Perez - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we found our experience at 51 Buckingham Gate to be one of the best hotel experiences that we have ever had. We were immediately upgraded to a wonderful suite that surpassed our already-high expectations and the room provided much needed respite from our busy days. Every single employee went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and memorable for my children (on their first visit to London) with service to match the world's best hotels. We will absolutely be returning to London and would not even consider another hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djmv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
I am deilghted you enjoyed staying with us and how much you enjoyed the central London location of Taj 51 Buckingham ate as well as our team and service.

I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you bak to Taj London

Best Regards

Araceli Rius-Perez - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

LOCATION
Close to Buckingham Palace (4 minute walk) and Victoria Station (5 minute walk). We even had a nice walk to Harrods, Houses of Parliament etc., so location is excellent.
We arrived to Victoria Station, took a cab to the hotel. but easy walking if preferred. (Note! The bus terminal at Victoria is quite farther distance than the train terminal)

ARRIVING
Buckingham Gate 51 is located in a courtyard behind The St. James Court Hotel (also a Taj Hotel). so you leave you Taxi outside that hotel and walk into the Courtyard.
You will immediately (if having suitcases, that is..) be met by a small army of 2-3 people welcoming you, taking care of your suitcases, showing you inside the very small reception
and let you have a seat at a desk were you sign in. If room is ready, your butler will take you to your suite, if not ready you are asked if you will have refreshments in the (small) library.
Our room was not ready, but suddenly it was ready.., so we got directly to the room by the (smallish) elevator. (Takes 4-5 people).

ROOMS
Really, really nice! Look at my pictures below. (Finally thought of taking some shots before messing it all up.. Master bedroom with nice on suite bath, nice 2nd bedroom
for the kids with the extra bath down the corridor, (both bedrooms with TV), really nice living room with sofa lounge, dining table, TV etc.
Also a kitchen with Nesresso coffee maker (complimentary coffee) washing machine, fridge etc. We didn’t use the kitchen much, except of making coffee, but the living room was nice for watching some movies and having breakfast in the room.
But I would expect down pillows in this kind of property!

SERVICE
Perfect in every sense. You are warmly welcomed every time they spot you downstairs (quite small hotel, 70 suites). Your are also followed to your breakfast table in the Library,
or followed over to the breakfast room in St. James Court if the library is fully seated.
A really nice touch is that you get free refreshments (any drink you prefer) and canapés/tapas in the Library every evening between 6.30 and 8.30.

FOOD
English breakfast in the Library was excellent. They also make your omelet to order. One day the Library was full, so we was followed to St. James Courts breakfast room.
Quite nice, but only had scrambled eggs. More a 4 star+. The canapés in the Library was nice at evenings before going out.
Had breakfast in the Suite last day, excellent food and they set the table perfectly.

SUMMARY
If you want to be felt special, this is a perfect stay. Perfect size, perfect location, perfect service, perfect suites. Looking forward to next visit!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gunnargutten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are all delighted you enjoyed the Taj Experience at 51 Buckingham Gate, from your arrival, it is our way of welcoming you to your home away from home.

In regards to your reference regarding our pillows, we do have a choice of pillows which you can choose, there is a pillow menu in the suite. I am sorry this was not mentioned to you when your butler took you to your suite.

We are in th process of creating a new 70 seater restaurant for the comfort of our guests. I was delighted to read that you experienced our complimentary drinks and canapes which are served daily in the Library.

I have shared your comments with my team.

Regards


Araceli Rius-Perez.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We just got back from a 6 nights at the Taj, which contributed tremendously to our visit on London
In a nut shell this is the place to stay; I am well-traveled and have never experienced such a level of service and care.
The location is fantastic, bike rental in front of the hotel, 2 tube stations 300 meters from the hotel
Hotel is clean, suits are generous and offer a living room, a kitchen (with washer/dryer –( comes handy with the kids), a nespressoo machine, a fridge), a great shower.
There is free wi-fi and the hotel gas a great new gym that caters to all your needs
Breakfast was exceptionally good, upon sited you receive a large baskets of rolls, croissants and Danishes, buffet, and hot entrees cooked to order
But above all the service – amazing service, willing to help at any point, address any issue and make your stay as enjoyable as can be.
Please note that the some parts of the hotel are being renovated, that cause no discomfort because the hotel has couple of wings, I understand that it should be finished by mid-June but do ask for a renovated room – beautiful!
We would defiantly return !

Room Tip: one of teh recently renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ositi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review, I am delighted you not only enjoyed the service provided by my team but with your suite as well. As you mentioned we are very well appointed and with Buckingham Palace just a 4 minute walk away and Big Ben, the London Eye also a short walk from the hotel.

We are currently in the final stage of the refurbishment of 36 suites in Kings Wing also also we have completed the refurbishment of the courtyard, which is our secret garden and our living wall.

I will share your wonderful comments with my team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj 51 Buckingham Gate.

Best Regards

Araceli Rius-Perez - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,676 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,860 reviews
Westminster
The Goring
The Goring
#10 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,056 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences

Property: Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Address: 51 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in London
#5 Luxury Hotel in London
#5 Business Hotel in London
#8 Family Hotel in London
#20 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences offers authentic luxury experiences in a bespoke and personalised environment a gemstone's throw from Buckingham Palace. It comprises three Victorian townhouses - Kings, Minsters and Falconers, each distinctly designed and beautifully restored to their iconic heritage. The 85 luxurious suites and residences with butler service offer the space and exclusivity of a private home each with their own separate kitchen and living area. Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reflects the universally acclaimed warmth and personalised service that the Taj is recognised for as one of the finest in the world. Treading the path from tradition to tomorrow, Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences redefines the meaning of luxury, creating a distinctive, customised and exclusive Taj experience. Make the most of complimentary wi-fi, the premier Golden Keys Concierge service, tailored treatments at the Wellness Centre and a host of on-site dining options including Quilon, the signature Michelin star Indian South West coastal cuisine restaurant and Kona, showcasing the colours, flavours and vibrancy of contemporary Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
51 Buckingham Gate, Taj Suites And Residences Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing