We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,782)
Filter reviews
1,782 results
Traveller rating
1,553
170
40
16
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,553
170
40
16
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bedroom suite full kitchen washer dryer quilon restaurant st james court james park home away from home concierge team each evening room service turn down service nespresso machine special thanks wonderful hotel wonderful stay afternoon tea victoria station
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 1,782 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

We just spent 3 nights at the Taj 51 Buckingham Gate, and I can honestly say that it was the best hotel experience that we have ever had (and we have had many five star hotel experiences!). This was our first trip to Europe with our three young children, and we arrived very early in the morning after a long flight from California. Even though we arrived 6 hours before our check in time, and the hotel was at full capacity, the hotel offered us an upgrade to a different suite than the one we had booked so that we could get into the room as early as possible. During the short wait for the room (less than 30 minutes) they brought us all tea, as well as gift bags for our children, and let the kids choose other gifts from a treasure chest filled with toys! What a great start to our trip!

The suite itself was remarkable! We were upgraded to the “cinema suite” which was so special that I can’t even put it into words. But suffice it to say that it was huge and beautiful, and incredibly unique. We never wanted to leave.

The service went above and beyond from every single person we encountered. For example, we returned home the first night to find a plate of cookies for each kid with their names written on the cookies in icing. They even remembered that I had said earlier that 2 of my kids were gluten free, so they made sure the cookies were gluten free without me even asking! Just amazing!

The central location was also perfect for our short visit to London.

The Taj helped make my kids’ first trip
to Europe an incredibly memorable one. We feel so fortunate that we found this very special hotel, and hope that we are lucky enough to return in the future.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank cobycav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you ever so much for your wonderful review and recommendations.

We are all delighted to know that your first family trip to London was an incredible memory for you and your children and that all the little surprises for the children were so well received !

The Cinema Suite is indeed and extraordinary suite and certainly unique as every bit of furniture, books, colours and fabrics were lovingly curated by our designer as an incredibly original suite.

Your lovely words towards the hotel team are truly appreciated and we sincerely hope this will be the first of many more trips to Europe and to the amazing city of London.

Looking forward to your return

Araceli Rius Perez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

This property is probably one of the most service oriented hotels I have stayed in a very long time. It is an Indian run hotel and the service is outstanding! They greeted my daughter upon our international arrival with a Happy Birthday and a huge suite upgrade which included balloons, a custom cake and even custom cookies for both my son and daughter. They arranged for movie and popcorn in our suite one afternoon and totally spoiled both the adults and the kids. The hotel is beautiful and is tucked into a lovey spot on Buckingham Gate road. There is no big open lobby or stuffy feeling, there is a lovely courtyard outside that is quiet and where one can have a drink or tea. I will only stay here when in London! The location is easy and perfect for anyone visiting!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stkincheloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you and thank you once again for your wonderful review.

I am ever so pleased to know that your daughter loved her birthday surprise and the amenities prepared for both your children and that not only the children but also you felt cared for and even a bit spoiled by the attentions from the team.

The Courtyard is indeed a magic place and in the long summer days there is no better place in London to enjoy a relaxing drink or even some lovely food and enjoy the peace and quiet even in the centre of the city.

We very much look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon again and to continue to exceed your expectations.

Warmest regards

Araceli Rius Perez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

One of the best places I have stayed. Stayed at the three bedroom apartment and I must stay it is simply superb. Right next to Buckingham Palace and quite nice to walk around. Good restaurants near by. Didn’t try the food at the hotel, but cooked quite a few times at the apartment

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Masked-Caper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

Booked to stay for one night on our silver wedding anniversary. We arrived to be greeted by lovely staff who advised we had been upgraded to a suite in their sister hotel across the courtyard. We were taken there to be welcomed with a glass of champagne before being shown to the suite which was just fabulous, up on the highest floor (something we had asked for) and equipped with just everything you could wish for or need. Fresh fruit had been left, a well stocked mini bar and a good coffee machine all added to a very lovely stay. We were further greeted to an anniversary chocolate treat when we returned later that night. The bed was lovely and comfortable and breakfast the next morning was superb. Our stay really was fabulous and the staff are just lovely and very attentive. Thank you so much and we really hope to stay again another time. Oh the location is great too!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sunnyseaside201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you ever so much for your fabulous review and for your very kind words towards the team.

We are thrilled to know that you had a wonderful Silver Wedding anniversary with us and that you very much enjoyed your upgrade to your suite and the little amenities we offered to make your stay memorable.

I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Taj 51 Buckingham Gate in the near future to continue to celebrate with us or just to escape to London for a lovely day out.

Warm regards and best wishes

Araceli Rius Perez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

We rented a suite of 3 rooms for our group of 6 travelers. The suite was well appointed, modern, and nicely designed.

The staff was excellent. We enjoyed their service and their friendly nature. They arranged several outings for us and gave perfect advice on how to tackle experiencing London.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brottfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you ever so much for your lovely review and for the wonderful words toward the members of the team who looked after you.

I am delighted to know that you and your family very much enjoyed your Three Bedroom Suite and that you find it to your liking.

I also thank you for your recommendations and we very much look forward to your return.

Warmest regards

Araceli Rius Perez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews