We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“small”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Gielgud Theatre

Gielgud Theatre
Ranked #191 of 1,589 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
london
Level Contributor
93 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“small”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Small, old, smelly, needs refurbishing...but it has been a while since I've been there so maybe I'm outta date?

Helpful?
Thank cjsweetcandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    102
    19
    8
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ladykillers”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Beautiful old theatre, very intimate. Wonderful production.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank linda_wheeler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north east scotland
Level Contributor
643 reviews
240 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 450 helpful votes
“Great entertainment ensuring a good night out”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

The Gielgud Theatre is one of the gems of London's West End.

We sat in the stalls - fantastic show with a stellar cast - particularly Peter Capaldi and Marcia WArren although the rest of the cast deserve a mention - James Fleet , Ben Miller , Clive Rowe and Stephen Wight all made me laugh.

The stage set is amazing with some really original effects and ideas making you wonder how it all works.

The bar is worth a visit - order your interval drink and collect it on a numbered shelf - only in England

The Gielguld is owned by the Delfont Mackintosh Theatre group and they are looking after it - if you are looking for a grown up night out , without a musical beat try the Ladykillers I was not disappointed

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank yandinazetland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Fabulous! A real must see”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We went to see this play as it was recommended to us. It was a great play, the set is simply fabulous, the actors are quite amazing and keep you wanting more and totally engaged. The first half does drag a little bit this is totally made up for in the second half which is a fast paced laugh a minute.
I was taken ill during the first half of the play, but it was so good I managed to get through the rest!
In addition the staff at this theatre are really helpful, kind and efficient!
A great night out

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charlieandaustinsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West Uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Ladykillers”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

what a great show! the cast were superb, and the set very inventive. We enjoyed it very much

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank morgainekipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gielgud Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Gielgud Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing