We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Run to the Milestone Hotel Afternoon Tea” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Afternoon Tea at The Milestone Hotel

Afternoon Tea at The Milestone Hotel
Ranked #2,738 of 22,225 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: South Kensington
Description: Afternoon Tea is a quintessentially English tradition and is upheld in its finest form here at The Milestone. It is a treat in more ways than one - a delicious array of delicate finger sandwiches is accompanied by warm freshly baked scones served with Devonshire clotted cream and home-made preserves, as well as a selection of pastries including éclairs, tartlets, cupcakes and macaroons. Accompanied by a vast tea menu or perhaps a glass of champagne, enjoy tea at your leisure in fine surroundings and experience the superior service for which The Milestone is renowned. Top tip: Make sure you let us know which treat you liked best and we'll be happy to bring you another, as well as free flowing top-ups of your selected tea or coffee.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Run to the Milestone Hotel Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

I recently went to their Afternoon Tea and truly found the food to be fabulous. The red velvet cupcakes were insanely moist. I haven’t seen a better offering of tea sandwiches from a luxury hotel prior to this. I would suggest having the tea in their tea room and not reserving a private room for large groups. For a detailed review and loads of pictures, see my blog Sunny in London.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    23
    7
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pitea, Sweden
Level Contributor
126 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Such a treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had afternoon tea here as a part of our honeymoon and we loved it! The scones was lovely and the cakes were even better! The service was friendly and they treated us with extra champagne because it was our honeymoon! We would absolutely come back! Thank you!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice afternoon tea, but room for improvement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I went here with my husband and friend for an afternoon tea. The service was efficient and friendly, but could be a little more refined. They were diligent in taking note of my nut allergy in advance, which I appreciated, and gave me a good range of alternatives. However, for the price, which parallels that of some of the five star great London hotels, the quality of the food could be improved. It lacked that element of innovation or surprise, especially in the pastries. The ambiance was very cosy and traditional, which I liked. However, when we arrived we were dismayed to hear the radio playing in the background soft rock music. No one wants to enjoy afternoon tea listening to REM. We asked them to change the music to classical, and they kindly obliged, but these are the small details they should be thinking of in advance.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MPKParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went to treat our friends for afternoon tea who are visiting London for the first time. The hotel is a 5* boutique hotel which had uniformed door attendants. We were sat on a nice spot, service was polite and we were explained what we were having for afternoon tea. They let us take our time and didn't rush us and when we couldn't finish the food, we were given a posh takeaway boxes. It's quite pricey at nearly £40 per head. The bathroom at the basement is well maintained and the general atmosphere was lovely. So where does it fall short of a perfect score? It's nit picking really... Table was too low and crowded, scones were crumbly, hot water refills were not monitored, bread not so fresh... But it was a lovely experience really. I don't want to sound ungrateful.

Helpful?
Thank Melbrogy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
107 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea not up to standard.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Having stayed, dined and had tea at the hotel, the afternoon tea is very poor. Sandwiches were rather leaden, cream very poor and a very strange red conserve instead of the normal jam. The cakes were indescribably awful and most were left. The staff are so nice and alays kind but I feel they were let down by the food. The chairs and sofas are in a very sad and uncomfortable state and this once superb hotel is a shadow of what it used to be.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Afternoon Tea at The Milestone Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Afternoon Tea at The Milestone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing