We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok for a quick pint” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duke of York

Duke of York
Ranked #5,240 of 22,202 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$5 - US$21
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Mayfair
Description: We serve a great selection of traditional British food! From our divine Fish and Chips to our succulent award winning Pies. if it is British food done at it's best you are after then we are the place for you. Don't take our word for it come and see for yourself
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Ok for a quick pint”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Average pub, where you can be serve quickly. Th only down side will be the crowd around the some of the staff. You do't fell very welcome there

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pierre l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    19
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
1 review
“Horrible place one of the worst pubs i ever been”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Probably one of the worst pubs i ever been... overpriced food,drinks dirty and have issues with pests seen few mouses running while was eating on top of that incredibly rude bar staff and manageress i had such bad experience completely ruined my day out

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrsbradsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
146 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Up and down the Duke”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We were actually in London for a night out at the Dover Street Jazz Restaurant but had arrived early at our hotel for the night. So, with Christmas just around the corner, a spot of retail therapy on and around Oxford Street sound as good a way to pass the time as any.

But first, something to eat. I must admit I do like pub lunches and so it only remained to find a suitable pub. Purely by chance we came across the Duke of York, just off Oxford Street and it's outside appearance tempted us to see what they had to offer inside.

This is a typical old London pub, which has seen substantial modifications in order to boost its capacity. A large iron spiral staircase rises from the basement, through the ground floor, to the first floor. Customer can find seating on all floors although most seemed to occupy the ground and first floors. We found ourselves a very cosy alcove in the far corner.

Drinks, as you would expect of a central London pub, were expensive: I had a couple of pints of Wandle Ale, from Sambrook's Brewery of Battersea. Very tasty they were but, at £4 a pint, two was going to be my limit, even though I wasn't driving. My wife had a large glass of a Pinot Grigio, which cost nearly £6, making my beer seem almost reasonable!

However, the food was better value; we ordered a Sharing Platter of meats and accompaniments, at £13. The quantity was generous, certainly more than enough for a lunch, and very tasty.

The atmosphere was pleasant. The toilets are downstairs and were clean and well maintained. All told, we enjoyed our visit, despite the eye-watering drinks prices. We would probably even go back again if we found ourselves in the area again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank grahamft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, Hertfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wow! Great food and service for a bargin price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Just off of oxford street is this amazing pub. Staff extmely friendly and attentive even when busy. Food is extremely reasonable averaging about £10 for a main and a choice of normal chips or thier amazingly tasty sweet potato chips. Also the food all seemed to be homemade with gluten free options on the menue. Will be returning next time I am in london. You will not be dissapointed!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShellyPolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Duke of York also viewed

 

Been to Duke of York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing