We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location & Very Clean!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
202 Modern Service Apartments
Ranked #267 of 923 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 29 June 2009

We stayed in a 'small one bedroom' apartment for 10 nights, with my Husband & 22 yr old son.The apartment was small by Australian standards, but for London I think it was average to above average. The apartment was cleaned Mon - Fri, very well too! No bedbugs, no mould. Had a little problem with the shower leaking out onto the floor, but just mopped it up with the bathmat. Plenty of hot water!

The location was excellent! 100m to Notting Hill tube station. A short stroll to Kensington Gardens. Lot's of reasonable restaurants & pubs in the area. There is also a Tesco's & Marks & Spencer supermarket close by, a little 24hr convenience store across the road. For the price, I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The owner is on site, Mon to Fri & was very kind & helpful. The post office is 2 doors up, the laundry for washing your clothes is a bit of a hike, but still walking distance. (About 10mins walk)

The internet has to be signed up & paid for, but it's quite reasonable.

We really enjoyed our stay & would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CathyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2009

we booked the one bedroom apartment for a couple and 2 kids. worked out fine. the location is the real bonus for this premises - close to the tube and supermarket, and a great pub. clean, well provided. a bit old, but neverthe less i would recommend this place

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank narelleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2009

Friendly and helpful management but only on site during the day. Great location close to underground station and major bus routes, but apartments are rather run-down and in need of new furniture and major renewal of bathroom and kitchen appliances. Given the trendy location could aspire to "shabby chic" status, but the emphasis would have to be on the shabby which makes the prices seem a bit out of line -- especially in these recessionary times. Quirky internet access through a local church which runs an expensive neighbourhood wi-fi service.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Senilius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2009

202 is so well situated ,very close to the tube, walking distace to portabello market, hyde park and kensington. the flat was warm, clean and well appointed,with a new digital tv and cd/dvd facilities. the kitchen had every thing i needed in it and the bathroom was quite large. it was surprizingly quiet for such a central location, i slept very well. the manager Susie branson was very helpful. i will definately stay there again...great value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommyWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2009

We went in end February with my wife and my 11 years old son. It was our first time in London. I try to found an apartment not to expensive and as central as possible. I made the right choice. This apartment was perfect, very clean and near of everything; transports, supermarkets, restaurants. You can walk by night with no problem. We love London and where we staid. Great expereience.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SAGA2744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2009

My wife and I stayed here for 14 nights in September 2008. We had quiet rooms on the third floor, back side of the building (a good choice, as there is a plenty of traffic in the area through the evening hours).

If you come to London via LHR, the Heathrow Express train to Paddington will put you just a short taxi ride from 202.

The location is excellent, with bus and Tube close by. We went to many different London locations (antiques centres and markets) by Tube, and it was always easy to find our way back "home." The rooms were clean and well-kept, and the daily (M-F) maid service was fine. The kitchen was more than adequate (we made our own breakfast and late dinner almost every day), and the nearby Tesco was a good place for grocery shopping, esp. before about 3:30 pm when it gets very busy for about 2 hours.

All in all, a very good experience.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JamesOhio_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2009

An ideal location for exploring London. Chalfont Appartments offers extraordinary value with light and spacious rooms, well equipped kitchenettes, bathrooms and sitting rooms.
All immaculately kept and managed by Susan Fraser. We have been coming here since 1989 and have seen considerable improvements in comfort and decor.
These apparments are within ten minutes' walk from South Kensington and Hyde Park. On all major bus routes and two minutes' walk from Nottinghill underground for Central, Circle and District Lines. Bus 394 on Bayswater Rd. takes you in 15 minutes straight to St. Pancras Station (Eurostar).
Banks, Post Office, Pubs and Restaurants are all within walking distance. Without hesitation we highly recommend these appartments.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EpicuristDordogne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#47 of 923 in London
588 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 202 Modern Service Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 202 Modern Service Apartments

Address: 202 Kensington Church Street, London W8 4DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #267 of 923 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: £60 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A block of serviced apartments in a wonderful Central London location. Trendy Notting Hill - 100 yards from the tube station and about 300 yards from Kensington Gardens and Portobello Road. Great for families, singles and couples. Shopping, history and the park right on your doorstep with great restaurants and bars too. Very easy to travel around to all parts of London. Good value for money and comfortable homely feeling. All apartments have a balcony! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
202 Modern Service Apartments Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing