We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay in a great location!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
202 Modern Service Apartments
Ranked #279 of 838 Speciality Lodging in London
singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A great stay in a great location!”
Reviewed 17 June 2010

To be begin with, the corridors are rather dim and the place looks old, but get past these and you will discover a wonderful place to stay! It is a rather spacious apartment we stayed in and with a new big TV where we watched the World Cup! Everything is very clean, from the beds and linens to kitchen and rooms. We made good use of the kitchen, from cooking breakfast to dinner! All appliances functioning well! We got our grocery from the nearby Tesco's and Marks and Spencer's. And yes, so many shops/cafes within walking distance. This is really a great location! The tube is nearby and so are bus-stops to many places! We took the bus to bond street for shopping, actually more convenient than the tube! Also very convenient to take the bus to Paddington Station to take the Heathrow Express to the airport! Free one hour WIFI access! If not, go to Macdonald's for free WIFI! Hyde Park is 5 minutes walking distance. Portobello Market is 10 minutes walking distance. WE would go back to stay if we visit London again!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corntravel16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    29
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
26
18
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2010

the reviews are basically all in agreement: shabby place in a great llocation. if you can get past the shabby, its great.

the shabby is basically that its old. the batghroom is straight out of the fifties (pastel pink) with tons of dried caulk applied over the years to stop leaks. (our bathroom was marginally not as nice as the web site pic). the kitchen was 50's yellow, tiny and exactly as pictured on the web. the living room and bedroom walls had minor stains, minor torn wallpaper, scartched doors, etc. the flat had some issues, but was significantly more space than we could find elsewhere for the price.

the location was as good as it gets. its in a real neighborhood (think upper west side of manhattan or soma in san francisco) that was humming with activity, a bookstore, restaurants, and all sorerts of other real-ife retail. its 50 yards from 3 of the most useful tube lines (which lines matters becasue transferring can be a royal pain), but more importantly, on several major bus routes (we found using the buses to be more fun thabn the tube)

i'd stay there again

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2009

I have stayed at 202 Apartments many times over the last 13 years, so it has come to feel like a home away from home. There are many reasons that I am a repeat guest and these include the warm personality of Susan Fraser, who manages the apartments, the fabulous location, the convenience of having so many shopping, transport and dining options so close-by and the comfort of the flats.

202 Apartments are located right along the bus routes, so you can easily hope into buses going to High Street Kensington (in one direction) and Bayswater (in the other). It is also close to many other bus routes, so central London is just a few stops away. Notting Hill tube station is about 5 minutes walk away.

There are a variety of flats available from studios to 1/2 bedroom suites, and so there is something to suit most types of travellers from solo guests to groups of friends or families. Each contains a well-kept bathroom and kitchenette. The rooms are cleaned daily, unlike some other apartment services. There is still a homey quality about the flats, so you might be tempted to feel like you really are home.

Susan and her staff are very friendly and attentive to the needs of their guests. I have received several tips on things to do and places to visit over the last few years.

Overall, I think 202 is a great choice for travelers, especially those visiting London for the first time. There is so much to do in the immediate vicinity. The only drawback of this perhaps is that if you have a flat facing Kensington Church Street, you will have to contend with the sounds from the street of cars and buses going by, people chattering and having fun. However, this also serves to remind you that you are in a 24-hour city. If this will be a problem, I recommend asking for a flat that faces the back (Rabbit Row).

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsOreoluwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2009

We stayed in a 'small one bedroom' apartment for 10 nights, with my Husband & 22 yr old son.The apartment was small by Australian standards, but for London I think it was average to above average. The apartment was cleaned Mon - Fri, very well too! No bedbugs, no mould. Had a little problem with the shower leaking out onto the floor, but just mopped it up with the bathmat. Plenty of hot water!

The location was excellent! 100m to Notting Hill tube station. A short stroll to Kensington Gardens. Lot's of reasonable restaurants & pubs in the area. There is also a Tesco's & Marks & Spencer supermarket close by, a little 24hr convenience store across the road. For the price, I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The owner is on site, Mon to Fri & was very kind & helpful. The post office is 2 doors up, the laundry for washing your clothes is a bit of a hike, but still walking distance. (About 10mins walk)

The internet has to be signed up & paid for, but it's quite reasonable.

We really enjoyed our stay & would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2009

we booked the one bedroom apartment for a couple and 2 kids. worked out fine. the location is the real bonus for this premises - close to the tube and supermarket, and a great pub. clean, well provided. a bit old, but neverthe less i would recommend this place

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank narelleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2009

Friendly and helpful management but only on site during the day. Great location close to underground station and major bus routes, but apartments are rather run-down and in need of new furniture and major renewal of bathroom and kitchen appliances. Given the trendy location could aspire to "shabby chic" status, but the emphasis would have to be on the shabby which makes the prices seem a bit out of line -- especially in these recessionary times. Quirky internet access through a local church which runs an expensive neighbourhood wi-fi service.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Senilius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2009

202 is so well situated ,very close to the tube, walking distace to portabello market, hyde park and kensington. the flat was warm, clean and well appointed,with a new digital tv and cd/dvd facilities. the kitchen had every thing i needed in it and the bathroom was quite large. it was surprizingly quiet for such a central location, i slept very well. the manager Susie branson was very helpful. i will definately stay there again...great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommyWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
#617 of 1,067 in London
201 reviews
Notting Hill
The Laslett
The Laslett
#346 of 1,067 in London
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Marlin Apartments Canary Wharf
Hammersmith / Fulham
Lamington - Hammersmith Serviced Apartments
Linton Apartments
#29 of 838 in London
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 202 Modern Service Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 202 Modern Service Apartments

Property: 202 Modern Service Apartments
Address: 202 Kensington Church Street, London W8 4DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #279 of 838 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A block of serviced apartments in a wonderful Central London location. Trendy Notting Hill - 100 yards from the tube station and about 300 yards from Kensington Gardens and Portobello Road. Great for families, singles and couples. Shopping, history and the park right on your doorstep with great restaurants and bars too. Very easy to travel around to all parts of London. Good value for money and comfortable homely feeling. All apartments have a balcony! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
202 Modern Service Apartments Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing