We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but ok”
Review of The Bridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bridge Hotel
Ranked #626 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Small but ok”
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Stopped here while working in London
Hotel is quite easy to find from the tube station (5 min walk).

Staff were welcoming on arrival. The double room was tiny!! Hardly any space to move about.

Bathroom was ok, nice shower. Not sure about the shelf above the sink though.

Bed was cosy, just an annoying headboard!!

Breakfast was a little dissappointing, eggs and beans were cold and no large plates. Expected more for £14.00.

Was offered 10% for 2nd visit but am not sure there will be one.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank hsalhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    191
    110
    49
    28
See reviews for
125
120
78
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed here as I had an interview in Southwark the following day. I stayed in a single room on the first floor, and my room was perfectly adequate. My room had a bottle of water, fruit and tea/coffee facilities and I'd certainly return. The only things I'd recommend to improve would be perhaps an extension lead (there was only one power point in the room, meaning I had to toss up between charging my phone, watching tv and having the lamp or kettle on) and better signage to the shared bathroom as I wandered the corridors for a little while trying to find it! It was all clean though and as the cheapest in the area I was more than happy. I'd go back!

Room Tip: If you're staying for one night and don't plan on showering, don't bother shelling out f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethan19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Bridge-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and thank you for staying at The Bridge Hotel. We are very happy that your stay with us met to your standards. Our aim at The Bridge hotel is to provide all our guests with the best level of comfort whilst staying with us. Our rooms are kept to a very high standard of cleanliness and will always endeavour to maintain this standard. The Bridge Hotel offers an “all-in-one” price; which means all our rooms includes, Free fruits, bottled water and unlimited internet access which Is of good quality in addition to other facilities. We at The bridge hotel will take on board your comment regarding an added extension lead. This is however kept in the reception area and when required will be provided upon request.

Once again we would like to thank for your review and thank your for staying at The Bridge Hotel.

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We picked the hotel because it was very close to a venue we were going to. The room we stayed in for one night was clean although dated, however there was fresh fruit in the bowl, 2 bottles of water, a fridge, a safe & I was given 2 fresh roses when we arrived.
The beds were clean & comfy. The shower was good & the toilet was very clean.

All in all it was a pleasant stay for us & better than anticipated considering where it is based.
The staff were very pleasant. The hotel does need modernising.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor facing the street & main road & slept through until morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Legends2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Bridge-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you for visiting The Bridge Hotel. We are a family run business and located in the heart of the worlds famous sights and and a stones through away from all local aminities. The area is filled with exciting Museums, Art galleries, London’s West End theatres, cinemas and fantastic Restaurants, dramatic sights and tourist attractions are only a few minutes’ walk.
Our aim at The Bridge Hotel is to prioritise the needs of our guests and strive to achieve 100% guest satisfaction we always ensure our guest are comfortable and relaxed and will endeavour to provided a good quality service. We are due to make further improvement which will allow us to improve the décor and add added facilities to allow our guest to have easier access to their rooms. We would like to say thank you for your possitive comments and feed back.

From The Bridge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Hotel is next to a kebab shop and the whole hotel including bedrooms stank of kebabs. Felt like I needed a good wash after leaving. No 24 hr reception so had to creep out the side door when leaving and breakfast isn't served till 8am. Rooms were also quite noisy and the area didn't feel very safe. On the good side u do get fruit and a couple bottles of water in the room. Have honestly stayed in better hostels!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajnorniron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My wife needed to stay overnight for a visit to Southbank University and this is the nearest hotel. It is a little quirky with no lift and the rooms are small and some have to share a bathroom but she was more than satisfied for a single en suite room. The staff are extremely courteous and helpful in person but a little strange over the phone. Language might be the problem for some. The hotel is convenient for the Elephant and Castle tube station and buses to Waterloo mainline station and into central London. The need for this hotel may never arise for us again but others needing to be in this otherwise poorly served area might find it a useful overnight or tourist base.

Room Tip: Opt for an en suite room or you might have to share a bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TatsfieldPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Bridge-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and thank you for staying at The Bridge Hotel. The Bridge Hotel goes back to the 12th century, where it was home to a storehouse for stone & timber. In the 16th century it was used as a granary for corn storage against times of public shortages, and later the official residence of the two governors responsible for the maintenance of the bridge, namely Bridge House. In the near future looking to make further constructive and decorative improvements to the hotel with the idea of installing a lift, Which will allow our guest to access their rooms more easily. We believe all our rooms are well furnished and modern, with a flat-screen TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Most of the rooms have a private bathroom with shower, however the basic rooms with shared bathroom are of a very good standard are affordable at a less rate. We also provided free Wi-Fi which is available in each room and all rooms are cleaned on a regular basis.This family-run business aims to provide all our guests from diverse origins with a warm and friendly atmosphere for our guests who are strangers on arrival, but friends on departure and return as part of the extended family are always welcome. We always strive to make our guest time with us as pleasurable and welcoming as possible. We appreciate all our customers comments and reviews as this allows us to provide a better service to our guest and improve the quality of the hotel. We the staff and management of the hotel will always strive to achieve 100% guest satisfaction.

We would like to thank you once again for your review and your time at The Bridge Hotel.

Yours sincerely


Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I spent 5 nights in this hotel in December 2013. Room was very clean, good breakfast, Very good location, close to Times river. This was my first time come to London, I have no any idea about this city, I would like to find a hotel in central area. I was happy to choose this hotel. Staff is very helpful and friendly as well (I got flight in early morning they arranged taxi for me) . The restaurant offers good breakfast, plenty choice. The Bridge hotel is a great bargain that provides all the necessary amenities. Rooms are originally designed as whole building - simple but stylish and functional. Bathrooms equipped with powerful shower, hairdryer and towels, cleaned every day. Of course TV, fridge and teapot are in the bed room.
it is fair and worth recommendation. Summarizing I recommend this place for those who want to see london most interesting places on foot.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oude z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Bridge-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and thank you for staying at The Bridge Hotel. We are happy to know your time spent with us was enjoyable and the hotel to your satisfaction. We hope you had the chance to experience London Museums, Art galleries, West End and buzzing night life. We aim to offer our guests a warm and friendly atmosphere and a ‘home away from home’ experience. We also aim is to offer all of our guests a quality experience that is second to none and always priorities the needs of our guests and therefore always strive to achieve 100% guest satisfaction. All our rooms have unlimited internet access and Flat screen TV so our guest can relax and enjoy their time whilst staying in London
The Bridge Hotel is located in the heart of London, offering comfortable accommodation at affordable prices compared to other hotels in the area. This family-run business aims to provide all our guests with a warm and friendly atmosphere for our guests who are strangers on arrival, but friends on departure and return as part of the extended family.
We hope you will visit us in the near future as it would be a pleasure to have you stay with us again.
Yours Sincerely
From The Bridge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Just back from celebrating my big 50. Have to say the hotel was clean and done the job. Staff were friendly and I would not hesitate in staying here again. And I got £69 of the bill because it was my birthday

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Bridge-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and thank you for staying at The Bridge Hotel. We hope your time was enjoyable and the hotel to your standards.

The Bridge Hotel aim is to provide a welcoming and friendly atmosphere for our guest and as part of our promotional birthday offer we decided to offer you a birthday gift, We hope that this was warmly received and happy to know that you will consider staying with us again.

The Bridge Hotel offers a special promotional offer to returning guest 10% discount off their next booking when stay more than one night at The Bridge Hotel.

Please visit our website for further promotional offers (This is discretionary and on the managements request).

Once again thank you for your review and your time spent with us at The Bridge Hotel.

Yours Sincerely
Miss Brenda James
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Days Hotel London- Waterloo
#425 of 1,067 in London
2,562 reviews
Church Street Hotel
#486 of 1,067 in London
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London City Hotel
#263 of 1,067 in London
699 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Whitechapel
Hotel ibis budget London Whitechapel - Brick Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bridge Hotel

Property: The Bridge Hotel
Address: 30 Borough Road, London SE1 0AJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #626 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing