We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Accommodation at a Bargain Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marble Arch - Gloucester Place Hotel
Ranked #702 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Accommodation at a Bargain Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

At 55 GBP a night for a twin bedded room (one double and a single) the GPH offered great value for money. The room was large, tastefully furnished and the bathroom ample, clean and very usable. Useful refrigerator to keep food and drinks cold. Although busy road was just outside, no traffic noise disturbed sleep. Breakfast was a little on the lukewarm side but offered cheeses, cold meats, eggs, cereals, juices and coffee/tea. Staff were polite and friendly. A little gem in the heart of one of the best districts of London!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BEN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    105
    57
    26
    19
See reviews for
62
64
30
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

A last minute booking on Late Rooms got me a double room for single occupancy for £89 at this Regency style terrace hotel on Gloucester Place. Great location, with Oxford Street in sight, and a few minutes walk to the hub of West End. Room small but nice clean linen and towels, and well appointed bathroom which I think must have been recently refurbished. All absolutely fine apart from absence of a lift (my room was on the fourth floor!) - and maybe someone could replace the curtains which are pretty shabby. Apart from those points, no grumbles at all. You get more than you pay for, to be within a few hundred yards from Oxford Street!

Room Tip: Unless you are fit, ask for a room on the lower floors. The stairs feel as though you keep on going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mature_sojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We needed 2 nights in London at short notice and ended up booking this hotel through hotels.com, Its been given a 3 star rating but how that has happened is beyond me. From the front the "hotel" looks like many others in the street but once through the entrance way it goes seriously down hill. We were put in a basement room, not in the hotel itself at number 55 but taken next door to number 53 where there is nothing except rooms. To get breakfast you would have to go outside and back into number 55!
The room was quite large but dark and very tacky. There are bars on the windows and a room full of mismatched furniture which has probably been given away by the local homeless centre! There was a very tired dirty looking sofa a cheap nasty set of drawers and it was so bad that we went to a few nearby hotels and ended up booking in next door at a 4 star guest house which was very nice. The Gloucester Place hotel was very expensive at £250 for two nights for something that felt like very low grade student accommodation. So this ended up as an expensive try as we had to pay another £165 per night but at least that one was worth the money.
The people at reception were pleasant and helpful and concerned when we said we wanted to check out but that didn't make up for a room that we just would not sleep in.

Room Tip: the only way to help other travellers get a good room is to say DONT go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suzifloozi44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Last June, I had a reservation for 2 double rooms at the Gloucester Place Hotel. However, I had to cancel it, because my flight was cancelled due to a general strike in my country. Although the circumstances of the cancelation were beyond my control the hotel management was not understanding and they applied their cancelation policy, which is a one night no-show plus half the value of the total stay. As this kind of attitude is not a good visit card for the hotel, I’ve decided to write this negative review, so that future clients know that they are dealing with inflexible and greedy people that do not know anything about Customer Service.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJCPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

This Hotel was the perfect place to stay just for the 1 night my wife and I stayed in London. We got a Single Deluxe room, which was pretty small but good enough. The bathroom is pretty small as well, but it was fine with us. The location is perfect, just minutes away from both the Marble Arch tube station, as well as, from the Baker Station. Oxford street is a 5 minute walk as well.

If we were staying there for more than one night, I probably wouldn't be too thrilled about the size of the rooms. Other than that, this place is pretty nice. The staff were wonderful; extremely helpful with any and all of the questions I had.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andre N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Its a decent place to stay in central London. The staff is helpful and the breakfast is a tidy affair.
Some of the Windows are really old so you might have trouble shutting them down.

Pro Tip: NO lifts, Make sure you are on the lower floors.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AceWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#307 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#414 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Marylebone
Marylebone Inn Hotel
Marylebone Inn Hotel
#592 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
St George Hotel
St George Hotel
#680 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Marylebone
Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London
Marylebone
Nottingham Place Hotel London
Nottingham Place Hotel London
#623 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marble Arch - Gloucester Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marble Arch - Gloucester Place Hotel

Property: Marble Arch - Gloucester Place Hotel
Address: 55 Gloucester Place | Marble Arch, London W1U 8JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #702 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marble Arch - Gloucester Place Hotel is a Georgian Bed and Breakfast hotel in Central London. English Heritage has Listed the building as it was once occupied by members of the French Royal Family who had fled the French Revolution of 1789. The hotel offers a variety of en-suite rooms with private facilities and Discounted Basic rooms with shared facilities to cater for all budgets. All rooms have free Wireless internet, Portable Air conditioner Units, tea/Coffee & Biscuits. Situated in an ideal location in Marble Arch; close to London’s most famous sites such as Oxford Street, Hyde Park, Piccadilly Circus, London West End Theatres. It is a perfect venue for business and leisure. The hotel is also located next to the main Airport Bus stop and several underground stations serving all of London’s major destinations, and within easy reach of St Pancras Eurostar station. Also just a short walk from Madame Tussauds, Regents & Hyde Park and the shops of Oxford Street. The hotel is a Georgian listed building. There is no lift. However, staff will be happy to carry your luggage to your room on request. Alternatively we can try and book you a room on a lower floor if requested well in advance at the time of booking. Discounted NCP Parking is Available next to the hotel. The hotel offers good value central London accommodation with clean, tidy and cozy rooms in a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere with many modern comforts needed to make your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marble Arch - Gloucester Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloucester Place London
Hotel Gloucester Place
Gloucester Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing