We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tiny family room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marble Arch - Gloucester Place Hotel
Ranked #704 of 1,063 Hotels in London
South Sinai, Egypt
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Tiny family room”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The room for 4 was tiny and there was no space to move.
Get in and sit on the bed.
Tiny bathroom for 4 people to share.
Breakfast was terrible.
We cancelled our return booking for 2 weeks later and will not return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Docd869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    105
    57
    26
    19
See reviews for
62
64
30
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed for two nights earlier this week (July 8th and 9th) with my wife. Initially a little apprehensive when told we would be in a basement room of the adjoining property but pleasantly surprised when shown into the building. The large entrance hall was well lit and very clean as were the stairs down to the basement and the basement passageway. Although we had booked a double room we were shown into a family room (Room 23 with a double bed and two singles) at the back of the house, away from the noise of the traffic at the front. There was a portable air conditioning unit, which we did`nt use, a fridge, with complimentary bottles of water, and plenty of wardrobe and drawer space for the two of us, although one old chest of drawers was broken and could`nt be used. From the window you could only see the window of one of the other guest rooms so the curtains remained partially closed most of the time. Tea and coffee making facilities were also better than in many hotels we`ve stayed in. The bathroom was quite large with a powerful shower over a corner bath and like the bedroom spotlessly clean.
Breakfast, taken in the basement of the main building, was more than adequate with toast, fruit, yoghurt, cereals, cheese, scrambled eggs etc. You could also have a cooked breakfast (no bacon) for £3.
All in all a pleasant stay in a very clean B & B hotel, good value for money and in a great central location. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Breakfastbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed at the Gloucester because we needed to be close to Harley Street and not as a tourist. This is a typical London terraced property within walking distance to Marble Arch and Oxford Circus/Street. Check in was very simple and this hotel owns the property next door which is used in conjunction with the main hotel. Our room (No.25) was next door and although we only booked a double we were placed in a room with a double and single bed. This did make the room feel quite small and although it was clean it did seem to look a bit tired. The en suite had a corner bath which again was clean but tired looking. Our room had an air conditioning unit which was free standing and the outlet was through the window. Hence no windows could be opened and we had to have the unit on all night which was very very noisy.

Breakfast (in the basement) was a surprise as we only expected a typical continental breakfast (a full English was an extra £3.00 each) however, there was scrambled eggs, omelettes, cold meats and cheeses, fresh fruit and various yoghurts.

I rated this hotel very good purely on the price we paid and the location. I am not sure that I would spend more than 1 or 2 nights. The staff were very helpful too. Whilst there is free wifi in the rooms I was unsuccessful in managing to get any even though I tried on 2 phones and 1 tablet. In fairness to the hotel I did not speak to reception about this as we were only there for 1 night. The tea and coffee facility was exceptional, generally you only get a couple of sachets of coffee and tea bags but there was about 5/6 of each.

Room Tip: A room at the back would be quieter as this hotel is on a busy main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Lovely place, Old fashioned basic hotel - a bit noisy but the central loction made up for it. Friendly and efficient staff - great breakfast and service.... Worth going back to next time I am in London.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesTrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I quite enjoyed my overnight stay in this hotel, I was allocated a family room at the front of the building, so it was very spacious, but a bit noisy due to traffic. Overall the decor is a bit old, but reasonably clean and the hotel is in a great location. The continental breakfast was surprisingly good.

Room Tip: A room towards the back might be quieter, but it is a busy area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here on a recent business trip to London. This is typical London old style hotel. The room was clean and the breakfast amble. The biggest issue I had was with noise, all night long I would here other guesting coming and going slamming doors. I was also on the very top floor, there is no lift in this hotel. I paid 100 for this room and in my opinion there are nicer hotel in the Bloomsbury area of London.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanburyave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauchline, Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel was in a top location in Mayfair close to Selfridges (walking distance). The rooms were very clean, well maintained and spacious. The breakfasts were also more than adequate. The only negative to my stay is I would have suggested the staff could have been friendlier - all in all I would be more than happy to stay here again in future.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank crmpicco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#294 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#413 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Marylebone
Marylebone Inn Hotel
Marylebone Inn Hotel
#594 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
St George Hotel
St George Hotel
#671 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Marylebone
Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London
Marylebone
Nottingham Place Hotel London
Nottingham Place Hotel London
#620 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marble Arch - Gloucester Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marble Arch - Gloucester Place Hotel

Property: Marble Arch - Gloucester Place Hotel
Address: 55 Gloucester Place | Marble Arch, London W1U 8JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #704 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marble Arch - Gloucester Place Hotel is a Georgian Bed and Breakfast hotel in Central London. English Heritage has Listed the building as it was once occupied by members of the French Royal Family who had fled the French Revolution of 1789. The hotel offers a variety of en-suite rooms with private facilities and Discounted Basic rooms with shared facilities to cater for all budgets. All rooms have free Wireless internet, Portable Air conditioner Units, tea/Coffee & Biscuits. Situated in an ideal location in Marble Arch; close to London’s most famous sites such as Oxford Street, Hyde Park, Piccadilly Circus, London West End Theatres. It is a perfect venue for business and leisure. The hotel is also located next to the main Airport Bus stop and several underground stations serving all of London’s major destinations, and within easy reach of St Pancras Eurostar station. Also just a short walk from Madame Tussauds, Regents & Hyde Park and the shops of Oxford Street. The hotel is a Georgian listed building. There is no lift. However, staff will be happy to carry your luggage to your room on request. Alternatively we can try and book you a room on a lower floor if requested well in advance at the time of booking. Discounted NCP Parking is Available next to the hotel. The hotel offers good value central London accommodation with clean, tidy and cozy rooms in a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere with many modern comforts needed to make your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marble Arch - Gloucester Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloucester Place London
Hotel Gloucester Place
Gloucester Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing