We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lodgings for the Price”
Review of Marylebone Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marylebone Hall
Ranked #800 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Lodgings for the Price”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Benefits - Extremely convenient location in central London, right by Baker Street Tube station, very friendly/helpful staff (they let me store my luggage in the building when I arrived too early for check in), laundry facilities on site, amazing rates given the location

Drawbacks - the fire alarm did go off three times over the course of my six day stay, the rooms are somewhat small

Ultimately, given the location and price, this is a great option if you're looking to save money on accommodations

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simone G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    11
    6
    7
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I'm staying here at the moment. The place is extremely well kept and the staff are absolutely wonderful. The staff go the extra mile for any information that you are in need of. The location of the building is very convenient to stores, attractions and transportation. The location is so perfect, that I opened my window one night and could hear Madonna herself performing live. Free concert!

There are no bed bugs, and the water is just fine. My room is cleaned perfectly every day, with a fresh towel and brand new garbage bag waiting for me when I return from spending the day out.

My only complaints are that there is no electrical socket in the bathroom for a hair dryer (I've had to sit in front of my laptop using my webcam to see what I'm doing) and the fire alarms keep going off left, right and centre, making it nearly impossible for a good night's sleep. When I arrived, the fire alarm went off and the staff just rolled their eyes. There are also only 4 washers and 4 dryers, so it's a bit of a contest to get one, unless you're there spot on at 7 pm.

Would I stay here again? Yes. Service is wonderful, excellent housekeeping, very convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up and preferably on the even numbered floors. All I can hear is construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crystalfairie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

After moving there for a summer internship I have learnt that got water is only turned on at 7pm and it takes an hour for the water to warm up so if you are working then don't plan on showering in the morning.
Worse, the fire alarm seems to go off all through the night. The most we've had it go off so far is every half an hour starting from 3.15. This obviously means yopu cannot sleep at all and even the staff admit this is a faulty alarm system.
Completely awful!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WadhamAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Charlotte, North Carolina, USA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

This is an excellent, modern, student residence hall open to tourists. My private, single room had a small but very clean bathroom with excellent hot water and pressure. The very clean room was attended everyy day by housekeeping. Excellent internet connection. Fabulous view across London. Staff very pleasant and always ready to help. They are a great asset. Nice TV room that encourages getting to know other residents. Good, well-equipped kitchens for breakfast and quick dinner. Very very quiet. I stayed more than two weeks and felt sad to leave.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LovelyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Don't stay here. The price is not that cheap for area (pickpocket attempt the first time I arrived from Baker Street Tube Station), admitted bedbug infestation, stained sheets with hair on them, plastic mattress, the water in the only tap is warned not to be ingested (if you can't drink it, do you want to shower and brush your teeth with it?). The bathroom is like a tiny ship's wetroom. Altogether verrrrrry icky and creepy. Sounds like a good idea, but isn't. They should be ashamed of renting a room in this condition.

Room Tip: Take your chances on the bedbugs. They had "inspectors" coming the day after I left.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank localSanFranciscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Yes...you are basically staying in student housing...but it was exactly what I was looking for - very clean, kitchen, laundry, own room with private bathroom, wifi, and great location...all for a great price. I'm not sure you can really beat this! Most hotel rooms in London lack on space anyway! This is perfect for the solo traveler on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateKessler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2010

The halls are in the university of westminister campus directly opposite madam tussauds. You have to go through the security gates and thens its the tower in front of you. I booked for 3 nights during the week.

I think looking at the other reviews I must have picked the wrong week. The halls were packed with italian teenagers banging on doors, setting off fire alarms, talking loudly in corridors etc. They also smashed up some of the rooms near mine.

Theres only 2 lifts, one of which is out of service, The remaining one is very tempremental, combined with lots of people roaming around = long waits for the lift. The key readers for the doors are a bit flakey too, sometimes takes several goes to get in.

Ill stick to finsbury residence next time, its 1/3 the price everything works, and you get to sleep at night time.

The rooms themselves are nice and clean and have all the facilities needed. Everything is nice and new, and the location is good if you need to be in the area,

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanC888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Regency Hotel - Nottingham Place
Marylebone
Marylebone Inn Hotel
Marylebone Inn Hotel
#569 of 1,069 in London
238 reviews
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#440 of 1,069 in London
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#790 of 1,069 in London
122 reviews
Marylebone
Travelodge London Central Marylebone
Marylebone
Nottingham Place Hotel London
Nottingham Place Hotel London
#609 of 1,069 in London
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marylebone Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marylebone Hall

Property: Marylebone Hall
Address: 35 Marylebone Road | University of Westminster, London NW1 5LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#394 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marylebone Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Marylebone Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marylebone Hall Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing