We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location great staff lovely rooms”
Review of Marylebone Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marylebone Hall
Ranked #805 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Reviewed 18 January 2013

This hotel has a great location next to Oxford, but on a quiet street Beautiful cozy rooms clean, you should upgrade the room that a regular room of his size too small Breakfast is very rich and most importantly accommodating staff that satisfies each request

Room Tip: Recommends rate Standard Double or Studio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avivit l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2012

I stayed here for a week in July whilst volunteering at the olympics. Its quite basic uni halls but much better than any of the other halls i have seen. Staff are friendly and rooms are very clean. They have recently been refurbished.

You can access the halls 24hrs, and they are secure and safe. The halls are in a good location, accross the road from baker street station, so there is easy access around central London. You can also walk to regent street, regents park and oxford street from the halls.

I dont know what they are like in term time, but over the summer, the halls seemed quiet.

Not many negative points, just that there is no wi fi, but you can use the wired internet free. Also, the building has 21 floors, luckily i was on the 4th, as one of the lifts was broke during most of my stay there.

Overall, a great place to stay to get around London.

Room Tip: Remember some people compare cheaper hotels and halls to 5star hotels, you get what u pay for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn_321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Benefits - Extremely convenient location in central London, right by Baker Street Tube station, very friendly/helpful staff (they let me store my luggage in the building when I arrived too early for check in), laundry facilities on site, amazing rates given the location

Drawbacks - the fire alarm did go off three times over the course of my six day stay, the rooms are somewhat small

Ultimately, given the location and price, this is a great option if you're looking to save money on accommodations

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simone G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I'm staying here at the moment. The place is extremely well kept and the staff are absolutely wonderful. The staff go the extra mile for any information that you are in need of. The location of the building is very convenient to stores, attractions and transportation. The location is so perfect, that I opened my window one night and could hear Madonna herself performing live. Free concert!

There are no bed bugs, and the water is just fine. My room is cleaned perfectly every day, with a fresh towel and brand new garbage bag waiting for me when I return from spending the day out.

My only complaints are that there is no electrical socket in the bathroom for a hair dryer (I've had to sit in front of my laptop using my webcam to see what I'm doing) and the fire alarms keep going off left, right and centre, making it nearly impossible for a good night's sleep. When I arrived, the fire alarm went off and the staff just rolled their eyes. There are also only 4 washers and 4 dryers, so it's a bit of a contest to get one, unless you're there spot on at 7 pm.

Would I stay here again? Yes. Service is wonderful, excellent housekeeping, very convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up and preferably on the even numbered floors. All I can hear is construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crystalfairie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

After moving there for a summer internship I have learnt that got water is only turned on at 7pm and it takes an hour for the water to warm up so if you are working then don't plan on showering in the morning.
Worse, the fire alarm seems to go off all through the night. The most we've had it go off so far is every half an hour starting from 3.15. This obviously means yopu cannot sleep at all and even the staff admit this is a faulty alarm system.
Completely awful!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WadhamAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

This is an excellent, modern, student residence hall open to tourists. My private, single room had a small but very clean bathroom with excellent hot water and pressure. The very clean room was attended everyy day by housekeeping. Excellent internet connection. Fabulous view across London. Staff very pleasant and always ready to help. They are a great asset. Nice TV room that encourages getting to know other residents. Good, well-equipped kitchens for breakfast and quick dinner. Very very quiet. I stayed more than two weeks and felt sad to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LovelyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Don't stay here. The price is not that cheap for area (pickpocket attempt the first time I arrived from Baker Street Tube Station), admitted bedbug infestation, stained sheets with hair on them, plastic mattress, the water in the only tap is warned not to be ingested (if you can't drink it, do you want to shower and brush your teeth with it?). The bathroom is like a tiny ship's wetroom. Altogether verrrrrry icky and creepy. Sounds like a good idea, but isn't. They should be ashamed of renting a room in this condition.

Room Tip: Take your chances on the bedbugs. They had "inspectors" coming the day after I left.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank localSanFranciscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Regency Hotel - Nottingham Place
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#436 of 1,075 in London
681 reviews
Marylebone
Marylebone Inn Hotel
Marylebone Inn Hotel
#579 of 1,075 in London
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#801 of 1,075 in London
123 reviews
Marylebone
Nottingham Place Hotel London
Nottingham Place Hotel London
#586 of 1,075 in London
299 reviews
Marylebone
Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marylebone Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marylebone Hall

Address: 35 Marylebone Road | University of Westminster, London NW1 5LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#394 Luxury Hotel in London
Hotel Class:4 star — Marylebone Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and LateRooms so you can book your Marylebone Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marylebone Hall Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing