We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A cozy stay with polite staff”
Review of Avoca House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avoca House Hotel
Ranked #162 of 556 London B&B and Inns
Hong kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A cozy stay with polite staff”
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Everything goes fine just except the water pressure is very low and sometimes even not enough hot water for a shower
Besides, as they dont hv air con, I dun think u can stay there during hot summer.
To conclude, this is a good choice if u r staying there during moderate season

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Wonghoichung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    40
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
20
25
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Large room, absolutely clean, helpful and friendly stuff, simple but plentiful breakfast, perfect location (quiet area, just a 5-minute walk from the Swiss Cottage underground station). Nothing at all to complain about!

Room Tip: We had a three-bed room on the ground floor, just next to the reception desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacek_cz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

If you're traveling on a budget, then I recommend this B&B. It's in a safe and lovely neighborhood. The staff is also very friendly and helpful. They gave me excellent sight-seeing tips! This is a modest, clean & cozy place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank msmelro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Stayed here in late August after needing to find a hotel we could actually sleep in! Found this hotel at short notice and rang to book with minimum of fuss. With just the need for a decent bed and a hot shower, wasn't expecting luxury but was pleasantly surprised.

The location is quite good, a nice short walk to Swiss Cottage tube station (on the gray Jubilee line) and to the Belsize Park shops. The are is residential, so no hint of unsavoury people or late night boozers. The property itself is an old townhouse renovated some time back in to separate hotel rooms. The massive front door opens to a wide entry hall and the office, two family rooms and a creaky staircase to the upper levels.

Despite booking a queen room at the last minute, was upgraded to the family room. The room was huge, three beds (useless, only needed one) but had more than enough room to swing a cat! Framed by large French windows and full cupboard, there was a flat screen TV and mini fridge. The bathroom was clean and had full bath with a shower head too, although the doorway to the bathroom has quite a low head beam making you dick each time you go through!

The hotel does need a renovation - the carpet looks old, the bedding covers (that I take off the bed and never sit on anyway) are early 90's hotel school style. The linen and pillows were new, which is welcome, and the matress felt fine, so no complaints about the things that really matter.

Breakfast was included in the (very low!) price of the room, but I checked out before being able to see what was on offer. If I had to be back in London anywhere near this part of the city (or able to be accessed by the tube) then I would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Ground floor family room is right next to reception, so you may get a little check in/out noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa FL
Level Contributor
115 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I chose this property for the location and cost and although the rooms were clean the property is very shabby, worn and depressing. I was expecting a budget property but the paint was peeling off the walls and the carpets were torn and it doesn't take much to put a coat of paint on to freshen things up and repair the carpeting. It just made me feel depressed going there. If you ujst want a clean place to sleep in a good location and cheap this fits the bill. But I personally don't like to feel that I have to escape my hotel room and be gone all day. I like having a comfy and cheery place to relax in between sightseeing. It just wasn't a place that I wanted to come back to to relax and I felt skeevy staying there.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wandalust4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We have stayed at many hotels over the years, often luxury ones with impeccable details and fantastic designs.

Avoca House was our choice as we had a tour of the Lords Cricket Ground scheduled for the next day. The room we had was spacious and pretty, the breakfast is good and the distance to the gorund is hardly a 10 min. drive. The garden may be small, but it’s a relaxing and quiet place.

Not many options for food, but the rooms are spacious with huge full length windows. The caretaker is a very pleasant man and is ready to help and make your stay comfortable.

Avoca House is a place you would definitely come back to and recommend to your friends. Thank you very much for making our stay so pleasant!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PunitMalhotra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Langorf Hotel
The Langorf Hotel
#568 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Hampstead
Quality Hotel Hampstead
#623 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage
0.5 mi away
Primrose Guesthouse
Primrose Guesthouse
#47 of 556 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Castle Bar
The Castle Bar
#141 of 556 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avoca House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avoca House Hotel

Property: Avoca House Hotel
Address: 46 Belsize Park | Hampstead, London NW3 4EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 556 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avoca House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Avoca House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing