We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy and very rude staff”
Review of Bakers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bakers Hotel
Ranked #976 of 1,068 Hotels in London
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Filthy and very rude staff”
Reviewed 10 August 2009

That's one of the worst accommodation I've ever had. I arrived at midnight and the reception guy yelled at us to let him sleep and not to ask so many questions about the restrooms, towels, soap and shampoo. The breakfast was uneatable and the reception guy which was the "chef" as well was cleaning the tables and washing his hair in the same time. It was unbelivable. We've stayed for three nights, the sheets were never changed and we hardly had some soap for the bathroom and no shampoo at all. I strongly wouldn't recommend this "hotel". Any hostel I've been so far has millions better services than Bakers.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jinx_san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    54
    66
    42
    56
See reviews for
66
63
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ellesmee port
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2009

We stayed in room 3- only just about fitted two single beds in there. Website was not clear that there was communal bathrooms, which had other guests wet towels on the floor, mould on the silicone in the shower, no toilet roll in the bathroom. No towels provided, had to ask for one,when beds were made no clean towels were provided the wets ones were folded onto the bed,when we asked for a clean one we were told we only get one per person per stay and if we wanted another one we would have topay £1 each!!! Ploystyrene cups in room. Had avery bad odour as you walked into the hotel of an evening.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tasha4728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2009

We had room no.3 thats the first floor.

Negative:
The room is very small, fits 2 beds and a luggage, and some little space of standing.
Its dirty, you'll see some dirts on the closet, hair on the beds, and dirty tea-bags with nothing covering it, cause they are for free.
The bathroom/wc, its on the floor under, and you have to share it with other people.

Positive:
Bakers hotel is near Victoria station, about 5min of walking.

We only went for a short trip,so we just needed a place to sleep.
So you get what you pay, no 5 star hotel.
Wondering if they even change the bed-clothing, or just maked the bed so it seemed to be nice.
When you pay cash, get the receipt, or they will not give you unless you ask for it.
The breakfast, I didnt wanted to see it...

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traxstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2009

I recently stayed at the Bakers Hotel with my girlfriend for one night. Our stay was fine! I've read some horror stories from here but our stay was adequate, cheap and friendly enough. The room was clean and pretty spacious, and we only paid £30 for a night there - the cheapest we could find around Victoria. The location was excellent, only a 5 minute walk away from the bus and coach station. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liammckinnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2009

If you go in winter avoid this place. There is absolutely no heating - not in the rooms, not in the shared bathroom. It is freezing cold. I cannot imagine that this is legal in the UK.

This is not a budget hotel - it is like spending the night in the open, like a hobo.

  • Liked — n/a
  • Disliked — the hotel
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Olaf B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2008

On the positive side, its located near a tube, is in a safe area and the breakfast is decent. That said, the hotel itself leaves something to be desired. The rooms are very small and kind of dirty. The hot water is only on at certain times in the morning and night. And when my husband and I arrived in the afternoon after a ten hour flight, I was pretty ticked off because all I wanted was a shower. The room was cheap so I wasn't expecting it to be the Ritz, but it was a bit of a disappointment. If you need a cheap place, Bakers Hotel is adequate.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank analex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturbridge, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2008

my husband and i had only one night in london as a layover between flights so all we wanted was a basic inexpensive hotel that was convenient to get to. i booked about 3 weeks in advance but found that most hotels in the Victoria Station area were already booked. Bakers hotel was the least expensive one I could find that was open. The location is excellent. And easy walk from Victoria station. The neighborhood is very nice, very clean and felt safe. Not what you would usually expect near a major train-bus station.
the hotel was indeed basic. The best thing was the staff was very friendly. The worst thing was that it was not very clean. Especially the bathrooms, which were just not clean. We had a room in the basement. Smelled of heating gas. Room had a small sink. Bathrooms are on the first and second floor. They do not have hot water until 6pm. In bedroom the top blanket was not very clean but sheets seemed okay once I took that off.
FOr the price I know that I can not expect much and it was not terrible. But I do think that next time I am in london I will try to find somewhere else.
(it was nice that they allowed us to put our bags at the hotel prior to check in time. I know some other budget hotels charge extra for this. FOr example, easyhotel wanted to charge us 5 pounds per bag to leave luggage. Plus easyhotel also charged extra for towels and use of TV. This was all included at Bakers Hotel)

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — Bathrooms not clean
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ACMC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
New England Hotel
New England Hotel
#967 of 1,068 in London
281 reviews
Pimlico
Stanley House
Stanley House
#709 of 1,068 in London
1,157 reviews
Pimlico
Vegas Hotel
Vegas Hotel
#917 of 1,068 in London
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Best Western Victoria Palace
Pimlico
Luna & Simone Hotel
Luna & Simone Hotel
#107 of 1,068 in London
2,077 reviews
Pimlico
The Dover Hotel
The Dover Hotel
#637 of 1,068 in London
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bakers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakers Hotel

Property: Bakers Hotel
Address: 126 Warwick Way | Victoria, London SW1V 4JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #976 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bakers Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the core on Warwick Way in London Victoria, Bakers Hotel, a Bed & Breakfast Hotel, is within easy walking distance of major attractions such as Buckingham Palace, Trafalgar Square, Houses of Parliament, Big Ben and St James Park and Green Park. Our clean and comfortable rooms are serviced everyday. Our ensuite and standard rooms are furnished and equipped with tea/coffee making facilities, hair-dryers, flat-screen TV's, central heating, hot water and complimentary shower gels. he hotel is conveniently accessible from all London airports including London Heathrow, London Gatwick, Luton and Stansted including Gatwick Express, National Express, Greenline Coach and London Underground services. Excellent transport links make getting around London simple. Victoria, Pimlico and Sloan Square Stations are minutes walk away - access to train, underground, bus & coach services enable travel to famous attractions and landmarks such as Oxford Street, Harrods, & the London Eye easy and quick. Bakers Bed & Breakfast Hotel is suitable to all price conscious visitors who require a "home away from home" including couples, families, single travellers, friends and groups of students and even the business traveller. We offer comfortable budget accommodation in the central of London, complimentary breakfast, easy access to major attractions, points of interest and shopping destinations, including 24 hrs reception, free wi-fi access, free luggage storage and ironing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your Bakers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakers Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing