We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AWFUL”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Budget Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Budget Guest House
Ranked #1,035 of 1,089 Hotels in London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AWFUL”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012 via mobile

Before I start. DO-NOT-STAY-HERE.
Before AND upon arrival I asked if there was parking by the hotel, the moron in reception says yes. One guess what I had on my car windscreen in the morning. Yep you guessed it, an £80 parking fine. Heating in the room was constantly on so I was sweating the whole night, the floors were manky the windows do not close and there is ONE bath room between ELEVEN rooms. (See picture) trains stormed past my window every 10 seconds, when I booked it I thought £30 was a bargain but I'd now rather walk the streets and get stabbed.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosso009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    9
    20
    31
    83
See reviews for
39
40
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

I stayed here one night. We picked this place because it was cheap and close to Kings Cross / St Pancras. The room was basic, had a sink, TV (not working), tea, coffee and a shared bathroom. Overall the room and bathroom were clean but in need of redecorating. Ok if you are on a budget, not too fussy and want the central location.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

We were going to see the London dungeons on our trip, we did not have to as we were already staying there!

From the moment we arrived i new there was something not quite normal here.
Reception was abandoned on arrival, no bell to ring, no note to say 'back in 5'...nothing. After standing like a plum for 20min in reception (that smelt like a sweaty biffa bin) i decided to go and find a member of staff. On the top floor i found a young man who spoke broken English, i tried to explain who i was and needed to check in...30min later i was in reception with this boy filling in all the paper work that he had to do! i even wrote out my own receipt !
When we got into our room (please see pictures) we had a kettle that had what looked like plaque inside off it...loads of tea and coffee.....but NO cups ! The TV control was clean and had batteries.....but NO TV!!!! The bed sheets had not seen a washing machine in at least 5years !!! At one point in time a rather large food and coffee fight happened, i don't know who won but the walls documented the battle and carried the scars!!! One good point about this hell hole is that if you are a train spotter look out the window and you will see,feel one every 3min.....don't stick your head out the window because you may loose it!!! The hotel is pretty cool...not cool cool but freezing!!!! All fire points and info on walls were painted over in a great off yellow colour. !!!!!!Oh and one last thing, if you do not value your life and you do end up here,please take your own loo roll,unless you are used to using a watering can to wash your bottom.....i ain't jokeing !!!!!!!!!!! Please take a look at our pics...its worth a giggle. Sleep tight!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank VendyT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

this hotel is the most vile place i have ever seen (put it this way the homeless have it better sleeping out in the parks, even the jews had it better in the nazi gas chambers) they should never be able to let people stay in that dump, the rooms are nasty the beds are broken the curtains ripped, the bathrooms are vile i didnt even shower while i was there because i was to scared i might catch something, and it is right above the entrance to a railway station that has trains coming through every 2 minutes. if you do want to book do it but give the key to the homeless and take his park bench

Room Tip: sleep on a park bench
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chippystu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

This Guest House is horrible. Dirty, noisy, old, unfriendly. NOT WORTH IT AT ALL!
We arrived earlier than we had told them (12am instead of 2pm) and were told we couldn't check in, but leave our luggage. We had to fill out a form nonetheless. We barely understood the person helping us.
When we returned at 8pm (they said we could come back whenever), the reception - with our luggage - was locked and there was a message saying they'd be back in 15. They came back an hour later! We had to pay immediately and got the last room (right under the roof - up 6 flights of stairs). It was tiny, the air was horrible (small window didn't help) and the bed and floor were very unclean. We slept in sleeping bags!
The bathroom was dirty and moldy as well. The doors don't properly fit. They lock but there are huge slits to look through, even in the bathroom.
WORST OF ALL the house is directly above an entry into the underground railway system. We could see the trains going in right beneath our window - EVERY FIVE MINUTES. Very nosy and sometimes the house even seems to shake.
When we left in the morning there was no one there. We dropped our keys and ran.

The ONLY, ONLY good thing about the place is that it is very close to King's Cross and the tube. Still, a horrible place to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are horrible. AVOID.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

After dismissing the negative reviews on here about BGH I thought it would be alright as a place to rest our heads while we explore London. I was mistaken.

Everything about this hotel is wrong - the rooms are grotty; the staff useless; the noise is intolerable (sash windows above a busy Underground line, surprised this isn't mentioned more in reviews) and the doors are flimsy. Even the floors and walls didn't seem quite straight!

Our last night was interrupted by some of the residents having a huge fight on the stairwell right outside our door (or at least it might as well have been - you can hear everything going on in this hotel). The staff did nothing and when I asked for our last night's stay refunded they weren't interested, claiming I had to talk to the manager who only arrived in the evening.

What's worse is I drunkenly referred to it as "lovely bed"...

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chewybiscuits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

This hotel is old, dirty an we have had bedbucks! We cant sleep there an we have change the hotel! It has mold in the bathroom!
It has to be restore very urgently!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Silvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Venture Hostels
#687 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#669 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
CityStay Hotel
#950 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#960 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Viking Hotel
#864 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Five Kings Hotel
#899 of 1,089 in London
2.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Guest House

Property: Budget Guest House
Address: 23 Swinton Street | Kings Cross, London WC1X 9NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,035 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Budget Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Budget Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Guest House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing