We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a bed in a room”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Budget Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Budget Guest House
Ranked #1,032 of 1,088 Hotels in London
PhilTrask
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It's a bed in a room”
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

It depends what you want I suppose, but even £39 was to steep for this flea pit. They also close the doors and lock you out by about midnight so if you don't check in early enough, tough! I had to pay an extra £25 to get a taxi just to pick up the key. It was explained to me that it is clearly mentioned on their website........I'm yet to find it. I definitely won't stay here again, even though it is close to Kings Cross, there are other, better and cheap & cheerful places to get your head down for the night....don't do it, you have been warned.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    9
    20
    31
    82
See reviews for
39
39
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I stayed here with my wife because we wanted to catch the earliest train to Paris the next day. Merely 7 minutes away from Kings Cross St Pancras station. The room size was ok. Cleanliness 4/10. Shower on top floor not working. TV not working. Front desk was helpful though. If youre only gonna stay here for few hours (about 6 in our case), I guess its bearable.

Room Tip: If youre not on a strict budget, dont come here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WJLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Very bad hotel!
The bathroom is disgusting! The toilets too!
The door of the room can't be closed!
You here people walk upstares, and lot of noise!
VERY VERY BAD HOTEL!!!!!! Not hygienic at all!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Krystel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This place is bloody basic. After checking in, and paying up front(!), we were given our key to our twin room on the top floor. The stairs were like something from a crooked house at a fun fair.
We didnt really need to unlock the door to our room, the lock was falling off and the hinge was held in by a single screw that did not fit the hole so could be simply pulled off.
Towels were provided (clean) and sheets and pillow cases were also clean. My single bed in room 301 was ready to collapse. There were holes in the floorboards underneath the carpet and I certainly wasnt going to risk going bare foot in this place.
Toilet and shower room was tidy but far from clean. We had guests from lower floors coming up to use ours so I'm guessing they were out of toilet paper, by morning, ours was fully out too.
This place was very cheap, this is reflected in the accommodation. Yes there are better hostels but I dont fancy sharing with strangers so this had to do in my budget. If the reviews put you off, dont book. If you can happily slum in tents at festivals, kip in mates baths at parties, dont mind randoms chatting to you and you have an excess of wipes/tissues to take with you, go here. If not, dont.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Dirty, stinky, loud, Absolute disaster.Foreign receptionist very loudly trying to sort out a different job on the phone at 8 in the morning. I had to stay just one night, but it was already too much. The blanket looked like I was afraid to touch it. In the so called 'bathroom' - broken mirror, mold, smell. Stay away. And its not even that cheap.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neilmacgregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Venture Hostels
#683 of 1,088 in London
130 reviews
CityStay Hotel
#941 of 1,088 in London
236 reviews
Viking Hotel
#860 of 1,088 in London
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#664 of 1,088 in London
1,255 reviews
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#950 of 1,088 in London
267 reviews
Five Kings Hotel
#874 of 1,088 in London
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Guest House

Property: Budget Guest House
Address: 23 Swinton Street | Kings Cross, London WC1X 9NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,032 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Budget Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Budget Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Guest House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing