We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel with top quality luxury”
Review of Hotel Melville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Melville
Ranked #826 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I have been staying in this hotel several times because of the friendly staff that will go out of their way to help and the perfect location for the whole of London but on my arrival this time I was in for a shock as it has had a refurb and it looks amazing, I was shocked and in awe of the quality of this hotel and the reasonable price, the same friendly staff, same warm welcome and brand new everything else. See the photo's and you will not find a better hotel at the same price in the whole of London. Rooms are clean and comfortable. A 5 star rating for a budget hotel in one of the most expensive cities in the world. Easy access to train stations 5 minute walk to Euston, 2 minute walk to Kings Cross, St Pancras International so you can come from anywhere and be in your hotel in minutes, perfect.

Room Tip: All rooms and comfortable and clean at great rates.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Melville
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2013

Booked the Melville Hotel but was put in the Excelsior next door. My room was on the 3rd floor up narrow stairs and I was glad my suitcase was small and I'm fit.

Any room under £100 per night in London is going to be small and this room was but it had a comfortable bed, TV.

Shower room was compact but was very clean. Shower was not particularly powerful but there was plenty of hot water.

Housekeeping was not up to scratch.: dirty glass, dirty armchair, broken clock radio and very dirty amenities tray.

WiFi on the 3rd floor was intermittent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Hotel Melville, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Guest

Thanks for your review

We have attended to all issues ; and are really focused on providing spotless accomodation at an affordable rate.

If there is anything that requires attention please tell us immediately so we can put it right for you

Many thanks

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I've stayed here a few times on both business and short leisure trips, and it's a reasonably priced option right in the middle of London within easy walking distance of both Kings Cross and Euston. The rooms aren't huge but are clean and modern, with comfortable beds. It is part of a group of hotels around the same square, and there are some shared facilities. Slight drawback in that there is no lift and the stairs can be narrow, but I have never had a problem with this. When I was there on business and running around London on a tight schedule the manager was very helpful in sorting out some additional time before I had to checkout so I could leave my luggage. If I need to stay in London for a night or two, would definitely stay here again. In my experience, you won't find much better for the price in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We were assigned a basement room, which looked out onto a brick wall. The room had recently been refurbished and standard of furnishings and decorating was good - excellent shower room. However, the room was very hot and noisy, due to the proximity to reception which was directly off the stairway and the door was very poorly fitting and rattled continually. Staff were talking and laughing until the early hours, which was very disappointing as we had an early Eurostar journey. No breakfast included as we left too early.

However, excellent proximity to St Pancras.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking Argylle Square
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tindalongue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Hotel Melville, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Guest

We know about the view of the brick wall - to counteract we are coming up with something unique ! This will completed in the very near future ( We are excited about this new " artwork " which will be visible from the room )

We hope to keep improving

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Very comfortable bed.The room was spotlessly clean. This hotel is a good option for those who need to travel from St Pancras International on Eurostar as it is only about 3-4 minutes walk from station. Staff were also very helpful and friendly

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I picked Melville because A) It was the most affordable for what I was looking for and B) It looked clean. The photos on the website make the place appear MUCH larger than it is. Our room was tiny, and my 6'3 boyfriend could barely fit in the restroom, let alone close the door if he needed some 'privacy'. We arrived after midnight after traveling all day and had to carry our huge suitcases up 3 flights of narrow stairs. The room was clean, the shower nice, and the tv worked fine. The bed was very small and uncomfortable, and when I asked for a second pillow I was answered with "Ugh, I will have to go hunt one down" and then never received one. We payed over $750 for our stay, so I expected at least a little customer service. Only one of the front desk guys was friendly to us. Otherwise, it was in good area, easy to get everywhere. OH, and I almost forgot: there was construction of some sort going on every morning in the building so we were awakened with loud noises often.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Hotel Melville, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Guest

Thanks for your review

We have now added room sizes and bed sizes to all our room categories on our website ...So you know everything about your room before deciding what room to book .

All construction has now finished .

We are working hard to learn and improve all the time

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I'd actually booked into the Excelsior next door, but the reception is in the Melville next door, which is part of the same group (Argyle). I arrived at 10:30am and left my bags as couldn't check in until the afternoon. After walking down Argyle street and seeing a few tatty hotels, I was pleasantly surprised by the smart exterior facing Argyle Square and again by the contemporary and pleasant reception. When I returned I was checked into a room in the Melvile. On the small side, but adequate and I thought very good for the price paid through booking.com. Smart contemporary and clean. I didn't have breakfast, but got the impression you had to venture outside to the nearby Argyle, which would be a pin if the weather was bad. Staff were very helpful and attentive.Ideally located a short walk from Kings Cross Station and about 10 mins from Euston. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank X105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#951 of 1,072 in London
289 reviews
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#551 of 1,072 in London
984 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#558 of 1,072 in London
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#267 of 1,072 in London
1,758 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#260 of 1,072 in London
2,013 reviews
Bloomsbury
Howard Winchester Hotel
Howard Winchester Hotel
#727 of 1,072 in London
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Melville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Melville

Address: 38/39 Argyle Square | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #826 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: £80 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Melville 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melville was re opened to our guests in April 2011 with our first phase of 9 brand new bedrooms , the second phase was delivered on October 2011 with another 9 bedrooms. We have totally rebuilt the hotel and everything is brand new. The hotel has undergone an extensive £1 million rebuild. We are located directly opposite Kings Cross train station and St Pancras international and are moments from Oxford Street; London eye; British Museum , British Library and hundreds of other attractions .We hope you come and stay with us. We wish you a warm welcome and great stay. Our motto is location, cleanliness and service all for less than £50 per person . All prices include VAT, breakfast and Wfi and Lan access.We are Modern Budget hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Melville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing