We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, pleasant staff”
Review of Hotel Melville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Melville
Ranked #852 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We had a pleasant stay in this nice and cosy hotel, near Kings Cross Station. The room was small, but convenient. The bathroom was even smaller, but the shower was marvelous! The staff of the hotel was very friendly and helpful, super. WE did not have breakfast in the hotel, bit enough opportunities in the area.

Room Tip: Our room was in de sousterrain, we experienced some voice from the lobby above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToinieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Hotel Melville, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review ; we appreciate the positive feedback.

We are very happy you enjoyed our hotel and the service you received.

Thanks again

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

The staff were friendly on arrival and the room was of high quality, maybe slightly noisy, but this is central London you can't expect countryside silence. The bed was very confortable and the TV well placed. Clean en-suite and reasonable space to move around, for the price it was actually very impressive. I have been to far worse in London i know that much. The location is perfect, a couple of minutes walk from Kings Cross Station allowing you good access to many parts of London.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Hotel Melville, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thanks for your review and taking the time to let our potential guests know about your experience.

The hotel is positioned in the heart of central London and just behind the busy Euston Road; given that we are surprisingly quiet.

Really glad you enjoyed our Pocket Sprung Hypnos mattress with its Luxury Mattress Topper also by Hypnos.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This hotel is perfectly located in the centre of London, its close to to the station so easy to get around and for a very reasonable price....the staff are friendly and rooms clean and tidy...you can't really ask for anything more.
Much cheaper than any travel lodge located this close in the city and in my option well worth the stay...xXx

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlotte r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Hotel Melville, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Madam

Thanks so much for your review

I think you got it " Spot on " !

thanks again

Manager
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed for 1 night on the 1/2/14...our room was up 3 flights of stairs ( no 38 ) no lift available..which had we been fitter would have been no problem...room was small and compact...which is ok for 1/2 nights but not much longer as there is only one small wardrobe which is limited with 5 hangers and is approx 3 ft high x 2 ft wide and not great for hanging anything longer than the 3ft...shower ok but not very powerful but it did the job..TV radio and tea/coffee making facilities are all in place but I would suggest you bring your own tea/coffee !! breakfast is very basic in a very small basement room and not on the premises but at one of their sister hotels across the way...great location as the nearest stations are a 2 min walk...staff were very polite and friendly

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Hotel Melville, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest

thanks for taking time to write a review for our hotel we do appreciate all feedback and it helps to learn we can improve and what we are doing well.

Really appreciate the feedback and positive comments overall.

Thanks again and hope to see you again in the future

Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I was booking a hotel for me and my partners' anniversary and decided, rather than a chain like Travelodge, to try somewhere different that might be more personal. I chose Hotel Melville for two reasons: It was cheaper than Travelodge because of their 50% off campaign and their website had an attractive menu of extras you could book for the room: Including a bouquet of flowers. Due to this being an anniversary outing I booked the flowers and the Club Signature Room - something supposedly superior to a regular double.

We checked in to someone who had difficulty finding our booking and then led us to room 44. Rather than just handing over the key, he actually walked us into the room - I found that a bit odd. I looked around and the flowers were not in the room, so I went back out and talked to the same receptionist. He looked through the booking and saw no mention of any flowers being ordered. He said I'd have to wait till morning to talk to the office staff about it. He was also very pedantic "How much was your room?" "£80." "So by that you actually mean £79.99?" Pointless pedantry.

The nights sleep was subpar. Even though this is supposed to be a superior room, it is just down the corridor from reception and facing the front door. Meaning throughout the night you hear the banging of doors and people talking to reception. The other rooms seemed to be on another level, so honestly the regular double probably would've been better noise-wise. We discovered in the guestbook that check out was at 10:30. Earlier than we would've hoped for.

The room itself had a nice decor, but the sliding door to the bathroom was actually just a lump of wood that you had to move. It didnt move very well, as it kept just bending into the corner when trying to open it.

At check out I asked about the flowers and the man from the office said that I had ordered them, but for some reason the hotel company didn't order them on my behalf. So he could either "chase them up" - useless, seeing how we were now leaving - or have a refund. The refund was swift, so it had that going for it.

Location wise it's fantastic, but the fact that the hotel offers so much but actually delivers just disappointment means I'd never touch a hotel by this group again.

Room Tip: Don't book the club signature room if you want any privacy or sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsmicster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Hotel Melville, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear guest

Thanks for your review

We do apologise that your flowers were not delivered on time . I really am as disappointed as you are about this and I apologise. We don't get a lot of demand for this and the local flower shop let us and you down on this occasion. Of course the cost of the flowers was immediately refunded to you.

I am looking into the noise to your room from the reception area and will have solution shortly . There are two very large doors leading from the reception to the ground floor room you occupied which i believe if always shut will block out this noise . I will action this straight away.

Thanks again for your feedback

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Great location only a 1min from station, good presenation ontil you book and experince it. Having cleaner walking into room without knocking no respect for privacy also having manager knocking early morning not knowing room booked for 2nights not 1. Total cowboys

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alikhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Hotel Melville, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest

We have to apologise that the house keeper entered your room. She knocked twice but did not hear anything from you and then entered the room in order to fulfil her duties . We start our cleaning of the rooms at 10 am as some of our guests leave the room from 8 am onwards.

This certainly not a frequent occurrence .

I think the only way to make sure that this does not happen again would be to have " do not disturb signs ". We will implement this as soon as possible - This will be done within a week. However check out will still be at 11 am unless you have paid for a late check out .

Thanks for your review and we apologise for this inconvenience .

Thanks again

Manager
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This hotel in my opinion is a stylish boutigue style establishment in a great location about 5 minutes walk from Kings Cross in a reasonably quiet side street. I researched for ages looking at dozens of places before choosing the Melville for our one night mid-week stay and my criteria were mainly around having a peaceful quiet nights sleep. When we arrived there were workmen outside our basement window but they cleared off by 5pm so we just kept the shutter closed initially. The next thing that struck me was the noise from the water pipe just outside our door which was boxed in but could be heard quite loudly inside the room but this stopped later and was probably to do with people showering early evening. My main complaint which I did raise by email afterwards but am yet to receive any feedback was concerning the constant noise of footsteps above our room. Our room was directly below the lounge which is just off the reception area and the sound of footsteps was on and off during the night and also early in the morning leading me to believe it was a member of staff pacing backwards and forwards, the floor being wooden laminate and the shoes of the 'walker' were obviously made of quite hard material and the constant clonking backwards and forwards became quite irritating. Lastly, we got back quite late, around 1pm and had to ring the doorbell for ages before being answered by a fairly surly gent who seemed quite put out that we had disturbed his snooze or whatever he was doing at that time! All in all an alright stay in an alright hotel, nice décor and clean, but I was disappointed and probably would try the second or third on my list next time. Try it as a different room might be better and remember if you book a top price room as I did, don't let them stick you in the basement with no view and no natural light! Still waiting for a reply as all these points were raised at the time!

Room Tip: Not the one under the lounge area unless the staff can be persuaded to wear slippers! On the website...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank swissisbliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Hotel Melville, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thanks for your review and comments

They are definitely noted by myself and invaluable advice.

we have just ordered some large rugs for the reception area so that the rooms downstairs won't hear the night porters footsteps and other guests entering and leaving the building . Perhaps the idea of slippers is a good one ! I will look into this also

Thanks again for your review

Manager

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#949 of 1,077 in London
293 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#288 of 1,077 in London
1,773 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#556 of 1,077 in London
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#273 of 1,077 in London
2,040 reviews
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#578 of 1,077 in London
1,002 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mentone Hotel
Mentone Hotel
#577 of 1,077 in London
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Melville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Melville

Address: 38/39 Argyle Square | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #852 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £68 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Melville 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melville was re opened to our guests in April 2011 with our first phase of 9 brand new bedrooms , the second phase was delivered on October 2011 with another 9 bedrooms. We have totally rebuilt the hotel and everything is brand new. The hotel has undergone an extensive £1 million rebuild. We are located directly opposite Kings Cross train station and St Pancras international and are moments from Oxford Street; London eye; British Museum , British Library and hundreds of other attractions .We hope you come and stay with us. We wish you a warm welcome and great stay. Our motto is location, cleanliness and service all for less than £50 per person . All prices include VAT, breakfast and Wfi and Lan access.We are Modern Budget hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Melville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing