We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away”
Review of Chrysos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chrysos Hotel
Ranked #694 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 17 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Rita Bechlund J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chrysos_Hotel, General Manager at Chrysos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

Nice little hotel next to the Paddington station. Stayed here with frend for ten days in October 2012. Very good location, just two minutes to the tube station and to Paddington actually, about 20 minutes by feet to Madame Tussaud's and Sherlock Holmes's museums. Small restaurant with full English breakfast, clean rooms, friendly personnel. WiFi in reception area, but also acceptable signal on the second floor. Good value for its money. Room Service every 2 days.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dasha_Danet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrysos_Hotel, General Manager at Chrysos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Dasha,

Thank you for your positive and kind review. We are happy you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and your kind words make it all the worth while providing the service we did to you.

We hope you will be able to visit us again in the near future, and we look forward to accommodating you once again!

Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The hotel is very near the station and bus stops. Quite clean but the shower was a bit small though clean. Great stuff .breakfast a bit limit in selection but enough. If you ask for more they give you. It was very hot in July and there are no fans or ac. When I asked for a fan they told me that they have given the ones they have to other customers. Luckily it get cool enough after midnight and if you leave the Window open it is enough. It was a good experience for a first time in London.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joeazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrysos_Hotel, General Manager at Chrysos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Joeazzo,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and thank you for your kind & positive review.

If there is anything else you require for breakfast you can always ask us and if possible we would be happy to provide it for you. As there was a heat wave in London for your stay we did run out of fans, however this is not a regular occurrence.

We are happy that your experience was a good one and we hope we will be able to accommodate you once again in the near future if you return to London town.

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

What I expected modest hotel, rooms small. Yes carpet had a stain and the bedspread looked like it saw bleach... But it was very clean and bed was comfortable what I love is how quiet is was for sleeping with a window open no less! I don't like to sleep with AC , we had fan which made the room comfortable. However, no AC in 30 plus is not fun. I would not recommend to anyone who are bothered by this. Breakfast was fine, I did cereal and yogurt and toast.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Dennythetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrysos_Hotel, General Manager at Chrysos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear 'Denny The Traveller',

Thank you for your review and kind words for our service, location and cleanliness.

I am sorry about the air con, however as you know it is not really needed in London! I am also sorry you had issues with a bleach stain on your linen and a stain on the carpet. As we are well rated on cleanliness, I can assure you we have past these comments on to our laundry company in order to eliminate such things and the carpet has now been rectified also.

We hope to accommodate you once again in the near future.

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Hotel has a very good location in the city. Nearby metro station (Paddington) and Hyde Park.
Paddington station at a 5 min walk from the hotel. Here you have connections for the metro lines: Circle, Hammersmith & City, District, Bakerloo.

Hotel itself is clean and basic. In the rooms you have all the basis comfort you need.
Breakfast: you have the choice between English Breakfast or Continental (asked when you take place at the table). The you also have the a small buffet with cereals, toast, orange juice (from bottle, not fresh).

Elevator did not work during my stay. Our room was on the 2nd floor, so had to do a lot of steps to the breakfast room (located in the basement)

Staff is really friendly. The receptionist is always around (whenever you enter the hotel!)

In the neighbourhood you have a lot of possibilities to go out dining. Nice atmosphere in the environment. Hotel is situated in a district with only hotels, they look all the same!

Ideal for first time to London!
Enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrysos_Hotel, General Manager at Chrysos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Laura_andries,

Thank you for your positive review & we hope to be able to accommodate you again in our hotel in the near future! (Next time without having the lift under maintenance!)

Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

A nice clean place to stay, staff were very helpful and provided great service. Breakfast was good and filling.

The only downside of my visit was that it was a very hot day and night, the room was very hot, even with the window open. I did think of going down to reception to see if any fans were available but it was too hot to move :(

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank WaliserZauberer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrysos_Hotel, General Manager at Chrysos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear Waliser Zauberer,

Thank you for your kind words and positive review.

For once it is Sunny in London and temperatures are indeed hot, however like you say we do provide fans (in the very rare event London is hot!) free of charge. Just ask at reception next time you stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The Chrysos Hotel is very conveniently situated for Paddington Station. It is a 3 star hotel.
My only complaint (but quite an important one!!) is that the shower in the en-suite bathroom was totally inadequate - it was just a very small dribble of water

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 56 on the top floor. The water pressure in the en-suite was totally inadequate both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 69Robert69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrysos_Hotel, General Manager at Chrysos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear Robert69,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry you had an negative point about the shower pressure, however we are happy that there are no other complaints! We hope to have zero complaints from you if you choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Tudor Court Hotel
#822 of 1,076 in London
633 reviews
Falcon Hotel
#662 of 1,076 in London
432 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#429 of 1,076 in London
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Omega Hotel
#665 of 1,076 in London
141 reviews
Cardiff Hotel
#652 of 1,076 in London
763 reviews
Dolphin Hotel
#611 of 1,076 in London
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chrysos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chrysos Hotel

Address: 25 - 27 Norfolk Square | Paddington, London W2 1RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #694 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £70 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chrysos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chrysos Hotel is a 3 star superior hotel, situated in one of the most exciting and popular capitals of the world. With 60 comfortable & relaxing rooms ranging from singles to large family rooms all with en suite facilities, and a choice of continental or full English breakfast every morning, we are confident we can meet the expectations of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chrysos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing