We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A once lovely hotel on the downward slide.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apex City of London Hotel
Ranked #84 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We had booked a superior room for a recent 4 night stay in London. We are regular visitors to the Apex and had been looking forward to it.
When we checked into the 5th floor room it had a slightly stale smell every time we entered, but this dispersed with the use of the aircon.
The main problem was with the mattress on the bed, it was quite simply past it. After a restless night, I called down and spoke to the duty manager at 7.00 a.m. and asked for a change of room. Her response was that all the beds were the same. I pointed out that this could not be the case as we had always been comfortable at the hotel and had stayed there on many occasions. She then agreed to get housekeeping to look at the mattress and suggest a solution. After three hours nothing had happened. We were then told that housekeeping would look for a solution whilst we were out for the day.
On our return we were told that a board had been put under the mattress to make it firmer. We checked, and surprise, surprise, nothing had been done. We were then offered an alternative room on the first floor which had a new mattress (so much for all beds being the same). On viewing the room it was patently obvious that it was not a superior room. We challenged this and were told that it was. Remember my first comment that we had stayed there several times, and are well aware of the difference in the room types.
At this point I got really angry, and demanded a new mattress in our original room. Miraculously one was provided (we decamped to the bar while this was being done). It should not have taken nearly 11 hours of argument to get to this stage. It is simply the first duty of any hotel to provide a comfortable bed. The second duty is to deal with complaints quickly and efficiently. Neither of these points were achieved.
Another issue was the breakfast. In this case it was not included in our room. The service was slow, and bordering on surly. Our neighbouring guests made a small justifiable complaint, and the member of staff made a face behind their back. This is not on. On subsequent mornings we simply went round the corner to the Wetherspoons pub. Slightly more self service, but done with a smile.
On check out I filled out a comments card, mentioning the issue with the bed, and so far have had no response. We have been faithful customers to the group in London and Scotland for many years and feel badly let down. We feel that the opening of new hotels in London has led the management to take the eye off the standards of their original London hotel.
If a worn out mattress was not enough, the staff using the service door opposite our room let it slam constantly. A simply adjustment of the closing mechanism would have sorted this out. And to add insult to injury, we ran out of loo roll as a spare had not been provided!!!\

All in all not good enough.

On the plus side, the bar staff and concierge remain efficient and welcoming.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnaJonesLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertFlinter, General Manager at Apex City of London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Dear AnnaJones

I am very sorry that your stay with us on this occasion was marred and that our usual levels of service were not attained. I can assure you that I will be picking this up immediately with the team. I would hope that any issues are dealt with promptly and courteously as they should be.
I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back at some stage and restoring your faith in our hotel.

Thank you for your constructive comments.

Robert Flinter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,869)
There are newer reviews for Apex City of London Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,143 - 2,149 of 3,872 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2012

Managed to get a room for £115 including breakfast during the week for the Paralympic opening ceremony. Bit disappointed that our room was in the basement (or the 'zero' floor as it's called!) and didn't have a window (apart from a ceiling light from the street above) but as we were only there for a few hours it didn't bother us. The room itself was fantastic, 2 massive tv's, lovely bed, fantastic bathroom with lovely Elemis toiletries and my son loved the fact I brought him Edwin the rubber duck back from our trip away!
Continental breakfast was excellent but if it hadn't been included we would have gone to Pret round the corner rather than pay for it! All in all, we would definitely stay again if the price was right, although a room higher up the building next time would be nice!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcieHatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a long weekend with my ten-year old son in Easter 2012. We got an excellent room on the fifth floor; quiet, clean, comfortable beds and quite spacious for London. The location of the hotel is not ideal if you wish to stay right in the middle of things. This is at the fringes of the old city, but very close to the Tower and other old sights. The most convenient tube stations are Aldgate, which is only about 100 metres from the hotel, and Tower Hill, which is also very close. The staff was very friendly. No complaints, excellent stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Plasmaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertFlinter, General Manager at Apex City of London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Dear Plasmaman

Thanks very much for your kind comments. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with your son with us during the Easter holidays. I will make sure that I share your comments with our team. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you both back again in the future. We usually have some great rates available during the school holidays.

Thanks again.

Robert Flinter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

When first walking in the hotel staff was very helpful in taking our bags. I read reviews before where the rooms were ready early, but in our case (11:30am) they were not. We decided to leave the bags and venture out to see the sites. It is a very good location to the District/Circle lines to see all the main tourist sites. Even though we did have superior room, it was a bit small compared to American hotels. It is good for 2 people, no more. The bed was subpar, it was like sleeping on a motel 8 bed. The room was clean and neat, yet it did have a stale smell walking into it, but the AC helped clear that out. Even the most busy traveler has time to sit down and watch TV. The thing was there was no guide for the TV and it was difficult to operate. Mostly all the stations are news, which was a little disappointing. There was no view from our room, we saw only buildings. The bathrooms were probably the best part because It was spacious and nice.
We did eat at the restaurant one night and it was ok. They were a built overwhelmed with the 5 tables they had to wait on. The staff seemed confused and timid most of the night. I suggest eating across the tower bridge on the waterfront, those restaurants we good and lively every night. It would also be smart to eat at the PRET or EAT around the corner for lunch/breakfast as they give good deals.
I understand when traveling to places in Europe like London, Paris, and Rome that hotels arent the #1 priority and its more just for a place to sleep. So if you want an average hotel in a safe area this is the one for you. Yet if you want the full experience of an hotel I suggest going somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skyduff14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertFlinter, General Manager at Apex City of London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Thank you very much for your honest comments. I can assure you that we take all feedback as a means to improving the service and product that we deliver. I am sorry that your rooms were not ready on your early arrival, we really strive to check people in when they arrive but it is not always possible if we are full the night before. I appreciate the comments about the TV and I am happy to say that we are currently upgrading and increasing the options and it should be completed very soon. I will ensure that your comments regarding the service are shared with the team.
Thanks for staying with us, and I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Robert Flinter
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I am usually disappointed when staying in London, and hotel rooms rarely match expectations. Not so with this hotel, the room was larger than expected (partly I suspect due to a free upgrade), smartly decorated and with an air conditioning system that worked. The bathroom was excellent, with a bath and separate shower. All staff were well trained and efficient. Email queries before arriving were dealt with quickly, and check was very efficient and informative. Breakfast was in a similar vein, and again exceeded expectations. The full (Scottish) breakfast was large and well cooked with good quality ingredients. Service was prompt and slick.

The location is also good, in a quiet street close to Tower Hill tube station.

I can find no faults with this hotel and will certainly stay here again, and also look to stay in their other hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertFlinter, General Manager at Apex City of London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Dear Robin

Thank you very much for your kind response. We really do value all feedback and I will make sure that I share it with all of our team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future hopefully.

Thanks again.

Robert Flinter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We used the Apex on a special B&B offer for a trip to London over the Aug Bank Holiday.

It's position near Tower Bridge was close enough via tube for our planned visits to Tate Modern and the Courtaulds Gallery at Somerset House.

We were offered an upgrade as part of the deal to a very pleasant and well sized "Superior" room at the front of the hotel.

Without exception the staff were smiley, pleasant and helpful and made us feel very welcome unlike some other London hotels we have stayed at in the past.

Breakfast was excellent with a wide enough choice of dishes to suit everyone. The cooked breakfasts were done to order so no curled bacon and overdone eggs! We didn't use the hotel restaurant in the evenings, partly because of poor reviews about the food and partly because we wanted to visit a couple of specific restaurants near Tower Bridge. I suspect though given the quality of breakfast we would have had little to compplain about had we done so.

Without doubt this was the best deal we have ever taken up for a London Hotel stay (previously used Mint, Millenium, Park Plaza, Days Inn et al) and we will use this place again. Room, staff, food all very good indeed.

Room Tip: Superior rooms at the front of the hotel are said to be quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BruceGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertFlinter, General Manager at Apex City of London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Dear Bruce

Thank you very much for your kind comments. I will ensure that they are shared with the team. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the service and breakfast stood out for you. We know that we are a bit more expensive than some nearby options but we believe that the quality and options provide value for money.

I hope we can welcome you back again.

Kind regards


Robert Flinter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We were recommended this hotel by our daughter and she was absolutely right. It is a modern hotel with all the facilities. Friendly, helpful staff, superbly appointed room and very good early breakfast. We enjoyed a special offer and indulged in an upgrade. Could not fault it. We visit London twice a year and have stayed in numerous City hotels in this price bracket. This hotel is way above many and would be very difficult to beat. We needed to get to an early appointment in Denmark Hill which is south of the river and a slightly tortuous journey but the 6.30.a.m. breakfast and close proximity of Tower Hill tube station gave us a flying start. The Tower of London, Tower Bridge and river attractions are close at hand and the West End and 'Theatre Land' are not difficult access by underground.

Room Tip: Our single experience involved a £10 upgrade and we were given a lovely 6th. floor room with spaciou...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuddyRedditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#57 of 1,072 in London
3,572 reviews
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#47 of 1,072 in London
1,969 reviews
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#63 of 1,072 in London
3,771 reviews
City of London
Chamberlain Hotel
Chamberlain Hotel
#107 of 1,072 in London
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of London Hotel

Address: 1 Seething Lane, London EC3N 4AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in London
#62 Family Hotel in London
#78 Luxury Hotel in London
#84 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £119 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of London Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex City of London Hotel provides memorable stays in the heart of London. It’s known for its friendly and warm welcome from check-in right through to check-out. You’ll be well looked after during your stay with a team on hand to answer all of your questions and help plan your visit. The hotel is located in central London, close to Tower Bridge, and is just a 30-minute trip on the DLR from London City Airport. The natural light that filters through floor-to-ceiling windows in the contemporary restaurant, lounge and bar area makes this hotel a great place to meet, eat or relax. Each bedroom features a 40” LCD TV with Sky channels and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi for all of your personal devices. You’ll also get complimentary Elemis toiletries and a hair dryer in your room meaning you can travel light. The hotel has three meeting rooms available and a Technogym featuring cardio and weights equipment making it perfect for business stays away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apex City of London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Of London Hotel London
Apex City Hotel London
Apex City London Hotel
Apex Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing