We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apex City of London Hotel
Ranked #81 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 8 January 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel right after New Years for a few days. The location is excellent, especially if it is your first time in London. It is central and we walked to most of the sights rather than taking the train. However there are both tube and train stations very close by that you can walk to from the hotel. The decor and the room was fantastic. The staff were helpful and always pleasant. I will most definitely come back to stay here when I am next in London.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,378
    1,037
    160
    35
    18
See reviews for
502
1,902
165
537
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Me and my wife stayed at the Apex City of London for a week. For a 4 star hotel, we didn't need anything more. The room was comfortable and the location was good. Only 4 min walk from the nearest tube station Tower Hill, we could move around the city with no problems. The staff was helpful and friendly.

While we didn't dine in the hotel, there are many restaurants / bars around the area. One thing I would recommend is a bigger fridge, the one in the room was quite tiny.

I would recommend this hotel for a business traveler or a couple.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tee477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife for 1 night on the 5th January. The hotel was a 2 minute walk from Tower Hill underground station and only the same distance to the tower of london and tower bridge. We were upgraded for free to a deluxe room which was very clean, we'll equipped with everything you could need and cosy and comfortable. The continental breakfast was the most delicious I have ever had in a London stay. This would of been enough to have but we had paid for the extra fresh cooked hot food which you could order when seated, and found this to be well worth the extra as was fantastic too. Could of sat there all day eating as was so delicious! Will be returning to this hotel in the near future and be recommending to all our friends.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
70 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We go to London during most bank holidays and at any opportunity, in the past six years we have chosen the Apex, it is our favourite hotel and now many of our friends also!
We stayed over the New Year Weekend.
The location is perfect!
The service is always fantastic, you arrive with such a warm welcome.
The rooms are clean, modern and spacious.
We were given a deluxe room and enjoyed our little extras.
I love the Apex Ducks and was pleased to see 'Sprout' waiting for us. I do wish however that instead of each hotel having their own duck, it should be more a lucky dip as I would love a collection, but do not want to stay in the other London hotels.
Back to my review, because we were staying three nights we didn't include breakfast in our booking, which we regretted after trying other options from outside.
Can't wait until our next visit!

Room Tip: No two rooms are identical but all equally good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We have stayed at this hotel 4 times before and it has always been extremely good.
The staff are always polite and friendly. On this occasion we had a Junior Suite and we were not disappointed. It had a balcony with a great view of the Tower and Tower Bridge. The room was extremely clean and furnished to a high standard.
It also has small nice touches (complimentary Pringles,Jelly Beans,Biscuits and Water)...other hotels should learn from this....and high class toiletries.
For a weekend stay, the Apex chain are superb value and very difficult to beat. We did pop in to the nearby Hilton Doubletree for post theatre drinks in the rooftop bar.We were extremely disappointed by the dirty outside tables and empty glasses everywhere...even the lift was dirty. I think they could learn a lot from Apex!!.
We returned for a snack/drinks in the bar at the Apex, which again was excellent.
Thank you and we will be back!!.

Room Tip: A Junior Suite is worth the extra...Balconies are great!.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulnorfolk66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We really liked the place in the city center close to the tube, the Tower and Tower bridge. Hotel itself is modern, renovated and clean. We had the top floor room with a magnificent view over the roofs to the Tower bridge which was really magnificent. A place to choose and come back.

Room Tip: A view from the top floor room is really great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xesselte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed at the Apex City of London for New Year 2012, the staff were very friendly, helpful and polite. The room was very confortable and clean. The Hotel is only a 5 minute walk from the tube station, which is very handy. We would definately stay at the Apex City of London again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#44 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#52 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#247 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,752 reviews
City of London
Chamberlain Hotel
Chamberlain Hotel
#120 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of London Hotel

Property: Apex City of London Hotel
Address: 1 Seething Lane, London EC3N 4AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in London
#62 Family Hotel in London
#75 Luxury Hotel in London
#84 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of London Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex City of London Hotel provides memorable stays in the heart of London. It’s known for its friendly and warm welcome from check-in right through to check-out. You’ll be well looked after during your stay with a team on hand to answer all of your questions and help plan your visit. The hotel is located in central London, close to Tower Bridge, and is just a 30-minute trip on the DLR from London City Airport. The natural light that filters through floor-to-ceiling windows in the contemporary restaurant, lounge and bar area makes this hotel a great place to meet, eat or relax. Each bedroom features a 40” LCD TV with Sky channels and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi for all of your personal devices. You’ll also get complimentary Elemis toiletries and a hair dryer in your room meaning you can travel light. The hotel has three meeting rooms available and a Technogym featuring cardio and weights equipment making it perfect for business stays away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Apex City of London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Of London Hotel London
Apex City Hotel London
Apex City London Hotel
Apex Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing