We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Apex City of London Hotel
Ranked #74 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Disappointing stay”
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel late at night and were literally just looking for a good night's sleep and a chance to freshen up before heading off the following morning.

The hotel was clean and modern and our room was immaculate but apart from that we were really disappointed.

The bed was two singles secured together and had a big ridge down the middle which woke me every time I turned over in he night. In addition to that my sleep was further disturbed by having a room right by the lift .... And the lift bings each time someone gets out on a floor!

We booked a wake up call as our phones were low on battery (must pack chargers!) but didn't get a wake up call so overslept!

The bathroom was spacious and well laid out but the water pressure in the shower was so low that I struggled to rinse the shampoo out of my relatively short hair.

Finally, when we checked out no-one asked if everything was ok with our stay and when I politely explained that we'd been disappointed and why there was no offer of a manager to speak to regarding our concerns.

Judging by the other reviews on here I think we were probably just unlucky and would have given this hotel another try, but given their reaction when things are not as they should be maybe we won't

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Haylea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,430
    1,050
    164
    36
    18
See reviews for
521
1,932
166
547
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Cleeve, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Booked this hotel for a 2 night stay for New Year. Perfect location for doing the sights, the Tower of London and Tower Bridge are on your doorstep. Also very convenient is Tower Hill tube station for a quick hop into the West End. Staff were all very pleasant and helpful. Had the New Year's eve dinner which was delicious and very reasonably priced considering the date. The room was spotless and very well decorated, all public areas appeared maintained to a high standard. All in all good value for money!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikP61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Stayed here as we had had a wonderful stay at one of the Apex's sister hotels in Edinburgh a few years ago and we were not disappointed. Location wise the hotel is minutes from Tower Hill tube station and of course ideal for visiting the Tower of London. I stayed seven nights (5 for business and 2 for pleasure) and due to the business oriented nature of the City of London the area is noticeably quieter on weekends with several nearby bars being closed. However there are still plenty of places to eat and drink within walking distance and I particularly recommend taking the 10 minute walk to St. Katharine's Dock where there are several fine places to eat as well as the must see to believe 'honesty shop' in an old London bus.

Our room was perfect and came with little extras that you really appreciate after a few days away such as a fridge, DVD player and free wi-fi. The bathroom had both a lovely deep bath and a walk in shower. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable and I had seven very good night's sleep.

The hotel staff are very friendly and make you feel welcome. The lobby area is a little too modern (and a bit dark) for my personal taste but you can see they are going for that contemporary feel and it really didn't bother me.

My only criticism would be that as the pleasure part of the trip didn't include breakfast in the rate so we were confronted by how much it would be extra. Suffice to say the nearby Wetherspoons offers the same for about £10 cheaper so we chose to go there instead. Why most hotels feel the need to overcharge for breakfast is a mystery.

Overall though this is probably the best hotel I have ever stayed in in London and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGreatNebber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Stayed there for 4 night's in February. Reception was nice and helpful, though not always fluent in English. Room on the 5th floor was spacious, the bathroom spotlessly cleaned. Mineral water, a kettle for coffee and tee was complementary. Good hair dryer was available. Wifi was working well throughout the whole hotel.
Only one minor issue - the hotel is located in the city and, thus, a bit far off if you stay in London for the first time and want to commute little or have places to hang out at night nearby.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the new part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth-trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Booked a superior room with a Travelzoo offer which included a free bottle of prosecco, fantastic value (especially as we appear to have been upgraded to a deluxe room). Lovely room with sitting area, luxury bathroom, pleasant modern decoration and huge king sized bed. Service was faultless and I am really pleased to have received my jacket in the post today in record time after foolishly leaving it in the wardrobe!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hueona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WALES UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

My wife and I stayed here with our six year old son for the second time in December. The room was well appointed and of a good size. It was spotlessly clean. There is a fridge, sofa bed (if booking for three persons), a Tv, room safe, free news paper, and a kettle with a great selection of free coffee, tea and drinking chocolate. Note that if intending to stay here with a third person/child you may need to book directly with the hotel as each time we tried on line it said that there were no suitable rooms available. As with most London hotels there is no parking on the grounds. There are a number of short stay parking meetings in the surrounding area and a large secure NCP style car park within a three minute walk (all London car parks are expensive but this one has a very good weekend rate).
While our room didn't have a view, we never found this to be a problem. Although not located in 'central' London, the location is still excellent. The Hotel is conveniently located 90 seconds from the nearest tube station! When you get to the tube you will find yourself looking down on the magnificent Tower of London (one of the oldest and most impressive buildings/tourist attractions in London). It is also worth noting that the tube will take you to most London attractions within 20 minutes (including Parliament / Downing Street without changing).
If I had any criticism of the hotel it would be the cost of their breakfast. However, this isn't a problem as there is a bakery/snack shop at the end of the street. There is also a Wetherspoons pub less than a minute from the hotel. This pub is family friendly serving food all day. We had a full English breakfast for just over £10 for the three of us! Not only does the pub provide good food and value, but the window seats have a fantastic view over looking the Tower!
Finally, the hotel regularly has good on line offers. Sign up to their circulation letter for additional offers. And if staying there, don't forget that their signature rubber duck found in your bathroom is yours to take home (our Christmas duck has pride of place in our bathroom).

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KVC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White River, South Africa
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I was able to secure a couple of rooms at this hotel at very reasonable prices through Travelzoo specials. At the special rates the hotel was good value, with very comfortable room, spacious bathroom and comfy double bed. The reception ladies were most helpful considering they get many requests and asisted with both an early check-in and a late check-out without imposing the additional charges they could have easily charged. I will definitely make use of the Apex again if I need convenient access to the bankign sector of the City.

Room Tip: I didnt ask for a specific room but I was allocated one at the rear (with no view) but it was very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt_Sa_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#45 of 1,067 in London
1,869 reviews
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#56 of 1,067 in London
3,393 reviews
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
City of London
Chamberlain Hotel
Chamberlain Hotel
#119 of 1,067 in London
1,301 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#245 of 1,067 in London
2,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of London Hotel

Property: Apex City of London Hotel
Address: 1 Seething Lane, London EC3N 4AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in London
#62 Family Hotel in London
#69 Luxury Hotel in London
#84 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of London Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex City of London Hotel provides memorable stays in the heart of London. It’s known for its friendly and warm welcome from check-in right through to check-out. You’ll be well looked after during your stay with a team on hand to answer all of your questions and help plan your visit. The hotel is located in central London, close to Tower Bridge, and is just a 30-minute trip on the DLR from London City Airport. The natural light that filters through floor-to-ceiling windows in the contemporary restaurant, lounge and bar area makes this hotel a great place to meet, eat or relax. Each bedroom features a 40” LCD TV with Sky channels and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi for all of your personal devices. You’ll also get complimentary Elemis toiletries and a hair dryer in your room meaning you can travel light. The hotel has three meeting rooms available and a Technogym featuring cardio and weights equipment making it perfect for business stays away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apex City of London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Of London Hotel London
Apex City Hotel London
Apex City London Hotel
Apex Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing